Horror logo

Masque of the Black Death

A love letter to Ruin

By Raine fielderPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Masque of the Black Death
Photo by DANNY G on Unsplash

Once upon a midnight dreary, as I sat lonesome and weary. I thought of all the events of the night before. My deepest fears now confirmed that I was to blame, of all the ones who have gone the same way before. Carrier of the disease, survivor that I am, immunity a blessing and a curse. On the day of Hypomone, the fall of Constantinople and the death of Constantine XI, so we celebrate the birth of the helpful, Ruin of the twenty first year. With décor and aesthetic of the macabre, beauty and of fear.

Arrayed in linens, deep crimson and black, velvet and lace. Masques of mystique to cover the face. All gathered in dress, to drink and dance with each unknown guest. Grand ballroom alit with candles and gold. Atop a grand staircase awaiting the fold. With each passing moment I abated my breath, each shallow swallow tightened my breast. Then I saw him at the bottom with cape, his long hair pulled back to his fair neck at the nape.

Bluest waves behind black masque, aglow and dancing with a laugh. Looking up into mine, smiling sweet to stop the time. Descending now I go down; I float on wings as he takes his bow. To one knee and hand to kiss, a soothing balm. My fingers lightly and then my palm. Speaking words as some would say, “dearest, how doth the lady fare today?”

In reply I must confess, I made a light and self-guided jest, “good sir, ye haven’t yet complimented mine attire,” placing a hand upon my breast.

He stood, “the lady fair, the loveliest ravens envy thine hair, and the hungriest of creatures never saw berries red and sweet that compared to thy lips while I place my hands upon thine hips.” A teasing slap, a warm embrace. A kiss upon each cheek, the taste of lace. Arm in arm and steps in sync. Upon the terrace we eat and drink. Laughter, dancing smiling all the while moonlight making our loving wild.

Eyes of blue to eyes of stone, the reason that I’m now alone. Confession said but not the first, heart’s true intent, mine own selfish curse. Love requited but not returned, lesson seen but no lesson learned. Up into pools of yearning, heart, and soul within me burning, hearing and fearing loves beat upon my chest. Music and the rhythm but no focus was within them for who could stand the terror of the morn? The love I would have to offer could not fill the well within the heart that’s torn.

Lips parting but no word was spoken, for the stillness then was broken as the crowd around us rushed us to the door. Parting there in silence like the waters of the sea, like the blood-colored sea that parted years before. Mystery in the shape and form of human yet not as any human eyes had seen before. Cloaked in darkness of velvet cape and tied again around the nape floating like a swan about the lake and then over to the shore. Hand out toward me as though he had known me, no resistance could hold me to the floor.

Beneath the hood about him, flowed locks of silken hair as black as ravens, and emeralds gazed upon me and my breath it was no more. Lips of velvet upon the ear whispered, “Bonsoir my lovely stranger,” responding with a shudder and without a fear of danger “do I know thee?” and I wondered once again who this man could be. “Are we not in masquerade?” he asked and then he bade a dance upon the floor. Ruin remembered no more.

Dancing then and dancing still, I felt his hand upon my waist and his hood never falling from his crown. There we turned and swirled, and grinning and I felt the dear one going down. But the spell it was unbroken as a few words were spoken “What name should I call thee?” And the answer was a token of what lied for the cursed town.

“Dread,” was the only word he spoke and supposed that being his name I asked no more.

Dancing for hours and with no word or whisper or even a wink, the figure moved away and was gone in a blink. Chasing and breathless I flew the stair, he descended like falcon riding the air. Cape flowing behind like wings of a raven. I called out the word ‘dread’ and he gave me no haven. I turned and around me all eyes and confusion, crowded around and broke my illusion. Stumbling back and around and nowhere, I felt arms of concern but of whom I was unaware.

I went to Ruin, and he to me and embracing and facing the tears now appearing, whatever I’d done was now disappearing. So I thought, was the way but not so I’m afraid. What disaster of guilt of abandon of friend, but friend was too kind and it became the friend’s end. Not only he, but alas so much more. As the night wore on the consequences to bear.

Long into the night delightful dancing, suits and dresses spinning and prancing, til the shrieks pierced through the night’s allure. All turning in slow motion, not a word or cry was spoken as the first fell to the dark below. Shock and awe but not to ceasing, the surprise faded away and I felt I was dreaming. For ever there was into the night a new one screaming.

Again and again the black death took them all, each one I had touched, each one took the fall. They all went in order of my touch since Dread, and then realization dawned and dread filled my head. All of them leaping the balcony to join the village of the dead.

Looking for Ruin I descended the stairs, quick as I could, hoping and praying that he never would. At the bottom stood dread and looked he up at once, my eyeline followed and what I saw was too much, Ruin and chandelier now stood as one. And looking at Dread I began to run. He pulled up his hood and turned with a grin. I knew this was the end.

On the balcony in silence waiting, for the end of the investigating. Never knowing who Dread had been before masquerading. So soft and innocent, if I could only just remember that face so sweet, so wrapped in deceit. To dance again would sure lead to sadness, never knowing which beautiful one is the masqued madness. Should she dance with love to tempt the fates, or will his handsome face betray again? No, it is her fate to walk alone for she will dance with death, nevermore.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Raine fielder

Raine has been writing poetry since she was in seventh grade. She has written several poems, song lyrics, short stories and five books. Writing has been her passion for her whole life.

https://linktr.ee/RaineFielder

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.