Horror logo

Immortal || Chapter 15

Chapter 15

By Sabal CloonanPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
Like

Saying goodbye to Natalie was probably one of the hardest things I've ever done. For there was no telling if we would see each other again. And this scared me and I knew it placed fear inside her as well. All my life I had never cared or loved someone as much as I love her. She was the reason I felt alive even though I'm a vampire.

Mine and Natalie's last goodbye was tearful and heartbreaking.

"Please don't say goodbye," Natalie said with tears in her eyes. "Goodbye's mean you won't see that person again. I don't want that thought of not seeing you planted in my head."

"Then what do you wish for me to say?" I asked, caressing her face in my palms.

"Let's say 'see you soon' instead," she replied with a small smile.

I smirked and wiped away a fallen tear and kissed her forehead. As long as it made her feel better, I would do just that.

"As you wish. I'll see you soon," I smiled.

She returned my smile and nodded. I then turned to my uncle who placed a hand on my shoulder.

"Whatever you do, don't die," he said with a chuckle.

I nodded. "I'll try my best. I have someone worth fighting for as a matter of fact."

Natalie smiled at that then took a seat and bit her finger nails like she usually does when she's nervous. I took my uncle aside out of earshot.

"Watch out for her. If I don't make it back..." I began.

"You will," Uncle interrupted.

"I don't think so, Uncle. If I go down, Jacob goes down with me, I will not stop fighting until he is destroyed. He shall regret ever finding me and threatening the ones I care about. He got away last time. Took me and my father off guard. This time he will die."

My uncle glanced at me with a serious expression. "Don't bring that anger and hatred into battle, Nephew. That's what he's expecting. Go into battle to win the fight for Natalie. Revenge makes one weak."

He was right. My hatred for Jacob was so strong I had to be careful it wouldn't get in the way of what I was truly fighting for. Natalie. I was fighting to protect her.

"Don't worry," I smiled, placing a hand on his shoulder. "I shall win in the name of love."

"Cheesiest thing to say if I've ever heard one. But if that makes you feel better, go for it. Just... be careful. He may try to trick you and drive you to anger," Uncle said with seriousness.

I nodded once again and hugged him. I had a bad feeling I wouldn't come back... alive. Walking to the front door, Natalie grabbed hold of me from behind.

"Please, please come back alive," she whispered.

I squeezed her hand tightly. I couldn't promise anything. I never made promises I couldn't keep. And this was one of them. It didn't matter if I died as long as he died with me and I knew for sure Natalie was safe. Releasing my hand from hers. I walked out the front door into the night. This was it.

________________________________________________

Natalie's Pov

I watched as Johnathan disappeared into the night. This was it. The day of reckoning. I feared for his life. A bunch of 'what if's' flooded through and left me feeling anxious. What if he never came back? What if Jacob came for me if Johnathan lost? I couldn't bear it! I was on edge. It had only been at least four minutes since he walked out the door and yet here I was, walking back and forth in the parlor room nervous as a lonely mouse in the wide open for an eagle to snatch up.

"Could you please stop pacing, my dear," Johnathan's uncle remarked. "It's giving me a headache."

"Well pardon me for being scared," I retorted.

He huffed and lit his pipe and blew a few puffs. "Scared is for the weak."

"Well excuse me for being human. I don't know if you vampires have fear, but I certainly have no pride whatsoever in admitting when I'm afraid and when I'm not. Don't you understand that you could lose your nephew? Don't you get if he dies, you'll be doomed too? And me and my loved ones will be in danger. Who'll stop Jacob then? From what I heard he hates humans. And I'm pretty sure he'll try taking over this town, then the world. I don't know about you, but I surely don't want my world being ruled by evil vampires," I fumed.

He gave me a look as he puffed out a ring of smoke from his mouth. Shrugging, he opened up a newspaper that was sitting beside him on the side table. How could he be so calm about everything that was going on? Unless he hoped Johnathan lost...

I turned towards the stairs. "I'm going to lie down."

Walking up the stairs I watched to see if Johnathan's uncle was watching me. When I noticed he wasn't I took two stairs at a time and found a bedroom with an open window and balcony. I wasn't going to let Johnathan face Jacob alone. I could be of some help somehow!

_____________________________________________

Johnathan's Pov

It was almost 12 a.m. when I arrived at the graveyard where my body was buried a long time ago. Memories rushed through my mind as I remembered why I was buried here in the first place. I was careless when I was first turned into a vampire. So careless the townsmen found out about who I was, and they didn't like it. So, they hunted me down, caught me, and buried me alive. I guess no one ever mentioned how to kill a vampire.

And I had that very thing to do so to Jacob. A stake through the heart would turn his body into ash. And peace would finally be restored amongst the vampires towards the humans, hopefully. I knew Jacob placed so much hate in the vampires towards humans. I knew he probably had an army of blood thirsty vamps somewhere waiting for him to give the okay to take over the town. And I wasn't going to let that happen. Nor was I going to allow him to harm Natalie.

I found myself where I was buried. The tomb in which I was placed was empty. The door was wide open. An eerie cold feeling coming from within. Something didn't feel right.

"Ah, Johnathan Catcher," I hear Jacob's voice ring through my ears. Hair on my neck standing on end. "It's been such a long time since our final encounter."

I turned on my heel and faced him once again. He was still wearing the same clothes he was when I last saw him. I guess sometimes one never gets out of their ways of living. But me, I had to adapt to the modern days and change my whole attire completely.

"Not long enough, Jacob," I said.

I watched as he paced back and forth in front of me, as if reading my body language.

"Oh, come now. That's not a way to say hello to an old friend of your fathers. Speaking of him, how is he?"

"Dead... because you killed him. And me," I said angrily.

"Ah yes, I remember now. He broke his promise to all vampires. He deserved to die!" Jacob cackled. "And so, did you. But unfortunately, that maid of yours was hiding a big secret and changed you. But don't worry, once I found out about her, I destroyed her."

I clenched my teeth and balled up my fist. This man would never stop his evil unless I ended it!

"She was one of you, a vampire. And you killed your own kind?" I asked, reaching behind my back and wrapping my gloved hand around the stake.

"She betrayed the vampires by helping a human!" Jacob said loudly.

"My father was helping all vampires. If you would've just given him more time..."

"We had no more time! The Counsel was near! They would've killed us all. They did kill the biggest number of vampires on that night. But I took care of them all. The Counsel is no more. But now, my boy," he continued. "The Vampire Counsel has been formed. And we will enslave all humans. Including your precious Natalie."

My eyes grew wide at the mention of her name. He will not put a hand on her. Not him and not even his vampire counsel. I could feel the anger growing inside of me at the thought of Natalie being in the hands of evil vampires such as he. I would not have it. He will die before he gets to her!

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sabal Cloonan

Inspired reader, writer, musician and artist. My passion is in my works.

Stay up-to-date by following my stories at: https://www.facebook.com/renfestlovrr/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.