Horror logo

Indian Leopard

Part 1 of 3

By J. K. AndersonPublished 4 months ago 4 min read
1
Indian Leopard
Photo by Bibake Uppal on Unsplash

LEOPARD-

I laid on my stomach sinking my teeth into the juicy goat before me. Each bite was tastier than the last as I ripped the skin and flesh off of my dead prey. I paused, sensing someone coming.

“Hey Mom! Can we have some?”

My energetic children came running from out of the bushes. I growled indicating this was mine and I wanted all the meat I worked for. My kids reluctantly obeyed and layed next to me, salivating at the sight of the red pulsing blood that leaked into the sandy ground.

“Oh fine, here's the rest. I’ll bring this leg to your brother.”

“Thank you!”

They jumped with joy and immediately began feasting on my kill. I used my powerful legs to hold the goat in place as I ripped off its limb with my jaw. Then I dragged it through the dirt to bring to their injured brother. With a last look back I was happy to see my kids happily gnawing at the tender flesh of the tasty goat. Then I continued past the bushes toward the den and their brother. It was not far, and I would be quick to return to my other children.

HUMAN-

“Are you serious! How could you let this happen!”

“Dad I’m sorry, I can’t fight a leopard so I ran and left the goat.”

“You're a pitiful excuse for a son. That was the last of our income. I can’t believe you would lose our last goat.”

“Dad, I’m sor–”

“Don’t even speak to me. I go and work so hard for you, just for you to betray me.”

The exhausted and now broke father headed to his drawer and pulled out a small rusty revolver that still worked fine.

“Dad, what are you gonna do?”

“I’m gonna kill it, and then take back what’s left of it and use it for dinner.”

“It’s too dangerous Dad, stop!”

“Move!”

The father threw his son out of the way and slammed the door shut behind him. The son layed against the wall and began to cry.

“I’m sorry Dad.”

LEOPARD-

It was dark, I had spent more time with my son than I anticipated. Suddenly, I flinched in fear as I heard a loud bang. I snarled at the sound and growled to warn of my talents. Then I remembered.

“Wait, the kids!”

The mother instantly sprinted off without another thought heading back to his young in a swift sprint.

“No, please no.”

HUMAN-

“He let a couple cubs take my goat? No, he said it was big. I’ll keep looking.”

The two leopard cubs laid motionless on top of the goat carcass. Each with a bullet in them, they were killed instantly. The father kept searching, circling around the area with a raging fury.

LEOPARD-

I jumped through the bushes with a roar extending my powerful front legs ready to swing. But landing on the dirt, before him I saw my dead children.

“Jorn? Gore? Are you all right.”

I slowly walked over to them trying to pretend it wasn’t true. Looking in every direction for the origin of the bang. As I got to my children, I licked them on their soft adolescent heads with a hope that my instincts are wrong. But I’m not ignorant, I know they are dead. My claws tore at the dirt and my fangs showed as my mouth curled up ready to kill whatever human did this.

BANG!

Without a second thought I dashed back to my remaining son in a panic. Only arriving to see his wounded body, two bullet holes one in the neck and the other in the abdomen.

“Mother, I’m sor–”

And without finishing his sentence, my son died. I licked him and just laid with him for a moment. Trying to embrace his last moments of warmth.

HUMAN-

“That will show any leopard not to mess with me and my goats.” On his way out of the area he picked up the bloody goat carcass leaving the little cubs behind. It was not a long way back home.

“Here.”

He tossed the bloody goat to his son as he entered back to his village.

“Cut that up.”

“Uh, okay.”

The village they lived in was home to around 240 people and a couple miles out away from the jungle. The attack happened not even a mile away from the village. The village had encountered leopards before but they were usually scared off before anyone or thing was killed. No one felt a huge pressure from the wildcats around them. Thinking they are afraid of guns, fire and all the people.

LEOPARD-

After laying with my son I headed back to the others. I saw that the goat was gone, yet they still laid there soulless. So, I picked up my fallen young and laid them with their brother before leaving their side. My eyes filled with rage, hate and hunger. This was the night the village would come to fear the Indian leopard greater than their own gods. This was the night I showed all people just how terrifying I can be. No one will escape my wrath. And so, I headed to the village to claim my revenge.

CONTENT WARNINGurban legendslasherpsychologicalmonsterfictionart
1

About the Creator

J. K. Anderson

An author tied to the belief that Christ is YHWH. Open minded and eager to show my wild imagination to all people. I'm not a happy writer but I'm happy to write. Doing it all for fun and a distraction from reality.

Thanks for stopping by :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.