Horror logo

Monster in The Mirror

J.I.M

By TheMoon'sKeeperPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
Monster in The Mirror
Photo by Tuva Mathilde Løland on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. At first, I thought it was just a trick of the light or maybe a smudge on the glass, but as I leaned closer, I realized there was something off about the reflection staring back at me. As I reached out to touch the mirror, I hesitated. A sense of dread crept up inside me, and I felt my heart pounding in my chest. I could see my own reflection in the glass, but something was off.

It was as if my reflection was a little too perfect, too symmetrical. It was still me, but not quite. My hair was a few shades darker, my eyes a little wider, and my skin had a sickly pallor to it. I stepped back, feeling a chill run down my spine. Something about that reflection made me uneasy. I tried to shake it off and go about my day, but the image of the distorted reflection kept haunting me.

I found myself returning to the mirror, drawn to the strange figure staring back at me. The longer I looked, the more I felt like I was being pulled into the reflection, like it was a portal to another world. It wasn't long before I started noticing other strange things happening around me. Objects would move on their own, doors would open and close, and I heard strange whispers in the middle of the night. I started to feel like I was going crazy.

But then, one night, as I was staring into the mirror, I saw movement behind me. I turned around, but there was nothing there. When I looked back at the mirror, I saw that the figure in the reflection was no longer alone. There were others now, shadows moving in the background, just out of sight. I tried to tell myself that it was just my imagination, that I was just seeing things, but deep down, I knew that something was very wrong.

The mirror had become a gateway to another world, and it was slowly bleeding into my own. I took a deep breath and leaned closer to the mirror, studying my reflection. Suddenly, a hand reached out from the glass and grabbed me by the wrist. I screamed and tried to pull away, but the hand was too strong. The hand pulled me closer to the mirror, and I saw the face of a woman staring back at me. But it wasn't just any woman. It was me, or at least, a version of myself.

The woman in the mirror had a twisted smile on her face, and her eyes glinted with malice. I struggled to break free, but the woman in the mirror held on tight. Suddenly, the woman spoke, but her voice was distorted, as if it were coming from underwater.

"Welcome to my world,” the woman said. "You've been living in a lie all your life. This is the real you, the one that's been trapped inside the glass for so long."

My mind raced as I tried to make sense of what was happening. Was I dreaming? Was this some kind of elaborate prank? The woman in the mirror laughed, and I felt a chill run down my spine.

"Don't worry. You'll get used to it. In fact, you'll love it here. We’ll have so much fun."

With that, the woman in the mirror pulled me inside the glass. The world around me dissolved into darkness, and I felt myself falling, falling, falling…

When I woke up, I was lying on the floor of my bedroom. I sat up slowly, rubbing my head. The whole thing had felt so real, but it had to be a dream, right? One night, I couldn't take it anymore. I smashed the mirror, hoping that it would put an end to the madness. Instead of shattering into a million pieces, the glass seemed to warp and twist, like it was alive. Something started to emerge from the shattered glass.

It was a hand, skeletal and covered in blood, reaching out from the other side. Then another, and another, until a whole figure had emerged from the mirror. It was one of the twisted figures I had seen in the reflection, and it was stepping out into my world. I shut my eyes in a desperate attempt to make it all disappear. After a few minutes of convincing myself it was all in my head I opened my eyes. Right in front of me was the mirror. New and unshattered.

I caught sight of myself in the mirror. It was my own reflection looking back at me. I breathed a sigh of relief and turned to leave the room. But then I heard it. A faint tapping sound, coming from inside the mirror. I froze, and my heart started to race again. I turned slowly back to the mirror and saw something that made my blood run cold.

My reflection was smiling, but it wasn't a happy smile. It was a twisted, sinister grin, the kind that belonged to a demon. As I watched in horror, my reflection reached out of the mirror. I tried to run, but it was like the air had turned to molasses. The figure advanced on me, its twisted face inches from mine and pulled me inside. Everything went black.

When I woke up, I was lying on the floor of my bedroom again. But this time, something was different. My room was the same, but the air felt heavy, oppressive. Then I heard the tapping sound again, louder this time. I turned to the mirror and saw my reflection looking back at me, but it wasn't my own reflection. It was the woman from before, the one with the twisted smile and the malevolent eyes.

"You're mine now," the woman said. "You belong to me. You'll never leave this place."

I knew then that I was trapped, that the mirror had claimed me as its own. I screamed, but there was no sound. No one could hear me. Black ichor flowed in place of tears. My reflection now resembling that of which has been hunting my spirit during this entire time. Realization hitting all at once. I was trapped in the mirror, in a world of twisted reality and endless terror. I knew that I would never escape.

I am the monster in the mirror.

supernaturalpsychologicalmonsterfiction
Like

About the Creator

TheMoon'sKeeper

A sad Pisces )-(...... in love with the depiction of love and poetry

Follow my IG @themoonskeeper23

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.