Horror logo

My Paranormal Story

One of several (not the first, nor the last; however, one I remember well and happened most recently)

By Star WilkinsonPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like
Foggy morning at the back of our house.

First off: I’m not here by any means to sway anyone’s religious beliefs/values nor say you’re “wrong in believing what you do because your beliefs are not like mine” etc. I’m very open to others and their beliefs/views on life as well as interested in their views of the afterlife. Personally, I am a baptized Christian now and actually was raised very religious, believing in God and the devil while baptized catholic not long after I was born. I have my doubts unfortunately like everyone has; however, no matter what I go through, no matter how painful and lingering, despite the doubts I have, God has always brought me back to Him along with answering my prayers. Every. Single. Time.

This is why I never lose my faith. Again I’m not here to sway anyone or anything just showing my background and how as well as why I’m so religious and cling to my faith. I believe that no one has a wrong religion nor beliefs since we each are entitled to our own rights including religious beliefs (as long as said person and their chosen beliefs don’t lead to hurting themselves, others, animals, land etc). I’m more than okay with whatever you do in your time because it’s your life.

Along with God answering these prayers for things big and small in my life, I started having...strange experiences ever since I was little and even still to this day. I believe they were more frequent when I was younger for some reason and now are not as frequent. Still happen though. I think a lot of that has to do with me asking God to make it not happen anymore and now that it has slowed down/stopped for the most part...I actually kind of...miss it. Surprisingly. I never thought I would especially since it scared me so terribly the first few times I had experienced these strange things. My mother and sister have also experienced strange things including paranormal sightings and what some would call psychic/medium visions or feelings when entering a certain area or building. Even without any info from any outside source so their experience wasn’t that of an already biased subconscious nor a said coincidence: it was legit. As were so many of my experiences myself.

Call it what you will or whatever you think this is: Paranormal. Ghosts. Aliens. Overactive imagination.

What I believe is that I’m one of so many that are “gifted” or have a somewhat glimpse into a different dimension. Someone that can ‘see’ into that for moments in time due to my eyes being able to see into this veil when others can’t or honestly (a lot of the time) when they don’t want to. I believe this has been given (and like everything that happens) for a reason by God and is meant to somehow help others either that have passed on and/or that experience similar situations or ‘feelings’ and that to let them (& reiterate to everyone really) know: You’re not alone, you’re not crazy, don’t be afraid, you are more than enough. I will do my best to help you and so will countless others, and you’re loved more than you will ever be able to fathom.

Now after that long background and some of a tangent (lol sorry. I’ve always been a Chatty Cathy) here’s the short story I was promising you earlier.

Sometime either this late summer/early fall of 2019, I had a LONG day of work (like they all were but this particular one I hadn’t received much sleep lately), so right after I got home I had the goal to possibly snack a bit, use the restroom, and *immediately* crash on our bed to take a well needed nap.

After I finished my snack and chugged some water I went to use the restroom of course both of my cats followed like they usually do. I closed the door behind even though I was home alone since at this time the cats were still a bit young and too rowdy for me due to me being so worn down from lack of sleep and a rather crap day. Just thought I’d leave them in there with me and once I finished leave them in the bathroom long enough so I could get some rest without them pestering me. Then come to let them out of the bathroom after my nap.

As I was finishing up and about to stand to walk out of the bathroom I heard someone almost sprinting through our hallway which is directly in front of the bathroom door. While this was happening I also saw a shadow underneath the bathroom door whose movement’s matched the sounds.

What made me most creeped out and that made me rethink what I was experiencing was that my cats were looking exactly where I was too. Their ears were perked following the sound and looking at the bathroom door until it stopped at the end of the hallway.

This all felt like forever, however it was only a few seconds if that. While this was still happening I had these thoughts cross my mind (Am I imagining this? Nope. Was it perhaps my fiancé coming home from work early or coming in just for a moment to grab something he needed for work that he forgot this morning? No, since the sprinting sounded more light and frequent, like a small child rather than a grown man’s. The last thought which was the most frightening hit me: someone broke in...). RIGHT after I heard the running in the hallway I swiped up my pants and sprinted out to the hallway expecting to see a robber in my bedroom that’s at the end of this hallway and somehow scramble about to be the kick a** hero in the story and backhandspring to the nearest loaded shotgun to protect my house and my family. What I found astounded me and blew my mind.

NOTHING. No one in the house, no break in, no fiancé.

I found this odd but remembered at this moment that I never at any point heard walking before whatever this was hit the hallway and started running. Never heard a door open or close either.

I did a bit of research and found that several items, locations and so on can be triggers for paranormal. Like mirrors, dolls, quartz and limestone etc. I also know that at this time and still to this day we have a large mirror in our hallway. One that is exactly where the running began.

Did something pass through my home that day? A ghost?

Or was it just my over active imagination?

And my cats’ too?

Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.