Horror logo

No Name

Part 1: The Basement

By Deapei ArchiePublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
No Name
Photo by charlesdeluvio on Unsplash

"My father use to tell me a story about a man who had no name. A story he's father told him about, of the man with no name".

"Isaac"..."Isaac"! My friend calling to me as I'm beginning to day dream. "Sorry" I said as if I did something wrong "Is it my turn"? My friends decided to play Dungeon and Dragons for our last night together as we wont be going to the same high school next week together even though it's a party going on up stairs my brother throwing that I wasn't invited to. Instead I'm stuck down in the basement with my friends playing...

"Dungeon and Dragons is so fun" Mark said with a smile as the rest of my friends Steve and Josh whisper to the side. "Hey no cheating" I uttered as if I care if they actually did. As they turn around to face us "Where not I was just telling Josh about a story my father told me when I was a kid". "Yeah and what story is it" I ask excitedly. I knew Mark was scared of monsters and us playing down stairs in the basement isn't helping him. "You really wanna know" Josh ask. "We should really get back to the game guys" Mark replied nervously. "Just cover your ears than Mark" Steve said as he stuff his face with chips.

"There once lived a man at the bottom of the hill all alone, he's smile was ear to ear. People say he has no names as he appeared out of thin air to take the sadness out of kids and bring them joy once more". I thought you said it was scary" I said. "Yeah, even I wasn't scared" Mark said nervously. Then in between the silence something loud hit the floor which made Mark scream. "Go check is out" Josh said "It was your story". "Yeah but it's his house" Steve replied. As everyone began to look at me I decided there was no choice, I stood up and began to work toward to sound. I felt the guys eyes watching me preparing to run if anything goes wrong. I gotten close enough to see what it was, I picked it up just to find out it was just a paint can. I turned around to show the guys and with a sigh of relief they laughed.

Then the upstairs basement door opens up, Mark screamed again. "It's just Destiny" Josh said. As she begins to walk down stairs all dress up making sure not to get her all pink outfit dirty "Hey, Al your brother wanted me to tell you guys to keep it down" She said. "Oh, is our party too loud for you guys" I replied jokingly. "What are you guys doing down here" She ask walking more into the basement. Josh always had a big crush on Destiny and he made sure everyone knew even Steve if though that's his sister, which is why none of us was surprised when he said so fast. "You're brother was just telling us the story of the no face" he said. "You mean no name" Steve said. "Yeah, that to" Josh said as Steve look irritable. "It wasn't even scary" I said. "He told you about what he does to them" She ask. "NO"! We all said looking at Steve. "He would take them into the night and snatch away who they are, whether it be their face or name" Destiny said trying to scare us "and to call him all you have to say is who am I without him". She began to say those word, it took the rest of use awhile to say them as well, then as we began to even get louder a thump we heard. "Something must have drop again" I said "I'll go check it out".

As I began to get closer "Why don't we call it a night" Mark said "we know something dropped so lets just all go up stairs, I think it's past my bed time". "Yeah, and I have to get the kid home" Destiny replied. As well began to all walk towards the stairs we heard another noise. When we turned around we noticed finger like hands sticking out from the corner of the room. "We all see that right" Mark ask. "Yeah" we all replied. We began to turn around and run up stairs but just as we try and turn the knob it breaks. AS we look around Destiny notice someone missing from the group. "Where the hell is my brother" Destiny ask angrily "Okay if this is another one of your guys sick jokes just stop it". "Where not joking, where all really scared" I said. "I heard that before" she said. We all turn to walk down stairs to find and as we do Marks falls on us screaming as we stumble down stairs. "Why did you-" I began to say before looking at Mark hold his ankle as blood pour out. "Uhh, this really hurt" Mark said. As we all start to try and pick him up and help something comes up from the shadows and slowly began to walk towards us. As he does we step back "guys help me" Mark ask as the creature in front of us grabs Mark and whisper something in his ear only the to have mark reply something too low for any of us to hear the creature then slice his throat from ear to ear. We all grab something to fight back only for him to vanish.

"What the hell was that thing" I ask breaking the silence. "It's him-the no name" Destiny said as she begins to cry. "Okay then how do we finish it, how do the story end" I ask destiny trying to calm her. "We have to fix our sadness within ourselves and say his name to say that where fine now" Destiny replied. Josh stood up and yelling "You because where sad we are going to die, news flash everyone said" trying to calm the situation down "Yeah, so then all we have to do is say why then say where fine no name" I replied. "No, I'm done playing games I didn't even want to come tonight but my dad made me" Josh began to utter "I should be in bed-" As he starts to talk Destiny and I see the no name. But before we can warn him he get taken as well leaving Destiny and I alone.

We where so scared at the time. "Okay all we have to do is say why where sad I'll go first" Destiny said. "Okay, hmm I hate how my parents ignore me for my brother and I hate how we all stop being friends because I had to grow up". As she finish the creature comes back only to grab her bye the neck and whisper something in her ear she replied back something too low for me to hear. After a few seconds which felt like an eternity the creature let her guy only to reap out her tongue and then began to walk toward me. As I backed up feeling my back hit the wall I started to close my eyes "I was sad because I didn't tell my friends that I was moving next week and this was our last night together but I'm not sad anymore because you took them from me and I no longer want you her no name!" I said as loud as I can before there was silence in the room. "What the hell are you doing" I heard a voice say, when I began to open back up my eyes I see my brother Derek standing there. "I thought I sent Destiny down here to tell ya'll to keep quiet" Derek said "and where is she bye the way" he ask before I fainted.

"So, you want us to believe that story kid" an officer ask. "It's he truth, why would I be lying" I replied. "Alright let me go check this out" The officer said as he turns to leave. The officer closed the door to enter a different room. "So, you think I can get him for murder one" A attorney asked. "Seeing that his finger prints was on the knife and he's the only one that we found alive I say go for it" the officer replied. "So what about the story" the attorney asked. "We looked into it, no one else was there beside the bodies, if it wasn't for the murder weapon it would have looked like a big suicide let's just be glade we can reap this one up quicker then the last one" the officer said as he start to walk the attorney out.

By Andrea Sonda on Unsplash

monster
Like

About the Creator

Deapei Archie

I have been writing for a few years off and on, I have started writing on Wattpad like some of my other friends. I can't seem to steer from writing and bringing something to life out of nothing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.