Horror logo

Not a Doll

Will the mouse get free?

By Brittany MitchellPublished 2 years ago 11 min read
Like
Not a Doll
Photo by wu yi on Unsplash

“Damn it!” I shouted, rattling the steel cage around me. “Let me out damn it!” The cold metal handcuffs cut into my wrists, red marks forming on my pale skin. Only a black lacy bra and dusty underwear covered my hourglass figure. Snarls tangled my long purple wavy hair, my copper eyes stinging from the bright light of a single headlight. A red light blinked back at me, telling me that I was being watched. Terror widened my eyes as a deep gruff voice rang in my ears.

“Now, now.” The gruff voice taunted cruelly. “I would stop fighting if I were you. The quiet one lives the longest.” Rolling my eyes, they scanned the cage for a way out. Panic gripped my mind, searching even for the littlest comfort. My tongue licked my dry lips, tears threatening to pour out of my eyes.

“I need to pee.” I replied meekly. “Also I am thirsty as hell.” Chuckling to himself, a snide sneer could almost be heard in his response. My blood went ice cold at the sound of the evil voice.

“I am not falling for that crap.” He sneered icily, computer keys clicking rapidly. “Smile, you are on camera.” My cheeks flushed bright red, worrying about who or what was watching me. My hands started to tremble, disbelief filling my eyes.

“What do you mean?” I questioned furiously through gritted teeth. “Let me go. I promise not to tell a soul.” A pregnant pause hung heavily in the hair, only heavy breathing being heard. The hair on the back of my neck stood up, praying that he would take the bait. Hope was slowly dying in my heart.

“Oh, sweetheart, I am selling you.” He explained nonchalantly. “Girls like you make my salary for the year alone.” Anger boiled in my veins, my eyes frantically searching for a way out. I refuse to die like this or be someone’s servant. Sighing, I realized that I would have to be sold to get out of here. Sick wonder poisoned my mind, watching the number tick up to one million dollars. Bam, bam, bam the hammer slammed into a strong piece of wood. My heart sank into my stomach, a wave of nausea slapping me in the face. Focus, my mind told me. This is your way out.

“Come on!” A raspy voice ordered, ripping me out of the cage. “You have to go to your new master.” My lips pressed together, fighting back my sarcastic response. No, I needed to live, not die by my tongue. Black cloth dropped in front of my eyes, small dots of light flickering in the morning light. Pain shot through my body, crashing onto a cold metal floor. Cold sweat dripped down my forehead, my head shaking to get the black bag off of my head. It fell to the floor in a soft thud. Blackness still surrounded me, only making me feel even worse. Jolts shook my body, the doors slamming shut. Darkness blanketed me, a migraine started to form in my forehead. The engine roared to life, my fingers grasping at the small indents of the bed. Time ticked by until the tires squealed to a stop. Anxiety made my heart pound out of my chest, just waiting for them to open the door. Bright sunlight blinded me, surprise burning in his groan the moment I hit him in the face. Leaping to my feet, rocks cut into my feet as I sprinted into the thick forest. Branches scratched my face, thorns pricked my legs. Breathing grew harder, air was leaving my lungs faster than I was getting oxygen. Leaves crunched behind me, my hair wildly flying around my face.

“I like them feisty.” The gruff voice from before mused. “So do my clients.” Out of breath, bark cut into my back while I rested against a thick tree. Slowing my breath, my ears searched for where the voice was coming from. Evil laughter erupted behind the tree, my heart skipping a beat. Biting my tongue, the urge to cuss back at him was difficult.

“I bought her fair and square.” A deep voice exclaimed, cocking a gun. “The deal is off.” A shot rang out on the hot summer day. Thud, the crook behind me crumbled into a pile. his face freezing facing mine. His pale face was contorted with pure terror, his mouth forever frozen in a scream. Beady black eyes stared back at me, nausea threatening to toss up my empty stomach. Fright shimmered in my eyes, a lump forming in my throat. A well dressed man in an expensive Italian suit was glowering in my direction. He ran his black gloved hand through his slicked back gray hair. A crooked grin danced across his face, malice darkening his eyes.

“There you are my slave.” He cooed, tracing his hand against my cheek. “Such beauty is exquisite. You will fit in with my other girls.” Guilt burned in my eyes, realizing that I needed to save them too. A fake smile danced across my lips, warmth fighting to find a place in my eyes.

“Yes, master.” I curtsied, nearly falling to my knees. “I am here to serve you.” Childish delight glimmered in his green eyes, a malicious smile curling on his lips. He placed his hand on his chin, god knows what was flowing through his mind. Sighing, he unlocked the handcuffs. Relief washed over me as the metal bracelets fell to the ground. Hot whiskey sat on his breath, sickening me further. Snapping his fingers, an aging butler sat me down in a white limousine. Plush leather seats surrounded me, lights twinkled over my head. The gentleman plopped down next to me, his hand grazing my thigh. Revulsion caused my leg to jerk away, hurt filling his eyes. A frown formed on his lips, fury and shock boiling beneath his fake smile. Classical music stopped total silence, providing me a much needed distraction.

A large white stucco mansion came into view, my heart sinking into my stomach. An electric fence flashed by my window, the road winding into a large carriage house. The butler opened the door, guiding me to the large red doors in front of me. My heart skipped a beat when a man my age opened the heavy wooden doors. His long brown hair hung around his shoulders, green eyes gazing into mine. The black suit hugged his muscular body, a red bow catching my eyes.

