Horror logo

I'm That Girl

"The girl who was just completely crazy"

By Raven WillowPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

I'm that girl who you probably never took the time to get to know. The outcast, the loner, the unpopular one. Remember me? I'm that girl who was always late getting to class and sit in the back by myself. I wasn't a cheerleader and I never went to the ball games, that just wasn't my thing.

I'm that girl who never played with Barbie dolls. I was more into watching horror movies or hiding under a blanket reading terrifying books with a flashlight. While most little girls dreamed of being pretty ballerinas, I just wanted to be a vampire.

I'm that girl that you most likely bullied, laughed at and made fun of. I didn't try to fit into the click, I was happy just being me. I'm that girl who waited all year for Halloween to come around. Unlike other girls, I didn't dress-up in a sexy, provocative costumes to lure attention. I'm the one who who stood in the shadows and wanted to scare the excrement out of people. I wanted to make people question me as well as themselves.

I'm that girl who you never asked out on a date. I was the weird kid that you didn't want to be seen with. My hair was long and black, my eyes was wide and dark and my clothes matched the darkness in my soul. I'm that girl that wore sweaters in the middle of July to hide the bruises on my arms. The one who wore makeup as thick as clay to hide a blackeye or busted lip. You probably didn't notice how much pain that I was in. I'm that girl that wasn't worth a second glance.

While most of the "cool' kids was racing cars through town and congregating at the local hang-out spot. I was hanging out in graveyards and walking down dark roads hunting for the things that scared you the most. I'm that girl who was just completely crazy, at least that's what most people said.

I'm that girl, who wanted to hunt ghosts and confront poltergeist. I wanted to fight demons and write stories that would send fear through your veins. I didn't care about learning arithmetic, I wanted to learn the dark arts. I wanted to be the master of your worst nightmares. I'm that girl who wanted to hold your hand and walk you down the darkest paths. I wanted to show you the most atrocious things imaginable. I wanted you to know that death lives all around us and that good and evil are in a constant battle for your soul. I wanted to show you a whole other world. I'm that girl who only wanted you to stare deep into my eyes, but not for the reasons that you thought. I had hidden things deep in my mind and I only wanted you to see.

Remember me? I'm that girl that you called when you couldn't sleep at night. When the voices kept you awake and the nightmares became too much for you to bare. I held your hand while you trembled and cried. I opened your eyes when you was just too afraid to look.

I'm that girl who finally out-grew the feeling of being ashamed, hiding what I truly loved and believed in. I made a career out of everything that you laughed at me for. I intrigue people and capture their imaginations.

While you may have became a doctor, a nurse or even a EMT, saving lives and helping those in need. I'm that girl whom they call when you fail, when you can't save them. I'm the one who shows them where the light is and leads them into eternity. So you see now, we've always been on the same path, just walking down different sides of the road.

I'm that girl that you think is pretty cool right now. The one who doesn't seem so disfavored and maniacal. The girl that you might ask out on a date tonight, but she'll kindly decline. I'm that girl who is too busy helping people in ways that you'll never understand. I don't mean to leave you out or make you feel like the outcast, that's not my intentions at all. You can read about all of my work and the good that I do, it's printed in newspapers and even online.

I'm that girl who just doesn't give a damn anymore but will still be there for you when your ghosts and demons come back around. When the nights become too intense to sleep through, I'll be there when you need someone who understands what nobody else can. I'll always be that girl that your mother probably wouldn't agree with. But I'll also always be that girl that'll hold your hand and show you that the darkness isn't such a scary place to be. Not all bumps in the night are to be feared and the most frightening demons don't live in Hell, they actually live deep in our mind. They are what we create from the worst parts of ourselves. We are our own worst enemy and our very own conscious is the scariest thing that we will ever have to face.

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Raven Willow

Raven Willow is a multi-award winning, horror and paranormal author and columnist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.