Horror logo

Night Shift Horrors: Tales from Various Jobs

Working the overnight shift at the hospital, I've encountered my share of eerie moments. One night stands out: after cleaning two discharged patients' rooms, I returned to find an old woman in one chair, vanished moments later.

By Bhangs CorporationPublished 3 days ago 3 min read
Night Shift Horrors: Tales from Various Jobs
Photo by Piron Guillaume on Unsplash

A Hospital Haunting

I work the overnight shift at a hospital. By far the creepiest thing that happened to me while working there was when I was cleaning two rooms after the patients had been discharged. The two rooms were connected with one shared exit. I cleaned the first room, left for about 10 minutes, got more supplies, and then went back to the other room. When I walked back in, I saw a little old lady in a chair, hunched over.

I stared at her in surprise for a few seconds. I thought it was odd that they had put another patient in that room already. Anyway, I began cleaning and looked back at the other room, but it was empty. She had disappeared. I would have seen if she walked past me. It was super creepy. No one on the floor fit the description that I gave except for the lady who had died in that room hours before my shift started.

The Night Shift at a Truck Stop

When I had just graduated high school, I started working at a truck stop a few miles outside of town. I usually worked evenings but had to switch shifts with the night shift guy. So there I was at three am fighting to stay awake. A car pulls into the parking lot and stops. There's a guy in the driver's seat crying and a woman in the passenger seat, just staring straight ahead, not moving, no emotion whatsoever.

They sat there for what seemed like an hour. Then the guy gets out of his car and comes in. He grabs a few random items and puts some on the counter. The whole time he's looking all around, like he's checking for other people. There was no one but us for miles. He then stares right into my soul and says, "Sure is quiet out here, isn't it? So quiet. You can almost hear the angels singing." I muttered something unmemorable and he left. His passenger never moved.

A 911 Operator's Nightmare

I'm a former 911 operator. While I was working there, I would get a call every single night. That was just horrible, screaming sounds, or sometimes deafening white noise, and then it would disconnect. It scared the ever-living shit out of me. The number that it called from was a landline for a vacant residence. I dispatched officers every single time, but they never found a thing. I was repeatedly assured that the sounds in the line were due to a faulty phone or the rain, but it never stopped bothering me.

The Screaming Woman

I used to work as a night watchman on a large property, not just a big building, but a huge surrounding property as well, probably about 50 acres. This property was not in the best of areas. It was kind of secluded but had a subdivision nearby. It had a long driveway with a gate at the end. One night, I started my rounds by walking out the front door of the place, which was all lit up.

As soon as I locked the door behind me and took a step, I heard a woman's voice screaming something that sounded like, "Oh God. Oh God. Someone, please help me." The sound was coming from up at the end of the driveway. It sounded a little bit faint, and I took five running steps down the driveway, then thought better of it, skidded to a stop, and ran back inside to call the cops. They responded with multiple police cars and even helicopters, but they found absolutely nothing. I still think it could have been somebody trying to lure me out there into the darkness.

urban legendsupernaturalpsychologicalmonsterhalloween

About the Creator

Bhangs Corporation

We are new to writing articles online, so please provide feedback to improve.

We are keenly interested in movies, web series, computer games, and finance so I will write some posts on them with my main focus on horror stories.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Bhangs CorporationWritten by Bhangs Corporation

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.