Horror logo

Immortal || Chapter 17

Chapter 17

By Sabal CloonanPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
1

I knew I had fallen asleep in a curled-up position... But I just didn't know for how long. I woke up to the feel of someone touching my arm. Jumping, I stared into Johnathan's uncle's eyes.

"Hello, miss," he smiled softly. "What are you doing in the corner? Come. Johnathan is asleep in his room and I'm pretty sure you would like to see him."

He helped me to my feet and led me out the room and down the hall to Johnathan's room. We stopped at the door and his uncle softly smiled as he slowly opened the door to allow me in.

Tears filled my eyes as I saw Johnathan laying there, motionless. His breathing even and his face peaceful.

"I knew you shouldn't have gone... You almost died you fool," I whispered, rubbing my runny nose with my sleeve.

"And you shouldn't have been there," I hear his uncle behind me. "You were lucky I found you missing from your room when I did. I showed up just in time. He was going to kill you."

I turned and looked at him. He had a far off look in his eyes. I knew he was right. I shouldn’t have gone. But I couldn't just sit in my room while he was out there! So, I took action. And nearly killed myself in the process.

"But I give you props," his uncle added with a wide smile. "All my life of knowing him and him knowing and liking girls in his life, you're the only woman who went into the battlefield for him..."

"I had too... He was fighting for me," I said, a catch in my throat.

I looked into the face of the vampire that I've secretly fallen for. Yes, I'm admitting my feelings now. What else can I do? I've never felt this way before, and I kind of like it. He was special. I wasn't sure if it had something to do with what he is, how he makes me feel, or how he treats me. But it was something special. Something that made him special. He was like a precious rare gemstone.

I smiled softly. He was home for me. My hiding place.

"Will he be okay?" I asked, breaking the silence.

"He just needs rest is all. He's a vampire, he can heal fast," his uncle stated, heading out the bedroom. "I'm going to make tea. Feel free to join me."

I nodded and glanced at Johnathan one last time before following his uncle out of the bedroom. As soon as I made it into the parlor, his uncle had the tea ready. He handed me a cup and sat down in a large red leather chair and sipped his tea patiently.

I joined him by sitting on a deep red leather loveseat across from him.

"So, what happened when I left?" I asked, sipping my tea carefully.

"He got away," he said calmly.

I stared at him in shock. "Did he get away or did you let him get away?"

He glared at me over the top of his tea cup. A look in his eye that made me cringe. I started having doubts about him because of this. From what I heard and kind of saw, Johnathan's uncle is a powerful being.

"He just," he paused. "Got away."

I sighed and finished my tea and looked at the grandfather clock behind him against a wall. It was 3 in the morning and I started feeling tired.

"You might as well stay here," his uncle said standing up and offering to take my tea cup. "It's too late to be driving at this time. Just call your mother and tell her you're spending the night at a friend’s. No lie."

I nodded and went to my room. My thoughts were all over the place. Was Johnathan's uncle evil? The way his body language was when I asked if he let Jacob get away was off set and unsettling. Something just didn't seem right.

I closed the bedroom door and leaned against it and let out a big sigh. What was happening? Why me? Why now? I was getting my education. I had my entire life figured out. I was happy not liking someone. Now I've met him, Johnathan Catcher. A vampire.

What do I do now?

________________________________________________

Johnathan’s POV

"You know just because she acts like she doesn't care, she really does," I hear my uncle's voice ring through my ears as I slowly opened my eyes the next morning.

Sunlight peeked through the deep red curtains hanging above the floor length windows in my room. Did I sleep? That was unusual.

I rose up to see him standing by an open curtain, looking out into the morning, a pipe blowing smoke in his mouth. He turned and faced me with a smile.

"She went to save you last night... From Jacob. Almost got herself killed because she was found out. Luckily, I got there just in time," Uncle added, puffing smoke out of his mouth.

I looked down at my covers. "I told her to stay here."

Uncle shrugged. "Her feelings are just too strong to stay away from you. She spent the night in the house. Left early this morning. Her mother was worried."

Rubbing the side of my face with my right hand, I slowly crawled out of bed.

"What happened with Jacob?" I asked, quickly looking at him hopefully.

He shook his head. "He got away."

He got away? My uncle was a strong vampire... How could he just get away? Unless Jacob has gained strength over the years. Uncle is lazy at times. Only when he wants to be. But I guess I should count my blessings. He saved Natalie. And for that I am grateful. Yet at the same time full of regret because it was not I who could save her.

"Don't beat yourself up. She did warn you not to go. And I, myself, knew you were no match for him. You let anger get the better of you. That clouds your judgement."

He made his way next to me and put a reassuring hand on my shoulder. "She's safe now. Get cleaned up and go find her."

I nodded as he left the room. His demeanor was different and off. But I shrugged it off and cleaned myself up before leaving.

___________________________________________________

Natalie's Pov

I was totally zoned out. I didn't even hear the plans my friends were making for a party that they just came up with. I was set on last night's events. It was so scary. I almost lost Johnathan... Almost lost my life. Then his uncle appeared out of nowhere. The look in his eye when I asked if he just let Jacob get away kept playing in my mind.

"Hello? Natalie, are you listening?" Carol asked, snapping her fingers in front of my face.

I focused my vision and looked at her and Lukas. "Oh yeah... Party?"

Carol giggled. "There you go again, zoning out. Thinking about that cutie Johnathan again?"

I shook my head and saw Lukas's facial expression change. "Not at all. He's annoying."

"Am I now?" Johnathan's voice filled the classroom.

My body tensed and I didn't move. But I sure felt his eyes on me. I then heard a chuckle and felt his firm hand slap my back.

"One of these days, I'll win your heart, Miss Natalie Havens," he laughed and sat in his seat.

I turned and looked at him annoyed. "My heart isn't a prize to be won."

"That a girl! You tell him," Lukas cheered.

The look Johnathan gave him scared me a little. Was that jealousy? Or instinct of a territorial vampire?

Just then the teacher came in and our today's lesson began. I literally couldn't wait for graduation! It was around the corner and I was ready to be done with school until college... I doubted I even wanted to go to college.

I slammed my head on my arms that were crossed on top of the desk. What did I want to do with my life? Everything was changing. I was friends with a vampire and yet I grew up believing they were myths. What is happening?

I raised my head up and stared out the window. I squinted because I wasn't sure if I was actually seeing what I was seeing or if it was some kind of weird illusion. I looked at Johnathan to see if he saw it but he was just listening to the teacher ranting on about historical stuff I guess. I saw someone else look out the window but didn't have a reaction.

I looked again and saw it wasn't there. I was getting ready to turn away when something caught the corner of my eye. When I looked in that direction, whatever it was stood closer, staring right at me. I squealed and fell out of my seat. Creating an uproar in laughter from the class. Carol, Lukas, and Johnathan looked at me worriedly. What was that...?

"Alright, quiet everyone. Natalie, get up and sit outside in the hall," the teacher said pointing to the door and shaking his head.

I did as told. A little shaky... Was that really an illusion?

fiction
1

About the Creator

Sabal Cloonan

Inspired reader, writer, musician and artist. My passion is in my works.

Stay up-to-date by following my stories at: https://www.facebook.com/renfestlovrr/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.