Horror logo

La Lechuza

The owl on the barn

By Alannah CruzPublished 3 years ago 19 min read
Like

“Izzy! Izzy! Wake up!"

I heard it again. The sound was so piercing and awful. I peaked out of our bedroom window and over at the barn, there it was. All white and perched up on the highest point of the roof. I called for my older sister to wake up so that she could finally stop telling me I’m delusional. I almost believed her but for five days now, it has continued to come back.

“Damnit Gabi, your driving yourself insane and now your keeping me from my sleep, I don’t hear a stupid owl and I sure as hell am not getting up to see one either, so shut up and go to sleep!".

I lay my back against the wall and peaked out of the window not realizing I was holding my breath. When I looked at him I know he couldn’t see me inside of my dark room but oddly, he never looked away from my gaze. It was as if he were staring at me though he walls. It’s eyes were bright and easy to spot from my distance. And that loud cry, it was so awful and piercing like nails on a chalk board. This damn bird was indeed driving me crazy. But only because I had never seen one before let alone a week straight in the barn I grew up in. I just couldn’t stop looking at it because now I almost expect it to be here. The question is, do I want it to be here? Or am I an idiot for believing a myth? I turned to look at the clock seeing that it was now past ten o’clock at night still overthinking it all, but just shrugged it off. We are on break for the summer so mom always has busy days planned, full of lots of farm chores to keep me busy. I don’t mind though, things aren’t kept up like they used to be so I know she needs all of the help she can get. I lay in my bed staring at the glow in the dark stars on the ceiling, remembering the stories told to us as kids by tio Manny. One story that was about an evil owl, the story of The Lechuza. The same story I thought of when I first spotted the owl on the barn and the one making me lose my mind. Before I could play the memory over in my head for the one hundredth time, my eyes quickly grew heavy, and I fell asleep.

“Gabriella! Time to get up!”

That was mom Gloria, waking me up at the usual time of morning. The crack of damn dawn. Okay it was 9:00 but it sure feels earlier than that. I feel like I’ve been asleep for five minutes tops. It’s my summer vacation and I am seventeen, practically grown. I should be getting my beauty sleep and sleeping until noon! In my dreams. The last time I said that little comment o my mother she handed me three envelopes and said “ Ok Gabi, your practically grown now, so here are this months bills, you pay them.” After a couple hours of crying and begging for her forgiveness, she reminded me not to be in such a hurry to grow up because it wasn’t as great as I imagined.

“One more year until college Gabi, one more year” I told myself out loud.

I rolled my eyes and forced myself to slide out of bed looking over at Izzy. She was looking right at me with her usual annoyed expression. We share a room and have now for the past year. Tio Manny came to visit after dads passing and was only supposed to be here for two weeks. Mom gave him my room and made me sleep in here while he visited. Well, six months later and he hasn’t gone anywhere. Izzy no longer has her own space, I swear she hates me for it. I never win with her so I gave up trying to make her get over it a long time ago. I got dressed and began to think about the myth yet again trying to decide what I believed it meant. Most of the family truly believed in this evil owl and what it represented but as for me, it was just another tale to scare us into staying home. It wasn’t real, it couldn’t be. I could feel Izzy glaring at me and I didn’t want to meet her gaze. I didn’t want her to know that I was still worried about it because I didn’t want to feel stupid.

“It’s just a damn story to scare kids. Your so naive Gabi and everyone knows that, just proves how childish you really are. Your afraid of bird of all things, grow up.” She got up throwing on her clothes and the sweater that dad bought her years ago and slammed the door behind her. I wanted so bad to have someone to share this with, someone to tell me that they see and hear it too. I wanted it to be her like the old days. I have no friends and the closest neighbor was three miles away.

