Horror logo

Never judge a book by it's cover

Looks can be deceiving

By Lauren DeePublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
Never judge a book by it's cover
Photo by Dan Meyers on Unsplash

His hair. It just always seems to fall in the right way against his strong jaw. Eyes, the color of a cold trickling stream reflecting a forest of trees. So unique, that “green” couldn’t describe them. Those lips, so soft and welcoming, the kind that would match perfectly for a kiss. I can almost taste it, salivating at the thought of his lips on mine.

He looks up at me as if he could hear my thoughts. I turn away, red with embarrassment.

“Are you staring at that man again? Girl, you’re going to get yourself in trouble if you keep undressing the customers with your eyes.” Melinda says jokingly as she comes around the corner.

Heat radiates my whole body as I feel the blush spreading.

“Yeah, I guess I DO need to stop doing that don’t I? But, can you blame me? He is like a greek god, and that hair.”

“Amen. He gives us something nice to look at in this god forsaken town.” Melinda laughs as she goes back into the office.

I go back to my task of restocking the sugars and marrying the ketchup bottles. This little vintage cafe is just small enough where you can see the whole place from this corner, but no one can really see you. Making the perfect spot for me to not get caught by those piercing eyes for admiring. I slowly look over and see that he is packing up his things to leave for the day. The feeling of disappointment and a tinge of sadness creep over me, as I watch him walk out the door.

You shouldn’t be drawing attention to yourself from mysterious men. You’re going to get yourself in trouble.

Mentally shushing the annoying, rational voice in my head. I head over to his table to clear the coffee cup and plates from his meal. As I am wiping down the table I see a little black notebook between the wall and the bench. Sitting down, I pull the book from its hiding spot. The leather is soft against my hands. I look around to see that nobody is watching me, as I slide the notebook into my apron for later.

Hours pass and I can’t seem to focus on work. I feel the notebook begging for my attention. What could be in it? I look at the clock and see that my shift is ending. Finally.

“Ok Melinda, my shift is over. I’ll see you in a couple days.” I say, hurriedly gathering my things. Melinda says her goodbyes and I head out anxious to leave.

The short path to my little beat up 1988 Oldsmobile tornado, has never been so long. I can’t wait. Sitting down in the driver seat, I pull out the smooth journal from my apron. It feels wrong in my hands. I open the journal and see dates and times. Locations. Addresses. I feel the blood drain from my face, suddenly hot with panic. Everything in the notebook is about me, all the details of my days are in this book. I flip through the pages frantically. A picture falls from the pages, flipping it over to see that it is a picture of me sleeping… and he’s next to me in the bed. I drop the picture and look around panicked and confused. I feel as if someone is watching me. Digging in my bag for my keys, I feel the air shift. I feel the needle in my neck before I see him in my rearview mirror, sitting in my backseat, a sick smile plastered on his face. I try to scream but nothing comes out, the world fades into black.

Wake up! Harlow!

My eyelids resist as I force them open. I try to lift my hands to my eyes to rub away the blurriness, but they do not move. Confused, I try again, now feeling something is restraining me.

The door opens suddenly and he appears, wearing that same sick smile as he heads towards me. He runs his cold fingers against my blushing skin. Hot panic runs down my thighs, pooling underneath my body, soaking into the mattress. I close my eyes in shame and hope that this will deter him from touching me again. He did not move his hand from my face.

“I didn’t realize that you would be this upset.” Stroking my cheek softly. Bringing his face closer to mine, I can feel his breath against my face. Tasting the peppermint on his breath as I breath in his air. My stomach turns. He turns his back to me, he walks to a table next to the bed, picking up the little black notebook, flipping through the pages casually.

“You were always watching me Harlow, every time that I would come in to the cafe. I thought I would return the favor, since you found me so fascinating. I must say that your life is pretty empty and that the lack of people that you see or contact is just shocking. I never knew such a pretty girl could be so alone in this world. You made this so easy, it is like you wanted me to take you. You were begging me, every time I would come in and you would watch me, thinking that I couldn’t see you. I know this is what you wanted Harlow. A break from your life. A break from not being able to pay your bills and working so much to feel the void inside of you. It’s sad really, such a waste of a life.” He laughs at my misery as he brings his face close to mine.

