Horror logo

Mirror of Shadows

Unraveling the Secrets of a Haunted Legacy

By Stellan BergströmPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
Mirror of Shadows
Photo by Stefano Pollio on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own.

My heart pounded in my chest as I stared at the image before me. A woman, eerily similar to myself, but with subtle differences that unsettled me to my core. She wore a cruel smile, her eyes a shade darker than mine, filled with malice. I blinked, and she blinked in unison, as if to mock my disbelief.

I had inherited the old Victorian house from my great-aunt Eliza, a woman I barely knew. After the passing of my parents, she left it to me in her will. My friends warned me of the eerie rumors surrounding the place, stories of dark magic and restless spirits. I shrugged off their concerns as mere superstitions, but now, standing in front of the ancient, ornate mirror, doubt crept in.

I tried to avert my gaze, but the woman in the mirror held me captive. Her eyes were piercing, her voice soft but sinister as she whispered, "Welcome home, dear cousin. I've been waiting for you."

I stumbled back, my heart racing. The woman's laughter echoed in my ears as I fled the room. The following days were restless, filled with uneasy dreams and the constant feeling of being watched. I avoided the mirror, but the woman's presence lingered.

As the days turned into weeks, the barrier between our worlds seemed to weaken. Objects would move on their own, and I'd catch glimpses of the woman's reflection in windows and other reflective surfaces. My friends grew distant, concerned about my erratic behavior and the stories I told of my encounters with the woman in the mirror.

Desperate for answers, I dove into the history of my family and the house. In the dusty attic, I discovered a diary that belonged to my great-great-grandmother, Lydia. The pages were brittle, her elegant script faded but still legible. As I read, my blood ran cold.

Lydia had a twin sister named Clara, who was rumored to dabble in dark magic. They had a bitter rivalry, fueled by jealousy and hatred. When Clara sought to use her powers to claim the family fortune, Lydia made a desperate attempt to stop her. She performed a ritual that trapped Clara in the mirror, an alternate dimension from which she could not escape.

My curiosity morphed into horror as I realized the woman in the mirror was Clara, my great-great-grandaunt. The resemblance between us was uncanny, and she must have mistaken me for Lydia, the sister who had banished her so long ago. Clara was seeking revenge, her hatred spanning generations.

The diary also detailed the ritual Lydia had performed to imprison Clara. I knew I had to strengthen the barrier between our worlds, to protect myself and prevent Clara from unleashing her wrath. I gathered the necessary items, my hands shaking as I lit the candles and arranged them in a circle.

As I began to recite the incantation, the room darkened, the air growing thick and heavy. I felt Clara's presence, her anger palpable. Her voice echoed around me, taunting and threatening. I fought to keep my focus, the words of the ritual caught in my throat as fear threatened to overtake me.

The mirror began to shake, the sound of breaking glass filled the room. The woman in the mirror screamed in fury as I continued the incantation, her form distorting and twisting. The room seemed to spin, and I felt a crushing pressure in my chest.

With one final, shuddering breath, I shouted the last words of the ritual. The mirror shattered, sending shards of glass flying in every direction. Clara's anguished scream echoed through the house, and then there was silence. The air grew lighter, and the oppressive atmosphere vanished as if it had never existed.

I sank to my knees, tears streaming down my face as I stared at the broken mirror, the remnants of Clara's prison. She was gone, but at what cost? The house was eerily quiet, as if mourning the loss of its dark occupant.

In the weeks that followed, my life slowly returned to normal. My friends, seeing the change in me, cautiously reconnected. I began to rebuild my relationships and piece together the life that had been disrupted by Clara's malevolent presence.

Yet, the memory of my great-great-grandaunt haunted me. I often found myself reflecting on the tragic story of Lydia and Clara, two sisters torn apart by jealousy, hatred, and the destructive power of dark magic.

Eventually, I decided to sell the Victorian house, unable to bear the weight of the memories it held. I could no longer look at the empty space where the mirror had once hung without being reminded of the horrors I had witnessed. I hoped that by leaving the house, I could put the past behind me and move forward.

On the day I packed my belongings and prepared to leave, I found a small, unassuming box in the attic. Inside, I discovered a collection of letters exchanged between Lydia and Clara. They spoke of happier times, of sisterly love and a bond that once seemed unbreakable. It was a sobering reminder that hatred and darkness had not always defined their relationship.

As I locked the door behind me, I whispered a silent prayer for both Lydia and Clara. I hoped they could find peace, somehow reunited in the afterlife, their souls finally free from the torment that had bound them for so long.

I placed the letters in my car, a reminder of the family legacy that would always be a part of me. As I drove away, I couldn't help but glance in the rearview mirror. The reflection that greeted me was my own, but I knew I would never forget the woman who had once stared back at me with such malice.

And so, the story of the broken mirror came to an end. The alternate reality that had bled into my world was sealed away, the haunting presence of Clara banished. But the lessons of love, hatred, and the power of darkness would remain with me, a chilling reminder of the fragile line between our world and the unknown.

psychologicalfiction
Like

About the Creator

Stellan Bergström

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.