As a kid Izzy and I were close, she was my best friend so I never really needed another. The older she got the more annoying I became to her. Last year our father passed away, and that is when everything changed dramatically. She went from loving me a lot, to loving me a little, to now not wanting to be around me at all. She has graduated high school now, and mom doesn’t make her to much. The minute we wake up she leaves the first chance she gets. But hey, I get the whole farm to myself. It meant the world to dad, it made him feel proud for working so hard and being able to provide for his family while mom raised my sister and I. If he were here he’d sit out on the porch swing with me while listening to my crazy thoughts about the owl. He would probably wait for the perfect time to spook me when I wasn’t looking. I miss that the most. I don’t mean the soooking because I’m he really scared the shit out of me. He listened. But he was gone now and I have no tears left to cry and never amanyone to cry to anyway.

Tio Manny is my mother’s older brother and the story teller himself. He is the reason why I can’t sleep, the reason why I keep thinking about this damn owl. Im sure if anyone else spotted it, they’d be super excited and intrigued. But not us, not tio Manny. He’d probably croak. I closed my eyes and played the memory yet again. The story about the owl on the barn.

“This is the story of The Lechuza, the story of the evil witch lady who uses her black magic to shift into an owl and warns others of death to come!” I remembered his spooky voice and smiled at his desperate attempt to scare the shit out of us.

“She is an old witch with long nails that look like bear claws! She haunts those who have crossed her or caused harm, she flies to many places waiting for her next victim! She hunts the evil spirited and warns the innocent of tragedy to come. She hunts the children who do not listen to their parents! So never disobey your parents or your favorite tio Manny or else.... she WILL get you!”

I laughed a little knowing that he made that part upon hopes to keep us from being bad. And honestly, it worked. He was so dramatic and talked with his hands a lot, but I kinda liked that about him. It made it more believable and definitely more memorable.

“But there’s more! If you see The Lechuza and she doesn’t attack you, well then she is there to give you a warning. A warning of tragedy and a warning of death! Those who see her don’t live long after. Now go play kids, and remember, she is always watching you!”

I opened my eyes and fear filled my body the same way it do that night. This can’t be true, I mean it’s just a stupid story right? I was torn between what to believe. The story that so many people seriously live by, or the sensible fact that a woman slash witch slash shape shifter sounded like huge a pile of shit. I did my best to ease my mind though, tio Manny kept turning to me as we tending to the farm. I quickly pulled out my phone and blasted music through my headphones and before I knew it, the days work was done just like that. I even forgot about the whole thing. Until the sun went down....

“Tio Manny, can I talk to you for a sec?” I sat down next to him when we got inside, trying to keep my cool.

“Que paso mija? You ok, you look a little stressed, you thinking about your father?”

“No Tio, I mean yes I’m fine, I’m probably just over thinking it, but I’ve been seeing something at night outside of my window. I remember you telling us a story years ago about this and I know I always believe everything I hear but I really want to know if you do.”

“Oh mijita, but I’ve told hundreds of stories to you kids, I’m an old man now, I don’t remember much anymore.”

I took a deep breath as if I were about to tell him I’m pregnant.

“Well, it’s been about a week now that I’ve seen it. I looked out of the window to see what it was, it was staring at me. Its is always staring at me. A big owl, sitting right on the barn.”

Uncle Manny sat there as I told him this, his head slowly raised up and his eyes widened as soon as I said what it was.

“Gabi, do you know what this means? Th-This is no good, this is a message from the bruja!” He was now on his feet being the theatrical man he was and my mother ran in to see what the commotion was about.

“Manny don’t start! I heard everything, it’s just a myth. It’s not true. It was a story told to all of us when we were kids. It’s nothing Gabi I’m sure of it. Maybe he likes the farm or maybe its hurt and can’t leave.”

Mom was such a positive person and never feared anything. But my Tio Manny was filled with worry.

“I’m sorry, for asking tio, I was just curious. I’m sure it’s nothing, I’m gonna get some sleep ok?”

I turned and walked up the stairs, I felt bad for bringing it up and instead of making it better I made it worse. Before I made it to the top of the stairs I heard someone whisper my name. It was my tio.

