Horror logo

I See Red

A Reimagining of "Little Red Riding Hood"

By UnchartedwatersPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

It's only 4 more blocks to grandmother’s house.

When I told my friends I was fine walking home from the bar alone, it was before Jake Wolff showed up. I had taken the same walk thousands of times before; 6 blocks down Main Street and then a right on Country Club and a left on James. If I had somehow lost my vision, I could make my way home from Finn’s without missing a beat.

But we locked eyes right before Jamie and Jessica left. Now I can hear his footsteps behind me as I try to quicken my pace but still keep it unsuspecting. I heard the rumors about Wolff. About how he preys on innocent girls who are dumb enough to walk home alone during the nighttime. But I always considered myself smarter than that. Tonight, I am questioning my clarity.

I have lived with my grandmother since I was a little girl. My dad left before I even said my first words and my mom had always been unreliable. My grandmother was a better parent to me than both of them combined. I never moved out because I couldn’t bear the thought of her living alone.

I wonder what will happen if I scream. I hold the banana bread I made earlier in my cooking class close to my body, like if I were to let go of it he would grab me. It was supposed to be a gift for grandmother. I’m too scared to turn around to make sure it's him and not just my paranoia.

I let out the air I’d been holding in my lungs to entire way home as I approach the cobblestone steps of my only home. My hands are shaking as I put the key into the keyhole. The door swings open and I am met with the safe and comfortable darkness that covers my grandmother’s entryway. As I close the door behind me, I turn around to see that my neighborhood is completely empty of figures running away or any movement in the slightest. Maybe I wasn’t Wolff’s prey tonight after all.

I slip off my shoes and quietly make my way up the stairs. I change into an old t-shirt and running shorts and wash all the makeup off of my face. I take a moment to look at myself in the mirror, examining the red shirt that hid my curves and made me look like a little girl again.

I decide to check on grandmother. She always wants me to wake her up when I get home so she knows I’m safe. I put on my raggedy slippers and pad my way down the hall to her room. The door is shut, which I find surprising since grandmother can never sleep with the door closed. It makes her feel trapped.

I question whether or not I should wake her up when I see her in peaceful slumber, facing towards the windows and away from me. I go up to lightly shake her, and I notice how strong her shoulders had gotten seemingly overnight. When she rolls over, I am met with piercing grey eyes instead of the deep blue ones I had come to know so well.

“Hello Red.” I barely have enough time to muster out a scream before a masculine hand clamps down around my mouth. “It’s nice to see you again.”

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Unchartedwaters

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.