Horror logo

Last Night in Soho Movie Review

Want to experience the 1960s? How about with a horrifying twist.

By YumanewPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Last Night in Soho is a movie that came out in 2021 and was directed by Edgar Wright. I stayed in the loop of this movie in hopes of having the chance to see it. I am glad because this movie astounded me. I wanted to rewatch this movie because the soundtrack down to the cinematography was phenomenal.

Last Night in Soho is about a girl named Eloise (Thomasin McKenzie). She lives in a small town, with her grandmother, wanting to be a fashion designer. She gets accepted into her dream school in hopes of making her dream a reality. In London, things are no always what they seem as she experiences dark things around her. This movie really took horror to a different level. It is counted as a psychological horror style drama.

First I do want to talk about the story. The characters are very likable and the aspect of seeing Eloise have some type of connection when seeing Sandie. It is hard to explain, but she can experience things as other people which are vivid dreams. In a sense this creates that supernatural element to Eloise. Does she have some supernatural type ability or is it apart of a mental illness from her past? Which leads her into the story of Sandie. Sandie’s story was sad because it showed how the rise to fame is not exactly a yellow brick road. For Eloise, it is as though she is trying to find herself within Sandie’s story.

Secondly, the soundtrack. As soon as I was done with the movie I went straight to Apple Music to download the soundtrack. The 1960s style music made the scenes feel disturbing but can really make the atmosphere feel different. My two favorite songs are both versions of “Downtown” by Anya Taylor-Joy and “You’re My World” by Cilla Black. I would play those songs while going to work, studying, just about anything. Especially “You’re My World” when you see the scene it comes in. I kept replaying that scene on YouTube. Most horror movies don’t have a soundtrack that really sticks with you, but this movie just had the right music to make every scene come to life. Anya Taylor-Joy has such a beautiful voice.

Third, the cinematography. I will give the movie credit for how they were able to make Sandie and Eloise become one character. Because throughout the movie Eloise is following Sandie’s story. I saw a behind a scenes on YouTube and the actor or Eloise would be in the mirror just following Sandie. They would just mimick each other in a way. Once those were put together then it just came to life. I don’t believe I have really ever seen a movie do that besides when I recently watched Malignant. It is not much to speak on, but it is something you will need to experience for yourself. Along with the cinematography, the outfits are super chic. For a fashion design school and seeing outfits in the 1960s style, I adored how pretty the outfits were. I enjoyed Sandie’s style the most in the movie.

Finally, Last Night in Soho is a highly recommended movie. It is on Amazon prime and if you can take the time I would just sit down to watch it. It gave me one of those feelings of satisfaction when watching a movie. I always watch movies which made me get into doing movie reviews again. It is always rare when a movie just makes me sit down and think to myself “wow I don’t think anything can top this movie right now.” I always remind myself to go back to watch the movie because of the unique creativity that was put into this movie. Edgar Wright has done a phenomenal job in creating this movie, the movie team, and the actors/actresses that brought the characters to life.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Yumanew

Hello welcome to my little page. I am mostly a horror movie reviewer, but I will write some different things. I am more of a beginner writer and just do hope to have good things out of becoming a writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.