Horror logo

It's in the Woods

You never know what's out there until it's too late.

By zachary iliffPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I’m a 40-year-old construction worker, and I just bought a house up in the wooded area of my town. The reason why I bought it was because it is mostly secluded, neighbors are spread out, and the nearest grocery store is about 25 minutes away. I don’t like people all that much. So it was the perfect buy for me. However, I just put it back up for sale, there’s something out here with me, and I don’t want to go back to that place; I’m staying in a hotel for now.

I have only lived there for a month, and there were only about six nights out of that month where something strange didn’t happen. The first night that I lived there, someone or something was in the house with me; now I live by myself. The house is a one-bedroom with a kitchen and a bathroom, and I didn’t have any known visitors. I could hear footsteps going back and forth from the kitchen to the hallway just outside my door. When I opened my door to go check it out, there was nothing there. So at that point, I just figured I was hearing things and just freaking myself out. However, in the morning, I found someone abnormally large bare footprints. Like we’re talking like size 22 feet here, I was impressed this thing wasn’t tripping over their own feet. Once I got past that though, I realized that there was something in my house. That’s when I went to the store and bought some security cameras. I had to see what was going on.

Now throughout the next two weeks, I would be checking my cameras nightly and always catching a little something. Someone or something would be walking through my yard, and the reason I say something because of the size and dimensions of this thing. It was probably about 7’2” and weighing a hefty 135 pounds. As you can imagine, it looks ridiculous. Then, just last night, my security camera catches something just outside of my yard standing in the trees. It’s still light outside, and I can see more of it. Whereas before, it would only show up late at night. So, what I decided to do was go out there and try to confront this thing somewhat, and from my back porch, I yell to it, “What are you doing out here? Why are you here?” I can make out the features of its face, it looked human, but it wasn’t. It smiled back at me, but the smile was just a little too wide; it had no nose and no eyes that I could make out. That’s when it started moving towards me, taking giant steps. In a matter of seconds, he was halfway to me, so I ran back into the house and locked the door behind. I ran to the window to look around to see where it was, but It was gone.

Then instantly, I hear a loud knock on my door, but I don’t see anything there. Then, it starts to bang wildly on the door; I can see it now, it’s trying to open my door, but it cannot. It starts ripping at the outside of my house, tearing the wood right off the house; I swear it was to about to pull the door right off of its hinges, then silence, like there was never anything there. I open the door, look at the house, and there were numerous gouges in my door and the walls of the house, but no sign of that thing anywhere. Until I walk back to my house and lock the door, I turn around from the door, and there it is standing right behind me, with that horrible smile across its scarred face. I couldn’t move from the terror, it then reaches out and grabs me and lifts me as if I was nothing and pulled me close to its largemouth, and it says to me. “What are you doing out here? Why are you here?” it sounded just like me, slightly a little distorted. I started screaming, it then smiles widely at me again, then throws me against the wall, and I lose consciousness. When I awake, it was gone. Then so was I, I left all of my shit in that house, and I’m not going back there. To the next owner of this house, please demolish it, because that thing does not want us out there.

Like

About the Creator

zachary iliff

I am an aspiring horror writer ready to push the limits and meet some really great people.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.