Horror logo

Loving The Exorcist

Scariest movie ever?

By Matthew BathamPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
Like

When people ask me what the scariest horror film I’ve seen is, I usually reply with The Exorcist. The response is mixed. Some totally get it, others are mystified as to how I can find a horror movie from the early 70s so disturbing.

Firstly, let’s put it into that context — it was released in the early 70s! I can’t imagine the impact this film would have had to cinema audiences in 1973. I can actually believe that people fainted in their seats, or as they were crawling (and jabbering) toward the exits. The language alone must surely have been shocking, particularly coming from a teenage girl.

As a side note, there were Catholic priests onset as advisors and, apparently, one of the main criticisms they had was that the possessed Regan wasn’t foul-mouthed enough! Genuinely possessed people have real potty mouths, it seems.

Secondly, it’s just a brilliantly directed and crafted movie. The slow build and scenes featuring the all-American, sweet, young Regan, make her transition to scarred, soup-vomiting, head-twisting, demonic Regan all the more horrifying. The horror build and builds, but it’s the subtle touches that add to the sense of unease. (And I’m not talking about the almost subliminal flashes of the demon’s face at points throughout the film.)

One such subtle, goosebumps moment, is when the hideous guttural voice of the demon asks Father Karras “Can you help an old altar boy, Father?”. The line mirrors that of a homeless man asking the Father for help earlier in the film and confirms for the priest that there really is some all-knowing evil force inside Regan.

And of course, there are the iconic scenes that have been copied and parodied countless times — Regan growling ‘your mother sucks cocks in Hell’, the spinning head, the pea soup vomit. Despite the numerous spoofs, most of these scenes still stand up today, even if the effects are dated.

On another side note, the vomit in the famous spewing scene was supposed to hit Father Karras in the chest but was accidentally sprayed all over his face. That look of shock and disgust was for real.

There are many other scenes that leave a vivid imprint on my memory — let’s not forget the peeing in the living room, the levitating bed, or the spider walking down the stairs. The spider walk didn’t make it into the original cut as director, William Friedkin thought it ramped up the horror too early, plus he wasn’t happy with the quality of the effect believing the wires that made it possible were too visible. The scene was restored to the 2000 director’s cut with the help of a little CGI to remove the wires. (Now this is use of CGI that I approve of).

But no one scene makes this movie. It’s the culmination of all of them, backed by great direction and acting performances that make The Exorcist such an iconic horror movie.

There’s a remake around the corner, but I can’t see how it can compare to the original in terms of impact. Today’s audiences have just seen too much onscreen to be truly shocked.

I originally watched The Exorcist while holidaying with cousins in the USA. I was 15 years old and still fairly new to horror movies. After watching the film (on VHS, obviously) I lay in my Aunt and Uncle’s swimming pool, the sun warming my face. I wanted to close my eyes and relax, but every time I tried Regan’s scarred face was there waiting for me.

Even now, nearly 40 years later, there are nights when I close my eyes to sleep, and she’s there waiting…

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Batham

I'm not exactly a culture vulture, but I do love movies (great and bad, especially horror films), I'm also very partial to a good book across most genres and I'm often found mooching around art galleries. I also write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman about a year ago

    I like the review! For me, scariest movie was the ring. And only because when the movie came out, my TV was the same one they used in the movie. Kept expecting her to come crawling out of it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.