Fiction logo

The Wall of the Grand Hotel in Paris

J.I.M.

By TheMoon'sKeeperPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
The Wall of the Grand Hotel in Paris
Photo by Bernard Hermant on Unsplash

"If walls could talk," I would have so many stories to tell. I am the wall of an old, grand hotel in Paris. I have seen many guests come and go, each with their own secrets, scandals, and stories. My stones have been here for over a century, and they have absorbed everything that has taken place in front of me.

As I continue to bear witness to the comings and goings of the guests who pass through the hotel's doors, I feel a sense of unease in the air. The hotel's halls are no longer filled with the same luxurious, high-class guests that once frequented them, but instead with rough, scrappy-looking characters, shrouded in mystery.

It's as though the hotel has been reborn as a haven for those seeking to hide something - people on the run, wealthy businessmen with seedy connections, and other shady individuals. It's a far cry from the glamorous, elegant scene I used to witness, but the thrill of the secrets and scandals that now unfold in front of me is undeniable.

In my early days, the hotel was the height of luxury. Kings, queens, and movie stars would stay in my rooms and stroll through my halls. They would hold grand parties, and I would be the silent witness to their revelries. But even the most glamorous guests had their secrets.

Sometimes, when the hotel is quiet, I like to imagine the stories of the guests who have stayed here over the years. I remember the laughter of the kings and queens, the tears of the actresses, and the secrets of the politicians. I remember it all, and I will never forget.

One of my most vivid memories is of a young woman who stayed in one of the hotel's suites many years ago. She was a beautiful actress, famous throughout the world. But behind her bright smile and sparkling eyes, she harbored a deep sadness.

The woman would spend hours staring out of the window, watching the world go by. I remember the sound of her sobs echoing through the room as she wept for a lost love. But she was not alone in her grief.

One night, a man came to visit her in her room. He was handsome, with piercing blue eyes and a charming smile. But there was something sinister about him, something that made me uneasy. The woman welcomed him with open arms, but I knew that something was not right.

The man left the room in the early hours of the morning, and I could sense the woman's fear. I heard her whispering to herself, promising that she would leave the hotel and never return. But she never did.

Years passed, and the hotel changed hands many times. The guests who stayed in my rooms changed, but their stories remained the same. Love, loss, and betrayal were constants in their lives, and I was the only one who knew the truth of what had happened.

Now, the hotel is a shadow of its former self. The grand parties and glamorous guests are gone, replaced by tourists and backpackers. But I am still here, bearing witness to the comings and goings of those who pass through my doors.

Just last week, a group of men checked into one of the hotel's larger suites, heavily armed and on high alert. Their demeanor was suspicious, and I could feel the weight of their secrets pressing down on me as they whispered to one another in hushed tones.

They spent their days locked inside the suite, speaking only in code, and when they did venture out, it was always under the cover of darkness. I couldn't help but wonder what they were planning, what nefarious scheme they were hatching behind closed doors.

The tension in the hotel was palpable, and the staff members were all on edge, worried that these shadowy figures would attract unwanted attention. And then, as suddenly as they had arrived, the men disappeared into the night, leaving behind nothing but their hushed whispers and a lingering sense of danger.

It's moments like these that make me shiver with excitement. I know that the walls of this hotel have always held secrets, but now those secrets are darker, more dangerous, and more thrilling than ever before. I am the witness to it all, and I wouldn't have it any other way.

Though the hotel has seen many changes over the years, and its clientele has become rougher around the edges, I still cherish the thrill of the unknown, the thrill of the secrets and scandals that take place in front of me. I am the wall of the grand hotel in Paris, and my stones hold the memories of a time long gone, and the secrets of a dangerous new era.

"If walls could talk," I would tell you of the secrets and scandals that have taken place in front of me. But for now, I must remain silent, content to be the silent witness to the events that have taken place in my presence. I am the wall of the grand hotel in Paris, and my stones hold the memories of a time long gone.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

TheMoon'sKeeper

A sad Pisces )-(...... in love with the depiction of love and poetry

Follow my IG @themoonskeeper23

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.