Horror logo

My Personal List of Classic Horror Movie Faves

If You're Into the Old Supernatural Thrillers, This One's for You

By Stacey SikoraPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like
My Personal List of Classic Horror Movie Faves
Photo by Steinar Engeland on Unsplash

Oh, it’s the special time of year again when there’s that feeling in the air, a familiar crispy coolness bringing on the reoccurring wonders of what may lurk behind the veil which appears to be at its thinnest. Oh how I love the way that the fall season brings on one of my favorite Halloween traditions of curling up and getting cozy with a hot drink, some roasted pumpkin seeds and slipping into the world of the wondrously eerie, the macabre, and captivating haunts right from my TV screen. Back in the day, it was from VHS rentals. (Yes, I’m that old)

I’m sure most of you have probably seen these films as they are popular classics but I just wanted to share, anyway ‘cause they are my faves and chances are, maybe there are some of you who haven’t seen a few of them, who knows.

If you’re like me, you’re not really into the slashers or the gore type of films but if you are into that, no offence. That stuff just ain’t for me. I’ll never forget the time when I was at a sleepover at the age of 10 and was forced to watch Texas Chainsaw Massacre which I’ve found just traumatizing. But little did I know at the time that another movie which they also had on at the sleepover was one that would turn me into a supernatural buff which brings me to the first in this list.

1. The Amityville Horror

Filmed and released in 1979 and based on a true story about a blended family who’ve moved into a house just outside New York, haunted from a history of a whole family that was murdered there. After only a short period of time, being terrorized by such paranormal events, they were all driven out, not being able to stay there any longer.

Why I liked it: Ok, I must admit that the first time I saw it, I was pretty frickin’ scared, being just the tender age of 10. But there was just something about the whole movie which intrigued me at the same time which made me want to watch it again and again, years later. Despite the fact that it’s based on horrific true events, the production of this movie was just so superb. It’s not just the brilliant acting, the creepy yet nostalgic setting, nor even the look of the house itself with its two windows in the attic which just look like sad yet creepy eyes staring down at you. It’s that darn haunting theme music, a combination of a children’s choir with discordant music that keeps playing in the background that will play over and over in your head like a broken record for time to come.

2. The Shining

Filmed and released in 1980, based on the novel by Stephen King and directed by Stanley Kubrick, this film is about a wife, husband, and their autistic son who go to stay at the Overlook Hotel in the rockies while Jack Torrence (the husband played by Jack Nicholson), a recovering alcoholic and aspiring writer takes on the position as caretaker of the very haunted hotel that is completely empty, inhabited by only himself, wife and son for the winter.

Why I liked it: Again, being introduced to the movie at the tender young age of 11, this was like no other type of horror movie that I’ve ever seen before (and I don’t think there’ll ever be one like it). There’s just something about the bizarre, yet haunting imagery combined with the oddly calm yet unsettling feel throughout the film just kept me coming back to relive that world of unease again and again just because it was also so darn beautifully and artistically done.

3. Poltergeist

Filmed and released in 1982 and written by Stephen Spielberg, this movie is about a family who’s home in the Californian suburbs becomes invaded by a malevolent entity which is after their youngest daughter, Carol Ann (played by Heather O’Rourke).

Why I liked it: Still, as a youngster while in the VHS renting era, I’ve watched this for the first time at another sleepover. Although some scenes in that movie affected me in such a way that I had to sleep with my head under the covers for probably a week, I just had to keep watching it again and again. Perhaps it was to either strengthen my threshold for fear or just the way the movie made me feel, or both. And the way it made me feel, I can’t really put into words except that besides fear there was a real range of other emotions that were experienced throughout the film but done so well. I’m sure I’ve probably watched this movie at least 100 times.

4. The Changeling

Another one to add to the 80’s VHS rentals, this film was released in 1980, directed by Peter Medak, starring George C. Scott. It’s about a grieving music composer who lost his wife and daughter in a tragic accident and moves into a mansion to carry on with his music career not knowing that the mansion was extremely haunted or how he would later become part of solving a murder mystery.

Why I liked it: First time I’ve also seen this was…you’ve guessed it, on VHS in the 80’s. But at my young age at the time and given the slow quiet pace of the movie minus a couple of scenes that stuck out like the seance, it didn’t leave too much of an impression on me at the time. So I’ve just watched it again and yeah, I can see how it was an international success and won best picture. As far as I’m concerned, they did pick the best mansion for the film. I could only imagine what it would be like to be staying in that big old place all by yourself with the odd sounds and unraveling tragic history behind it. All in all, it’s a great spooky film and I’d definitely watch it again.

5. The Others

Released in 2001, this film is written, directed and scored by Alejandro Amenábar and stars Nicole Kidman. Set in 1945, this film is about a mother and her 2 children with a rare photo-sensitivity disease where they cannot be exposed to daylight occupy a house in the countryside with paranormal activity.

Why I liked it: First time I’ve seen this movie was at the theatre and when I go to theatres, I often have this thing where I end up falling asleep unless the movie is really really good. When I saw this, my eyelids didn’t get heavy once. On top of the fact it’s set in older times which I love, the story itself takes you on such an unravelling mind trip you’ll almost be questioning if you’re alive or if you’re dead or if everyone around you is a ghost after the movie. At least that’s how I felt, anyway and I’m not afraid to admit it.

And that, my friends, is all I have for now and I hope you’ve enjoyed.

Whether you’ve seen any of these films or not, I highly recommend them especially if you’re not doing much this Halloween, seeing as in reality, we are still in a pandemic. Although we may still live in scary times, there’s nothing like a good old horror flick to escape the horrors of today.

Hope y’all have a safe and spine-chilling Halloween.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Stacey Sikora

Artist, craftsperson, music and movie enthusiast, also enjoys writing, photography, a lover of nature and a mother of cats.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.