Horror logo

Nightmare Journal: Pig Tails

Demon’s Trails

By Ecarg NosivePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Laying in my bed I had woken up from the feeling of a presence. I opened my groggy eyes to see I was wrong, no one was there, so I shut them again. My brain wanted to turn off but the feeling of being watched wouldn’t budge. I looked around for a second time but all I saw was the morning sun peaking through the windows, creating a large rectangle on the wall where the shadow of my bed painted itself. I thought, I should get more rest, so I set off to do just that.

A few minutes passed but just as I was about to enter sleep, I felt something put pressure down at the end of my bed. No one else was home, so I immediately became alarmed. I was too scared of what my eyes might see so I didn’t turn my head completely when I went to look at the bottom of my mattress. There was nothing but a dent in the comforter where I felt the movement. I thought, ‘well maybe it was just my imagination’, yet I knew it wasn’t.

The feeling of someone near me was so prominent that it burdened me in to shock and what was to come, kept me there, paralyzed. It all happened so fast, yet at the same time it felt like slow motion. A creak in my mattress sang as the pressure came back to the same spot, but then the other side of my feet felt an identical sensation. Someone or something was crawling on top of me.

Whatever it was, used the boost of their hands to lift their legs up above the bed frame, so they were straddled at my feet. I could feel their hands get closer to my shoulders as their legs followed. It took its time, knowing I was in distress. I’m not sure if my eyes were opened or closed at this time, I was dissociating while focusing solely on the feeling above me. It felt like a large man huddled over me, and then in a few moments, I felt his body drop.

The weight of this being was immense. Now, I couldn’t move even if I was able to. My adrenaline boosted and I got the courage to focus my stare in its direction. All I saw was an imprint of a body on top of me, until I looked at the wall. I could see the shadow of my head against the sunlight, and it took me a moment to make it out but I saw what appeared to be a shadow on top of me, morphing in to my body to make it look bigger. ‘What the hell is going on?’ I thought as it’s invisible head snuggled underneath my chin.

It was then I noticed I couldn’t hear any breathing, or any noise coming from it at all. I could only feel it’s mass. ‘Well maybe it’s a nice entity’ I thought, too soon. It got up abruptly, I was free of its trap, I even thought that was it. That was all it needed. It’s gone. Nope. My glare caught sight of movement on the wall, and what I saw sent shivers up my spine. It wasn’t a man’s shadow, it was a little girl’s.

I could see a small figure with hair down to its thighs. It was braided into two pig tails that whipped around as it moved back and forth. I knew then, this wasn’t a friendly entity. From watching various scary movies and shows throughout the years I came to learn that demons often disguise themselves as sweet innocent children in order to persuade their prey in to thinking they are harmless. As soon as I realized this I immediately jumped up to rid of the creature, but it’s shadow acted fast. I felt it crawl on the bed, and saw it’s shadow reach out a hand in my direction. It was aimed at my lower half, and I somehow knew it was going to be in a sexual way so I yelled with my hands over my scrunched eyes;

“Go away! Go away!! GO AWAYYYYYYY!!!”

The rectangle on the wall now only held my shadow, curdled up in the top corner of my bed. It was gone, and then, I woke up.

Yet, the feeling of its presence still lingered.

1

About the Creator

Ecarg Nosive

I'm a 27 year old writer from Ohio trying to make my passion, my career. Besides writing I enjoy animals, nature, and concerts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.