Horror logo

Immortal || Chapter 10

Chapter 10

By Sabal CloonanPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
Like

"Natalie, could you go to the car and get the case of coke out of the back for me?" Mom asked as she set up streamers on our little tent.

I nodded and headed to the car. Today's event was a cook-off BBQ party for the neighborhood. We were all gathered in the downtown area where other tents were set up and under were BBQ pits or huge pots. The smell of food filled the air, even all the way out to the parking lot.

I inserted the key in the back of the SUV and lifted the back. The case of cokes was sitting there.

"Hi, Natalie," I hear Johnathan's voice behind me.

I whip around and look into his blue eyes. Today was a bit colder today so he had on a hoodie and beanie.

"Oh, hi..." I said awkwardly, while I lifted the cokes out the back.

"Let me get that for you," he said, reaching for it.

When our hands touched, they felt cold as ice. I ignored it as we awkwardly walked back to the tent.

My mother was giving out instructions to two people who lived a couple of houses down from ours.

"Here's the coke, Mom," I said as Johnathan set it down on a table.

She looked and smiled but continued her directing.

"Is she usually this busy?" Johnathan whispered.

"Only during events like this," I said watching her.

"Natalie, could you and your friend go to the house and get that large pot in the garage for me, please?" Mom asked with a smile.

I stared at her for a minute. "I'm sure Johnathan has to be somewhere..."

"It's fine... I came to see you anyway," he smirked.

"Fine... let's go," I grumbled and stalked off.

When we were in the car, I could feel him staring at me.

"Got something to say?" I asked out of the blue.

"I just... sorry about yesterday. I was just... not feeling myself," he apologized.

I glanced at him. "I thought making people uncomfortable was yourself."

He chuckled. "True. But I've never gone as far in doing what I did to you."

I shrugged. "It's whatever, I guess. It happened, can't undo it. So why did you want to see me?"

He grew quiet after that question. As if he was thinking. When we finally pulled into my driveway, I pressed a button to lift the garage door but it wouldn't work.

"Guess we have to go through the house," I mumbled.

He just followed me to the front door and through the house. It was so awkward with him around. Especially in my house. What was his game? Here was that question again.

When I got to the door that led to the garage, I stopped and turned suddenly and looked at him.

"What?" He asked with a shrug.

"I'm just... I just... What game are you playing? You show up out of nowhere a lot... are you following me around or something?" I squinted at him and watched his facial expressions.

He shook his head then nodded. "Yes and no."

I rolled my eyes and crossed my arms. I don't think I'll get anything out of him today. I turned back to the door and walked into the garage.

"Okay... where's that pot?" I muttered to myself.

Looking around I saw it on a top shelf. Great... short people struggle. Placing one foot on the bottom shelf, my plan was to use the shelves as steps. But apparently the entire shelf was top heavy.

Letting out a squeal the entire shelf started to fall. I closed my eyes waiting for everything to come down on me.

"You're okay," Johnathan's voice rang through my ear soft and soothing.

Opening my eyes, I looked at the mess that I made and stared at him. His blue eyes staring into my soul.

"Did you just... how did you...?" I stammered.

When I lifted my hand to move hair out of my face, I noticed I had a cut on my hand.

"Oh great!" I said and stood up. "Grab the first aid kit over there on the wall and meet me in the kitchen."

He did as told and I was already in the kitchen quickly as a flash of lightning. Running the water, I put my hand under it and kind of squeaked. That hurt like hello kitty.

"Here," Johnathan had the kit opened with band aid and some alcohol.

I noticed he was staring at my hand weirdly. Staring into his eyes I noticed them change a reddish color. The same color they were yesterday when he was close to me.

"Johnathan, are you okay?" I asked, putting a hand on his shoulder.

"Yeah... I... uh.... have to go..." he said quickly turning.

"Wait! I need you to patch me up," I stopped him.

He turned around slowly. And kept his gaze to the floor. "I really have to go..."

I stared at him confused. What's his deal now? He was so weird. I am not going to have this...

"Are you afraid of the sight of blood?" I asked.

He then looked at me... his eyes shooting a familiar look. Where have I seen those eyes before? He started walking close towards me.

"Were you in my room last night?" I suddenly asked.

He looked at me confused.

"Pardon me?" He asked.

"Were you in my room last night? My window was wide open and I remember closing it..." I said, realizing that didn't make sense.

He chuckled. "I certainly didn't open it."

I looked down at my hand and played with the gauze and sniffed. "And uh... it's just your eyes... and last night I saw..."

I could feel him staring me down. My body started feeling hot. Oh God, I'm blushing again. Why am I feeling!?

"What about my eyes? And what did you see last night?" He had a hint of anxiety in his voice.

I took a deep breath. Should I tell him what I saw last night or would he react like my mother did?

"I saw something in my room last night. It had red eyes... and it came at me..." I sighed, still looking at my hand.

"Did it hurt you?" He asked, suddenly grasping my shoulders.

I looked up at him and noticed his eyes were a bit redder. His breathing was heavier and I could tell he was gritting his teeth.

"N-no... I hid under my blankets...wh..." he released me and went in the direction of the stairs.

"Hey! Where are you going?" I followed him to my room.

He stood there looking around, his breathing getting heavier. He was acting strange... stranger than usual. He balled up his fists and started... growling?

"Johnathan?" I said, it came out as a whisper. "You're scaring me."

"He was here..." I hear him mutter. "He's come back..."

"What are you talking about? Who was here? Who's come back? He who?" I scratched my head and then crossed my arms.

He finally turned around but looked at the floor. "I have to go. Get back to your mom."

With that he walked out the room and soon I heard the front door close. That was weird.

"He was here... he's come back." Those words raced through my head as I drove back to my mom.

What did he mean by that? I couldn't wrap my brain around it. The entire BBQ event I was just stuck in a daze. Not even caring what was being said or happening around me. Half the time I zoned out when Carol talked to me. I wanted to talk to her about it. But she would think I'm crazy. I would have to investigate myself. All investigations going back to the Catcher past history.

That's what I would do. Johnathan Catcher was a mystery to this entire town. From the moment he came to school that day to now. Especially for me. Everything weird seemed to have been happening around me... when he was around. And ever since I've met him.

I couldn't get his weird eye color out of my head. And he growled? Who growls and whispers things that don't make sense to themselves? Beside a crazy person that is.

"Dear, are you sure you're okay?" My mom asked, pulling me back to reality.

"Yeah, I'm fine, why?"

"Well you've hardly spoken ever since you got back. And you haven't even noticed we're heading back home. Also, your friend wasn't with you when you came back."

"Oh, he had a family emergency. And I'm fine, Mom. I promise. Just worried about... Johnathan," I found myself saying.

Well that was the truth, I guess. He was acting weird.

"Would you like to take the car tomorrow and go see him?" Mom smiled.

I knew that look all too well. She was playing cupid.

"That's fine. Thanks, Mom. And I'm not into him," I added.

She laughed and waved it off as we pulled into our driveway.

What a long and depressing day. I was so glad to be home. The shower and my bed were calling my name!

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sabal Cloonan

Inspired reader, writer, musician and artist. My passion is in my works.

Stay up-to-date by following my stories at: https://www.facebook.com/renfestlovrr/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.