“Figgaro, take her to her room, please.” He ordered calmly. “Make sure she puts on her evening gown for her introduction party.” Without a second glance, he sauntered to what must have been his office. Figgaro kept glancing back at me, his dress shoes climbing the emerald green stairs wrapping all the way around. White marble walls with painted portraits greeted my exhausted mind. We clicked to a sudden stop at a dark cherry wood door, the crystal knob turning easily. My jaw dropped to the floor at the sight of a room larger than my apartment. Soft red blankets covered a simple metal bed, worn furniture surrounding it.

“What is his deal?” I queried, following him to the bed. “Help me get out.” His lips pressed together, concern flashing in his eyes. His white gloved hand patted my head, a frown forming on his lips.

“I want to help you, but I can’t.” He uttered shyly, pulling out a black lace ball gown. “He killed my entire family. I don’t want to die as well.” Normally that beauty would have stunned me, but it felt as if I was at a funeral. My fingers wrapped around his, a warm smile dancing across my dry lips. Both our faces flushed scarlet, awkwardness hung in the air.

“I get it.” I comforted him, pulling my hand back. “Let’s do this together. Where are the other girls?” Confusion contorted his face, his eyes squinting. Rubbing his forehead, he tossed me a purple silk robe. The silk was soft against my skin, nicer than I had ever felt in my life. Sadness dimmed his eyes, his hand taking me to an open room. Golden accents covered the red walls, realistic dolls lining the walls. Upon closer inspection, horror paralyzed my body. They weren’t dolls at all, but well preserved women. Trembling, my body collapsed to the floor. There was no one to save at all.

“He stuffs them within a week of getting them.” He informed me, picking me up off of the ground. “Let’s get out of here now.” He offered me his hand, shakily accepted his offer. Crisp air rushed around me, dark hallways at every turn. Pink twilight greeted me, a large forest surrounding us on all sides. This house was an island in a sea of trees.

“Where do you two think you are going?” The deep voice queried slightly annoyed. “I don’t recall giving you permission to take her on a walk. She is my new doll afterall. I want her skin as pure as the first snow.” A chill ran up my spine, the gentleman rapidly approaching us.

“Do you trust me?” I asked, looking into Figarro’s eyes. “I have a plan.” Nodding, we ducked behind a stone wall. Excitement glittered in his eyes, his lips opening in protest. His shoulders relaxed, a large smile forming on his lips. Pound, pound went my heart as we sat there for a moment.

“What is your plan?” He inquired earnestly, his hand running through his hair. “Wait, I don’t even know your name.” Rolling my eyes, my arms crossed across my chest. Laughing to myself, a thought flashed across my tired mind. He sat patiently waiting for my answer.

“How far out are the cops?” I questioned, forming a plan. “We need to stop him, so that this doesn’t happen again.” Slumping back into the wall, deep thought clouded his head. Counting on his fingers, a triumphant grin dawned on his lips.

“About twenty minutes, or so.” He answered, reaching for his black cellphone. “What are you suggesting?” A sadistic smirk manifested on my lips, coy bewilderment appearing in his eyes.

He dialed nine one one, my eyes scanning for a weapon, or a way to entrap him. If we were going to do this right, the plan needed to go as best it could.

“Hide, while I distract him the entire time.” I blurted out, jumping out of my spot. “Get the cops to us please.” He raised his hand in protest, but I was gone. The buyer spotted me, and sprinted after me. Servants kept their heads down, my bare feet pounding against the white marble. He had to have handcuffs around here. As kinky and odd as he was, he just had too. Where would his special dungeon be? A strange white light shone from a silver steel door, telling that it was his little lab. Taking a deep breath, the door squeaked open to reveal a long set of stairs. There was no turning back now. Humming filled my ears as I ran down the stairs to the worst thing I have ever seen in my life.

“Do you like my little studio, mouse?” He taunted icily. “Why did you have to be so feisty and unruly? How unladylike.” A lump formed in my throat, white sterile walls of plastic crowded around me. Silver tools of embalming and a table lay in front of me. A rotten smell threatened to toss my bile in my stomach. A fresh blonde sat propped up in the corner, clearly dead.

“You are one sick bastard!” I shouted, covering my nose. “Why? Just why?” Curiosity brightened his eyes like that of a child on Christmas day. Worry flooded my eyes, scanning for a way to restrain him.

“It all started with my mother.” He sighed, stepping closer to me. “She was so beautiful in life, I just had to preserve it. Beauty is fleeting. What I do is preserve the beauty in all of your sex. Can you not appreciate it?” Nodding, my hands grabbed the nearest knife. Trembling, my hand held onto the handle as tight as it could. Laughing to himself, he knocked it out of my hand. His thick fingers wrapped around my neck, slamming me onto the table. My head throbbed angrily, air not getting into my hungry lungs. Alert gripped my body when Figarro whacked a metal chair on the back of his head. The buyer collapsed to the ground in a pile, and he carried me up the stairs. The three locks clicked shut, banging rattled the door. Red and blue lights flooded the mansion, officers rushing in. EMT’s whisked us away, the buyer was being dragged into a cruiser. Shock and exhaustion weighed heavily on me, washing sleep slumber over me.

Bright white walls greeted me, machines beeped in my ear. My head throbbed something mighty fierce. Figarro sat next to me in a stiff chair, his snores ringing out around me. A large smile filled his pale face, his arms wrapping around my aching body. A smell of lemon wafted up my nose relaxing me.

“I am Rosaria Maria.” I mused softly. “Thank you for saving me. I believe you deserve a kiss.” Before he could protest, my lips pressed against his hungrily. The beeps faded away to silence, leaving just us. Pulling back, our faces flushed bright red. Stunned, his mouth fell open saying nothing.

“Okay.” He uttered numbly. “So do you want to go on a date or something?” Nodding, he held me tighter. Everyone was free, free to be.

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.