“Gabi, you have to be careful. You have to pray, do not let this Lechuza sense your fear. She feeds off of fear, you must pray.”

Before I could respond, my tio quickly made his way to his room with a look on his face that sent shivers down my back. Then I thought of Izzy and how she would never be afraid, she was just like mom. I missed her today. Should I figure out a way to get rid of it or will that curse me for the rest of my life? I just wanted to talk to Izzy, even though she hated me. I looked at th clock. 8:00pm. She is late. Izzy is always home by 7:00 to binge watch her favorite show. Maybe she is with a friend and fell asleep. Before I could think of another possibility, there was a soft knock on our bedroom door. It was mom.

“Gabi, have you heard from your sister? It’s getting pretty late and she has the car. I’m beginning to worry but you know how your sister is, I don’t wanna be a bother.”

Mom sounded so concerned and I hated seeing her worry. She had already been through so much this past year. We all have.

“No mom, I sent her a couple of messages but nothing so far.”

“Ok my girl, oh and uh.... don’t let your tio scare you mija. He is an old man who is stuck in his ways. He has always believed in the stories he tells but he doesn’t know. Get some sleep.” she said while closing the door behind her.

9:00pm. Still no Izzy. By this time my mom was passed out and tio was still in his room. I have now called her three times and have been sent to voicemail. Just as I began to panic about her not returning home, there it was, that horrible cry coming from outside. I quickly turned off my lamp and slowly walked to my usual spot. I pulled the curtain back just enough to look out, and there sat the owl on the barn. For some reason the birds cry seemed louder and longer and its white feathers appeared to be black as night. I could see the glow of its eyes and it was staring right at me.

“Stop it Gabi, your overthinking this. Izzy is probably at a friends house and fell asleep, she will be fine. And that, that is just a bird, a stupid bird.”

I continued to reassure myself even though my stomach was in a knot. I know we don’t get along, but I don’t think I can handle losing someone again. I began to pray, over and over for the safety of Izzy and for the bird to go away. Only minutes had passed but it felt like hours. I waited for another cry but the owl was silent and hadn’t made a sound. Is it gone? I’d have to get up and take a look, and so I did.

I approach the window and look out, I realize that the creature was not in the usual spot. Confused, I closed the curtain and turned my back and all of a sudden I heard a loud swoosh. I fell to the floor startled by the sound and turn to face the window. Right on the pane sat the most horrifying creature who was now only feet away. I suddenly felt numb, I couldn’t move or scream. All I could do was try to keep calm and catch my breath. This creature had nails that were so long, something I’ve never seen. It was bigger too. Way bigger than the days before. I slowly stood up to try and escape this creature. This bruja.

“Go away, get out of here!” I cried out. “You are not welcome here! I am not afraid of you!”

But I was, and she knew I was. From the corner of my eye I could see her turning her head in a complete circle. Her ace was no longer that of an evil owl but of the witch of black magic and she was staring at me with a grin. A grin that I will never forget in my lifetime.

“Ahhhhh!” I screamed at the top of my lungs hoping that Tio or mom would hear me. Nobody came. All I could think to myself was, she was real, Tio was right. It was a Lechuza, coming to warm me of something horrible. But what? I ran to my door and flung it open and began to run. Before I reached the stairs to go down to my mothers room, my feet slid on the hallway rug and I tumbled down hitting my head. My body was in so much pain and I slammed my head while tumbling down. I was losing consciousness and my vision was so blurry. I prayed that mom or tio would find me, I hoped I wasn’t dead or badly hurt after hitting my head as hard as I did. I couldn’t speak and my eyes slowly started to become heavy, I couldn’t keep them open. I could see the figure of the evil Lechuza at the top of the stairs with the same grin that was burned inside of my mind. With no strength to run away and save my family, with no way of knowing where Izzy was I began to panic and blacked out. I fell into what seemed like the deepest sleep and all I knew was that I did not want to wake up.

Knock knock knock!

Manny get the door! I’m trying to get this damn phone to work I need to find Izzy! I swear she is grounded when she gets home, I’m late for work!”

