Horror logo

Immortal || Chapter 20

Chapter 20

By Sabal CloonanPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
Like

I wasn't on time in finding a hiding place. When I was just about to run out the kitchen, my mom caught sight of me.

"Oh, Natalie..." She said. "Could you put on some hot water for tea? These gentlemen would love some."

I slowly turned around, my gaze to the floor. "Of course."

I tried my best to not look them in the eye as I prepared the water and tea cups.

"I like sugar in mine," the deep voice said.

I nodded as a chill went through my body. This was not happening... I glanced at mom and she had a very unusual expression on her face. My eyes grew wide at this. I quickly turned away as one of the men was staring at me.

"So, who is this girl you're looking for?" Mom asked them.

I heard movement.

"Here's a picture of her, ma'am," the deep voice replied.

My mom gasped. "But this is... Natalie?"

I dropped a tea cup on the floor, and it shattered. Turning quickly, I saw mom standing up with confusion in her eyes with a hint of fear. She held up a photo of me in her hands. The room suddenly felt tense as the men stood up from their seats. One grabbed my mom.

"Leave her alone!" I yelled, springing forward.

The other man grabbed me in a tight grip.

"How would you like to see what happens to those who mess with us?" He said, evil in his voice.

He held me tight and made me face my mom. Tears rolling down her cheeks. I felt a fear I've never felt in my life. They were going to kill us... They were going to murder my mom, in front of me.

The man holding my mom wrapped his strong arms around her waist and squeezed slowly, causing her to cry out in pain.

"No! Please stop! You're hurting her!" I yelled. "Let her go! Take me instead! Just leave her alone!"

They both laughed loudly.

"Oh, no," the one holding me said. "We're going to let you watch this."

I was crying harder now as I struggled to get away from my captor. But his grip was too strong. The more I struggled the tighter his grip was around my body. It hurt so much. My arms, my ribs, my chest... My heart. These cruel people. Absolutely cruel people. And Johnathan was nowhere around... He promised me he would protect me. Protect my mom. But he was nowhere in sight.

I was pulled out of my thoughts with a sudden scream from my mom. I focused and saw the man holding her was bleeding from his neck. A total shocking expression was over my mom's tear stained face as the man fell to the floor, dead.

The man holding me suddenly threw me into the cabinets, knocking the wind out of me for a few seconds. The man jolted forwards towards my mom who was standing there confused and scared. He didn’t even get but a few feet from her when I saw him fall to the floor dead.

Mom suddenly screamed and ran towards me, wrapping her arms around me shakenly. I held her tight, looking over her shoulder. Johnathan stood there, his fangs and fingers dripping with blood. His eyes red as blood.

"Oh my..." I started to say.

He placed a finger over his lips indicating for me not to say anything. I nodded and focused on my mom.

"Mom, I need you to listen... We can't stay here... We need to leave. Now," I instructed, helping her to her feet.

"But what about the bodies?" She asked, as I ushered her through the kitchen and up the stairs. "We can't leave them here... We have to call the police."

We couldn't call the police. They would ask us too many questions. They would see that these men weren’t human and start to send out a search party for more.

"Right now, we need to leave," I repeated.

She finally agreed and we packed a bag or two and left for Johnathan's house. This just got serious. Very serious.

It wasn't long till we finally pulled up to the Catcher Manor. Mom was in total awe at the sight of the huge building before her.

"Natalie," she said excitedly. "Do you know how much history this place has? It had burned down a long time ago killing everybody inside."

I quickly looked at her. She knew the history of the manor? Could this be a good thing or a bad thing? I guess only one way to find out.

"Mr. Catcher was known for helping out vampires back in those days. And one of the vampires didn't believe that Mr. Catcher was trying to help them. He thought he was setting them up to be slaughtered. And the Council wasn't happy with Mr. Catcher for helping such people, so The Council raided the manor and killed all the vampires. Even killed Mr. Catcher."

I noticed as we climbed out the car that she said nothing about Mr. Catcher's son. I wondered to myself if she knew about him...

Just then, the front door opened, and Johnathan's uncle stepped out to greet us with a warm smile and friendly handshake.

"Welcome, Mrs. Havens," he said, taking her hand in his and giving it a gentle kiss. "My name is Caven Catcher. Welcome, Natalie. Mrs. Havens, your wonderful daughter spends a lot of time here. She has taken a liking to my nephew, Johnathan. And he has taken quite a liking to her as well. Why don't you please come in? I expected you two to be here tomorrow."

As I was the last person to enter, I caught Johnathan's uncle glancing at my mother in a strange way. I gave him a look and shook my head. Something tells me he was up to something. When he closed the door behind us it made a loud bag causing both of us to jump.

"Oh yes, well... something came up and Natalie insisted we leave and head here," Mom said looking around. "I absolutely love this place! The history behind it really interests me."

His uncle smiled and looked around himself. "Ah yes. So much history that lurks within these walls. I'm sure you've heard about the fire and death of a lot of people including Mr. Catcher... and his son."

Mom looked at him confused. I knew he was planning something... he was even starting to worry me a little. I gave him a look so he would shut off the subject. But just then Johnathan walks down the stairs. A warm friendly smile on his face.

"Welcome, Natalie and Mrs. Havens," Johnathan said, giving mom and myself a hug. "So glad you two can make it. Natalie told me something came up and you both wanted to come here as soon as you could. I'm glad to have you both. Stay as long as you like."

Mom smiled and nudged me playfully. "Such a charmer, aren't you Johnathan?"

"So was his father," his uncle added, only to receive a look from his nephew.

"Where is your father? I've been meaning to ask although it's none of my business," mom said with a wave of her hand.

"He is no longer with us," Johnathan said, giving me a wink. "He passed away a long time ago."

Mom closed her mouth and stared at the floor. This was probably the most awkward I've ever felt in my life. Not only did we nearly get killed by freaks of nature, but I believe Johnathan's uncle is flirting with my mom. Vampire thing?

"Let's get you two settled in then we can have dinner," Caven said, motioning us up the stairs.

I shot Johnathan a worried glance as I went up the stairs. I suddenly felt his breath on my neck as he whispered in my ear.

"Don't worry. I'll keep Uncle in line," he said, running his hand down my back and giving me a gentle shove.

I smiled. I finally felt safe. If Johnathan was around and kept his strange uncle in line, I was fine staying here. But I wouldn't trust leaving his uncle and my mom alone. Something was very offsetting about him for some reason. And yet I can only think back to when I asked if he let Jacob go.

Strange indeed.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sabal Cloonan

Inspired reader, writer, musician and artist. My passion is in my works.

Stay up-to-date by following my stories at: https://www.facebook.com/renfestlovrr/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.