Horror logo

My possessed neighbor!

Read more to get scared!

By Prem Kumar ChettriPublished about a year ago 3 min read
My possessed neighbor!
Photo by Einar Storsul on Unsplash

This is one of the most horrifying stories I've witnessed first hand that happened some 52 years ago. During winter holidays, we village boys and girls used to play various games as those were the golden days of our life as well as of Darjeeling, our hometown, I can say . There were no hard feelings, no barriers of any kind, no disrespect to the elders, no interference of the elders and there was only love and friendship. You won't believe today that one of our hide and seek games could last upto 3 to 4 hours and sometimes even more. So, by the end of the day we had to make a rule stating that the game should not exceed three hours. As I said earlier, we never played the same game the next day. So, you could imagine that we knew and played several folk games.

But hide and seek was our best. This story is also about the same game. One morning, we decided to play the game, so we summoned our friends for it. At the end of the day, we were roughly 14 youngsters out of which 6 were girls . After the toss to decide who would begin, one of my friends, Naresh was to seek us. This game did not have the aforementioned 3 hour rule so we could literally play as much as we wanted. When Naresh was in his countdown, we boys decided go up towards the Railway Station while the girls walked down towards the graveyard and that particular game had lasted for 4 to 5 hours already and we were all tired so we called it off and went back to our respective homes.

My sister also participated in that game and she was telling us what had happened as the girls headed a different way during the game. As they reached the graveyard, they washed their faces at the spring there. They collected some berries. After some time, as no one came looking for them, they started to head back to our village. My sister didn't tell us about their mischievious incidents.Back at home, we finished our dinner by 8:00 pm and we went to sleep. As I was really tired, I slept off in no time.

Around midnight, I heard a lot of noise. I couldn't sleep and I came out of my bed to try and figure it out. I was alone at home and heard a big murmuring coming from the next house .This was the house of Didi (sister)our eldest playmate, who lived with her elder brother who was working in the Darjeeling Municipality at the time. Obviously, I headed next door to get rid of my curiosity. As I entered, the first thing I saw was didi is thrown out of her bed by nobody and of course, I was perplexed. More neighbours arrived and the eldest chap of the village, Rai mama sent some boys to bring Miya Sahabuddin, a washerman(dhobi) of the village, Dhobi Talaw- meaning 'Pond of the Washermen'.

I was told by my friend that this incident is happening for a long time . Rai mama demanded the explanation in its entirety, otherwise they'd be thrashed. The girls started to elaborate the whole incident and explained that she(didi) was dancing over a graveyard that evening. At this point, Miya arrived and as soon as he saw the girl he told us that she is possessed. He asked the big boys to hold her and tie her and not to release until he is done. He prayed a few chants which brought forth the spirit in her body and he begged the spirit in her to leave. The soul did not concur and it(while possessing Didi) tried to loosen the bounds violently. At this moment, Miya enquired why the spirit was so angry. The spirit( through Didi) mentioned that she was a muslim girl who had an untimely death and that Didi ruined her grave. Miya asked Didi's brother to apologize for her and promise to fulfill her wishes. When her brother asked for forgiveness on his sister's behalf for her unwanted behavior and promised to fulfill her wish according to his capability, then Didi became eerily quiet and proposed two conditions. One, was to perform a kind of blessing ritual at her grave and the second, to repair, clean and barricade her grave. Didi's brother agreed for both, and the spirit insisted to perform the rituals right away as she is not able to rest. After getting Miya's consent, Didi's brother immediately gathered the ritual items and the entire village pariticipated and witnessed the same.

The ritual was completed the same night, which was rather terrifying and from the next day, the repair at the grave started and apparently the spirit left Didi's body but she could not remember a single thing that had happened then!

Follow and read more!

urban legend

About the Creator

Prem Kumar Chettri

Join me as I share insights, opinions, and experiences on various topics that interest me. My genre ranges from simple lifehacks to real life horror experiences and from cooking recipes to philosophies!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Prem Kumar Chettri (Author)about a year ago

    Thanks a lot for your good words, Soon there will be more for the concerned people like you. Keep reading...

  • Testabout a year ago

    Your storytelling skills really drew me in, and I found myself completely engrossed in the chilling events you described. The way you captured the atmosphere and suspense was fantastic, keeping me on the edge of my seat until the very end. Your writing style is captivating and immersive, and I can't wait to read more of your work.

Prem Kumar ChettriWritten by Prem Kumar Chettri

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.