Horror logo

In The Mirror

A day Too Early

By Laydee BPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
In The Mirror
Photo by Klim Musalimov on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own; The reflection of a girl around my age. She stood smiling with sparkling dark eyes, full of mystery. Her background full of movement without sound. Interesting, to say the least.

"Come in." She urged.

It was hard saying no that day. It was almost as if she had me hypnotised, making me walk closer without breaking eye contact. She'd invited me in more then once but I told her no because it was weird that I had been talking to someone in the mirror. She reassured me that it was absolutely normal, it just wasn't a part of everydays conversations.

There's a thin line between being a genius and being a psychopath.

I was beginning to think that I was the latter. When she asked on the fifth day, I was happy to go in. In her world, everything seemed so much more easier and less complicated. I was carefree.

"I climbed onto my dresser and held on to her extended hand as I crawled in.

"You're going to have so much fun here, it's so much better than being out there!" Mirror girl boasted.

I never trusted people's words but joy oozed off of her and I wanted what she had. The world around us was bizarre; The grass was much greener, homes were made out of fruit, stone and candy. Trees danced in the wind to a low melody that was beautiful to the ears and warming to the heart. Children drove cars and flapped their arms like birds as some of them freely soared in the air. Dogs walked on their hind legs side by side as an equal to human rather than a pet. The birds didn't chirp but sang beautiful tunes and built their own houses. Dinosaurs still existed except they were friendly.

"How are they doing that?" I asked astonished as my eyes followed the people who were flying. "How are they doing what?" Mirror girl asked dumbfounded. "Flying?" I answered. "Oh, that's easy." She said, waving her hand. "If it's so easy then teach me." I pushed. "Oh, I don't mind but you'll have to stay until you learn. Are you okay with that?" Mirror girl asked. "Yeah, I'm okay with staying since your room looks just like mine."

And just that easily, I had practically handed my life to a phenomenon of another world.

On day one we practiced at a cliff where she said they all learned to fly on their fifth day. The only thing I learned was how to wiggle my arms and scream, almost like the initiation of a sorority group.

Day two was a little more interesting. A girl named Triangle told me that on the fifth day, I would be pushed off the cliff and stuck in their world because no one from the outside ever learned to fly in their world.

Day three was a celebration for brand new beginnings. Nothing new, nothing old.

Day four I was pushed off of the cliff which was a day earlier than what was expected. There were crowds of people, young and old who chanted something indecipherable. The foundation around me melted as gargoyles flew around me. I wiggled and flapped my arms with happy thoughts in my head as thunder roared around us.

Mirror girl was no longer that friendly face that invited me in but a sinister monster whose face had stretched and drooped beyond recognition as her eyes had formed into holes. A fire of her own surrounded her as she extended her hand but because she tricked me the first time, I refused to accept her hand and decided to let whatever was to happen, happen.

The freedom of my room is arms length away but I'm stuck looking at something that's unattainable. I am no more. I am her, mirror girl and she is me.

fiction
2

About the Creator

Laydee B

Like wine, my writing gets better in time. Here's my work, my thoughts all over the place... Let that sit!!! LOL!!! But seriously, I just really love to write!!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.