Horror logo

My Haunted Apartment

"The old lady and her cat"

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

When I was 22 my mom helped me get an apartment in Jellico. I was really excited, after growing up in such a very small town, I was so ready for the life away from home, out on my own. I got a small one-bedroom apartment on 5th street. The apartment was on the far side of town from my parents. I always took extra precautions and keep an eye out for anything strange. I was a little nervous being out on my own for the first time. I just didn't know I would be running from what was inside of my own home.

Now, these apartments are old and I didn't know any of the history behind them or who had lived there prior to me. It had been about 3 months and I had not really seen or heard anything strange. The first thing that I began to notice was that I would always hear things coming from the bathroom around 7:00 a.m every morning. It sounded like someone was in there moving around, but I hadn't seen anything. Since the walls are thin, I figured it was the people next door. I did not think it was anything to worry about.

It was about my fourth month living there and I was sleeping. I have to sleep with the TV on I can't sleep in the dark. Since I don't care very much for cable, I would watch friends on the disc. I happened to be watching and there was a song that came on at the end "singing in the rain". When I was little I remember having sleep paralysis I know it is a very common thing. While I was sleeping I heard that song "singing in the rain" playing on repeat over and over. I was so groggy I didn't feel like looking for the remote, but it was getting annoying.

While I was waking up I realized that I could not move or breathe. I knew exactly what was going on, but this time it felt different. I looked at the swivel chair that I had in the bedroom next to my bed and it was turning on its own. As I watched it spinning I was terrified, everything started to get blurry and I could feel something was there. I was finally able to move and breathe again. I could not sleep for the rest of the night. I knew (or believed) that it was just an episode of sleep paralysis but I had never had one like that.

The apartment continued to freak me out, the longer I stayed there, the more things began to happen. I worked late until 4 a.m and I was so sleepy when I got home that I ignored whatever was going on. But every morning I was being awakened by the sound of someone in the bathroom. It was really bothering me but I just kept on believing that it was the neighbors.

One night my good friend was staying over and was in the bathroom fixing her hair. I went outside to smoke a cigarette and wait for her. I could hear her talking, I thought she was just being silly so I just didn't pay attention. I assumed that she knew I had gone outside.

She walked out and asked why I ignored her. I told her I had been outside the whole time. She told me that she saw me just a couple of seconds ago walking out of the bedroom and into the living room. I replied, "no, I have been sitting here on the porch smoking the entire time." She actually got kind of angry with me because she swore that I had just been inside and was trying to scare her. She would barely stay over after that.

A few weeks after, I heard someone in the bathroom again. I looked at the clock next to my bed and sure enough, it was exactly 7:00 a.m. I decided that it was time to face it and go see what was in there. I tried to open the door but it was jammed. I stood there in the hall with my ear against the door and could hear a woman's voice humming. I could even hear the medicine cabinet open and close. After about 5 minutes I was able to open the door, there was nobody in there of course. I was officially freaked out.

I went next door and asked the neighbor if they were awake every morning at 7:00 a.m, they said "no". After talking to them for a while I discovered that an older lady had lived in the apartment for like 30 years. Every morning she'd get up and go to work around 7:00 a.m. I was the first person to live there since she had passed away. The hairs on my neck stood up and I wondered to myself if maybe she was haunting the apartment. I kept that thought to myself though. I didn't want my mom to think that I was afraid to be out on my own. I sure didn't want my friends to think that I was afraid.

Later on more things started happening. Every day when I woke up, the recliner in the living room would be laid back. At first, I convinced myself that I was leaving it that way, but I started to double-check. Every night when I went to bed I'd make sure that it was not laid back, I even sit a teddy bear in the chair. The next morning, it was in the laid-back position again and the teddy bear was sitting on the sofa. This happened 5 or 6 times before I asked my dad to take the recliner out. I made up the excuse that I just didn't have enough room for it.

The T.V in my bedroom started shutting itself off in the middle of the night. As I said, I can't sleep without it on, so when it clicked off I'd wake up. I called the housing authorities and they sent the cable man out to check my connections, everything was fine. I eventually purchased a new television but it also turned off every night. I began paying more attention to the time frame and it would shut off at the exact same time every night.

One night I woke up hearing a woman calling "here kitty, kitty". I jumped up and dashed to the hallway, but of course there was nothing to be seen. I asked the neighbor, "did the lady who lived here have a cat by chance?". They confirmed that she did in fact have a cat that lived there with her.

After I heard the voice calling for the cat something else started happening. Every damn time that I went to bed I'd feel a slight pounce on the covers. It felt like a cat had jumped into the bed with me. By now I'm figuring that I must be scaring myself because things like this just don't happen. Eventually, I began to sleep on the sofa.

The last day that I spent there was the final breaking point for me. I was in the kitchen that morning making myself some breakfast. I was standing at the stove frying an egg when out of the corner of my eye I saw a cat jump up onto the counter. I jerked around and "you guessed it" there was no cat there. The whole kitchen smelled like freshly brewed coffee and I didn't even own a coffee pot. I have never been a coffee drinker.

I bid farewell to my ghostly friends and moved back home with my parents. I have since noticed a new resident living in the apartment. The neighbor has told me that they too claim to be living with a woman and her cat. It was all harmless, but just a little too much for my nerves to handle.

Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.