Horror logo

Mirror mirror on the Wall

The darkness that reflects from within.

By LUCID LAINYPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
Marsha + Lucid Lainy Designs | @lucidlainy

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own.

I was startled and couldn't help but take a closer look. My eyes seemed to be playing tricks on me at first, but when I stopped to look closer, the face I saw was not mine.

It was darker, more sinister, and something I had never seen before. I felt a chill run down my spine and a sense of dread fill my heart. I tried to look away, but something kept pulling me back, as if the mirror was calling to me.

I had bought the old mirror from a flea market. It was ornately carved with a strange symbol. I had never seen anything like it before, and thought it would look beautifully rustic in my entryway. Little did I know, I was about to unleash a terror beyond my wildest nightmares.

I started to have strange dreams at night. I dreamed of a world unlike my own, a world filled with desolate darkness and deep despair. I awoke feeling a lingering sense of dread. I had no idea what it meant. The dreams continued, and the longer I had the mirror, the more they seemed to intensify. I started to feel like I was being pulled into a dark abyss. I was desperate to find out what was happening.

One day, curiosity got the better of me, and I finally reached out to touch the glass of the mirrow. My fingers met nothing but the cold glass, and in that moment the reflection started to move! The figure slowly stepped out of the mirror and into my world. I was filled with terror, but I couldn't look away. The figure seemed to be from an alternate reality. It was an unsettling sight, and I could feel the darkness of this reality slowly seeping into mine.

My mind raced with questions, but I was too afraid to speak. The figure seemed to sense my confusion and began to explain. It told me that the mirror was a portal between two realities, and it had been calling me.

The figure said that the darkness of its world was slowly bleeding into my own. It warned me that if I didn't take action soon, I would be lost in the darkness forever. I was terrified and didn't know what to do. I wanted to run away, but I knew I had to do something. I had to find a way to stop the darkness from taking over my world. I had to find a way to close whatever dark portal this mirror had opened. I was scared, but I was determined to do whatever it took to save my world.

One day, I decided to take the mirror to a local psychic. I told her of my dreams, and she immediately knew what I had brought her. She said that I had an ancient artifact in my possession, a haunted black mirror that revealed an alternate reality, one that was slowly bleeding into my own. Exactly what the dark figure had warned me about.

The psychic also warned me that if I didn't get rid of the mirror soon, the alternate reality would take over and consume me. I was terrified, this same message kept coming up, but I had no choice but to heed her warning. I took the mirror to a nearby graveyard and buried it in the ground. I thought I had buried my problems with it, but I was wrong.

Every night, I hear knocking at my window. I see a figure standing there, a figure from the alternate reality I had seen in the mirror. I can feel its presence, watching me from the shadows. Its power is growing, and I am becoming more and more aware of its presence in my life.

I frantically began searching for a way to close the portal, but nothing seemed to work. Desperate, I stumbled upon a book of old, hidden deep in the darkness of an old library. I opened it and found an ancient ritual that could reverse the effects of any mirror portal.

With trembling hands, I followed the instructions and managed to close the portal. I breathed a sigh of relief and stumbled out of the room, never to look back.

Despite the fact that I had seemingly managed to escape, I still felt haunted by the experience. Darkness had crept into my world, and I knew it would never truly leave. I had seen a glimpse of an alternate reality, and I would never forget it.

x. Lainy.

slasherurban legendsupernaturalpsychologicalpop culturemovie reviewmonsterhalloweenfictionbook reviewsart
2

About the Creator

LUCID LAINY

| lucidlainy.com | @lucidlainy | @thelucidmuse | @theluciddose | BIO: I've been dreaming my whole life ... and now all I am left with is lucid lines that linger, long past the last page. Come get lost with me, I'd love to leave you, lucid.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.