I told you to leave it alone and you didn’t listen.

Anger smashes into me for being so stupid and not paying attention. Closing my eyes so he can’t see the tears building, I turn my head away from him.

“I’ll let this sink in.” Brushing his lips against my eyes and then my forehead. Gooseflesh covers my whole body with disgust, a whimper escapes my lips.

The air shifts as he leaves the room. Relief floods over me. I am alone.

The sound of something crashing startles me awake. The room is dark, I strain my eyes and don’t see him. I hear distant yelling but can’t make out the words. Frantic footsteps heading towards the room bring a rush of panic. I pull against the restraints, my hand slips against it. I pull harder and release my hand. Still sluggish from the drugs, moving quick is a challenge. I reach over and unfasten the other restraints and sit up slowly, feeling the wave of dizziness wash over me, my vision blurring.

The door bursts open and I close my eyes fearing the worst. I feel hands grabbing at me and I resist against them. Fighting with the little strength that I have.

“Harlow stop! It’s me, I’m here baby. It’s over.” I know that voice.

“Melinda? What are you doing here?” Her face coming into focus as the blurriness clears.

“Don’t you worry about that now, let’s get you out of here.” I can feel her lifting my body as I start to see see black again as I pass out.

I jolt awake, my eyes bolting around the room. I breathe a sigh of relief as I take in the hospital room surrounding me. The steady beeping of the machines is comforting.

“Good, you’re awake! You definitely have luck on your side missy. We’re just glad nothing more happened to you.” Melinda said as she made her way over to the bed, taking my hand. I could see the tears in her eyes.

“What happened? How did you find me? Where is he?” I could feel the panic coming back at the thought that he might be near by. The heart monitor dancing with my anxiety. Melinda’s hand squeezed tighter comforting me.

“I saw him driving up the path from parking, but I did not see you leave yet. So I went to check on you and your car was still there and your bag was in the car. I just acted on a hunch and followed him. You know, you see all these movies about girls being kidnapped but you never think it will happen to someone you know. Anyway, I followed him and I saw him go into the house. I called the cops and waited until they got there. I rushed in and found you. I am so happy that I got there in time, and that you are safe. The cops took him into custody. I will fight like hell. He will not be getting out any time soon, I can promise you that.” I could feel her soft hand wiping the tears from my face. Her presence was comforting, I drifted back into unconsciousness.

The room was dark, I must have been sleeping for a while. I was feeling much better now that the drugs were out of my system.

“Looks like you’ve been getting good rest Harlow. Now it’s time that we talk about something.” Melinda said sitting on the bed next to me, taking my hand.

“What is it Melinda? Did something happen?” I asked, shifting uncomfortably.

“Nothing bad is happening, I have an idea for you. I know that this year has been so hard and you have been struggling, even though you didn’t want me to know, I always know. Everyone at the cafe and the regulars have pitched in and we have a gift for you. Something that I know you will fight but you deserve this break. I have a cabin out in Colorado Springs and you’re going to go stay there for as long as you’d like. W-

“I can’t do that Melinda I have bills that I am behind on and I can’t just leave you shorthanded.” The stress of life rushing in and causing tears to stream down my face.

“Hush and listen Harlow. You are going to stay at that place and you are going to accept the $20,000 that we have collected for you. You deserve this and you aren’t allowed to say no. As for me, I’ll be good, knowing that you will be safe and stress free for a little while. We all deserve a break Harlow, and this is yours.” Leaning in Melinda kissed my forehead, I could feel her hot tears drip onto my face.

The snow covered mountains are a welcome sight. Feeling the chill I pull my sweater tighter around me. Who would have thought I would end up here, after the year I had. Feeling lucky that I made it out alive.

Surviving a kidnapping is a tough thing to overcome.

Pushing the thought aside as I open the balcony door and go back into the warm cabin. Finally feeling safe for the first time in a year.

I learned to never judge a book by its cover.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Lauren Dee

I have had very disturbing dreams my whole life. I write fictional short stories, rants and poems all based off of my experiences in life. They can be dark, but it's the only way I can get them out of my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.