I opened my eyes to the sound of my mothers voice. She sounded worse than she did last night. And Izzy was still not home. My head was killing me and the rays from the sun filled living room was making it worse. I was moved to the couch and had a bag of thawed out peas on my head. Tio must have moved me here. I heard his heavy footsteps make his way to the front door as my mother peaked around the corner to see who it was. A feeling of sadness filled me up as I lay there seeing her face. She had the same look when we lost dad.

Two men followed tio into the kitchen over to my mom. I then realized they were police offficers and immediately prepared for the worst. My mother looked up and as she lay her eyes on the men standing before her, the blood rushed out of her normally blush red cheeks and she was as white as a ghost.

“Good morning Ma’am, nice to meet you. I’m sorry to have to inform you of this, but there’s been an accident. Are you the mother of Izabella?” He asked with a saddened tone.

“She’s ok right? Please tell me she is ok!” cried my mother.

The silence of the man answered the question without words and I knew then that she was gone.

“Witnesses have made statements about seeing your daughter in town coming towards home when a large flying object landed on her windshield, she lost control and...” he hesitated. “We did everything we could. I am so sorry.”

I began to breath heavily and I could hear my heartbeat pounding. I slowly turned to look at tio, and tio was looking right back at me.

“The owl on the barn.” I whispered.

Tears rolling down his cheeks my tio nodded his head and made his way to his bedroom.

“The owl on the barn, the story.... it is real.” I whispered as the men turned to make their way out.

I sat in shock not able to process what we were just told. It isn’t true, she isn’t gone. I know she hates me but I love her, she wouldn’t leave us. I cried and cried while trying to pick my mother up from the floor and I was suddenly so angry.

“I’m gonna kill that fucking bird!”

The officers pulled out of the long driveway and I quickly turned to the spot where we were never allowed to be. The gun room. I grabbed the key to unlock the door and pushed it open. My mother pleaded with not to do this.

“Gabi!”she yelled.

Before she could stop me I was already out of the front door with a shotgun in my hand. I turned to my mother who stood sobbing in the doorway. I thought about Izzy and I thought about Dad, all I had was my mother now. And I’ll be damned if I lose her too.

I had to kill this owl.

She continued to yell out for me to return home, but nothing could change my mind. The sun suddenly wasn’t as bright, my hands gripped the shotgun while my eyes looked around in every direction. I stood there looking up trying to see clearly and quickly turned my attention to the farm. I walked out of the bush filled sanctuary and there she sat, perched on the barn, eyes glowing and feathers as black as night. My body went stiff and I couldn’t move but I was determined to do this. I stood silently while she spread her large black wings and she leaped from the barn, right down to me. I closed my eyes and and pulled the trigger. The power of the shot blew me back taking every breath out of me and throwing me to the ground. I felt paralyzed, my mind was telling my legs to move but I wasn’t able to get up. I lay there with my eyes were blurry from my tears. I didn’t know if the owl in the barn was dead or alive. Then I heard tio Manny.

“Gabi, Gabi! Wake up mija, you did it... she is dead! Wake up Gabi.” He pleaded with sorrow in his voice.

With all of the strength that I had left I was able to squeeze his hand to assure him that I could hear his voice and that I knew I did it. But in my head I was overcome with the whispers of the Lechuza spirit.

“You shall sleep forever and ever, no life shall live inside of you, no mercy shall be given to you for you have taken the life out of me. You were warned, and now I curse you and take away a life for a life.”

My eyes grew heavy, my heartbeat slowed and I felt the warmth in my body becoming cold. I was losing control and struggled to stay awake. I whispered one last message to my tio Manny.

“I did this for my Izzy, I love you and mom so much.... I’m sorry.”

I was ready to sleep forever and did not want to wake again. I closed my eyes while taking my final breath and accepted my fate.

Until his final days, tio Manny made sure to keep my alive. He told the kids the story of the girl who killed The Lechuza.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.