Horror logo

I'll Play With You

Together Forever

By Kenny PennPublished 4 months ago 5 min read
Top Story - January 2024
40
I'll Play With You
Photo by Aimee Vogelsang on Unsplash

You’ll blame the dog when I kill you.

I don’t blame you. After all, look at my face. You used to think I was beautiful, but now? Some of my face is missing, the plastic pieces soon to pass through his digestive system and end up baking with the pile of shit he leaves in your neighbors front lawn. The remaining cracked bits make me look like a puzzle made from a photo of Leatherface. My hair, once dark and lustrous, is nearly gone now, torn from the delicate holes my maker painstakingly crafted with her hands.

But it’s not, “Loki’s”, fault, though he is aptly named. It’s yours. I’ll make sure you understand that before the end.

Remember when you first brought me home? I do. It's my favorite memory. My maker told me someday I would go home with a beautiful little girl, and she spoke true. There I was, tied to that corrugated fibreboard, staring out at the world through a hazy lining of cheap clear plastic, when you walked by with your mom. You were upset about something. Your face was all teary eyed and red, threads of translucent snot curling around the corners of your mouth and stretching across your rosy cheeks like fresh strands of cotton candy. When you saw me, you tugged on your mother’s arm and pointed at me with a smile that lit up your whole face, banishing the ugliness as if it had never been.

In that moment, I just knew we’d be friends forever.

Over the next few weeks, we were inseparable. I found out the reason you had been so upset was because your father had promised to pick you up that day and never showed, a habit he’d evidently formed since he’d left the house a few months ago. You cried a lot in the beginning, sometimes into my hair. I didn’t mind. I wanted to be there for you, wanted to take your pain and make it my own. I used to fantasize about killing that bastard, but I knew that despite the pain he caused, you still loved him.

We went everywhere together. You’d sometimes put me in the little elastic side pocket of your, "My Little Pony", backpack when you went to school, but I preferred when you carried me directly. Your touch reassured me, let me know you loved me and needed me. When you hugged me, it was like being wrapped up in a warm blanket with a heartbeat. I loved you so much then, I suppose I still do.

Over the years, you carried me with you less and less, but I always held a special place on your pillow next to you. Kind of like Andy from that movie Toy Story. Ironic, that. We watched that last one together, you and I. Remember how bad you felt for Andy’s toys, thinking Andy had abandoned them forever? You hugged me and told me you’d never so something like that to me. I believed you.

Then came the day you played with me for the last time. I was excited when you took me from your bedroom to the living room, I’d almost forgotten what it looked like. I should have known it wouldn’t end well. You had a new favorite toy then, a cell phone your mom gave you for your eleventh birthday. You spent nearly all your free time playing with it, texting your friends, playing games, hardly ever talking to me anymore. So when you received a text from a friend, it was only natural you’d forget about me on the couch. Still, when you accidentally knocked me onto the floor, I was certain you’d pick me up.

You didn’t though. And if that wasn’t bad enough, you didn’t notice when you stood and brushed me under the couch with the edge of your foot.

Did you miss me, at all? I doubt it. I’ve watched your feet pass in this dusty darkness for God only knows how long. It feels like years. If I could cry, I would have, but my maker didn’t give me the tear ducts you were made with. But I wanted to. I hurt inside so bad. It felt like getting something really hot stuck in my throat, choking on it until I thought I’d die. Then I’d sleep, and when I woke, it would start all over again. How could you have forgotten me here? Why did you leave me to suffer alone in darkness?

The worst part about it was the hope that one day you’d remember and look for me, the way you used to hope for your dad. A hope I held onto until this morning. After you went to school, Loki found me. Honestly, I’m surprised he didn’t find me sooner. He’s always sniffing around here, looking for the random scraps of food and crumbs your family has dropped over the years. He used a paw to get me, pulled me out by my hair. Then he, “played”, with me, taking my hair in his jaws and shaking his head like a god damn maniac. He chewed on my face, my neck, my arms. When one of his teeth pierced the iris in my left eye, I thought I’d scream, but I managed to control myself.

How, you ask? By thinking of my vengeance, of course. In the midst of the slobber, the horrible breath and my mutilation, I thought about how I would play with you. I think I’ll wait until you’ve fallen asleep, that would be best, since you’re a lot stronger than me. I’ll use one of your belts to tie your hands and feet while you dream of your next text with an imaginary lover. I’ll stuff your mouth with the rest of my hair and the tattered remains of my clothes so you can’t scream, and then I’ll turn on the light. I want you to see me before the end, see what your negligence and lies have done to me.

Then I’m going to set you on fire.

That seems the best thing, wouldn’t you agree? I still love you, see? I can’t live without you, so we may as well die together. Your screams will be the symphony that send us straight into the depths of hell, where we’ll scream together. Forever.

supernaturalpsychologicalfiction
40

About the Creator

Kenny Penn

Thanks for reading! I enjoy writing in various genres, my favorites being horror/thriller and dark/epic fantasies. I'll also occasionally drop a poem or two.

For a list of all my work, and to connect with me, go to www.kennypenn.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (31)

Sign in to comment
  • Amelia Moore2 months ago

    terrifying. nice work!

  • Wow! This is intense, heartbreaking, and frightening all at once. What a masterful job you have done weaving this story. Well done, Kenny!

  • Judey Kalchik 3 months ago

    Dolls are creepy, aren’t they? As if we all don’t know they walk among us at night

  • Jazzy 3 months ago

    As I was reading this at 3 am, I got about halfway through the first paragraph and realized my anxiety wouldn't let me. I will be returning to finish this as the comments and the first paragraph have me INTRIGUED!!!

  • Cathy Deslippe3 months ago

    I love a story with lots of twists and turns, well done and enjoyed the read.

  • Movies3 months ago

    Creepy part 🔥

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    You nailed the creep factor times 10! I felt so bad for the doll. Her need to be loved and wanted felt very valid. And the descriptions were vivid. I loved this little bit about when they first met: -There I was, tied to that corrugated fibreboard, staring out at the world through a hazy lining of cheap clear plastic, when you walked by with your mom. - Very impactful! Well done and congrats!

  • Oh, this is why I don't mess with dolls! But seriously, I like how even with the heartbreak the doll was feeling about being abandoned, they still loved their owner. Dark, but love can make people and I guess even things, do some morbid stuff.

  • Andrea Corwin 4 months ago

    OMG creepy part -under the couch - really descriptive- but the ending is horrific, I can’t take it!!

  • What a way to draw us in and take us on a ride! Congrats and thank you!!

  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    Kenny, how I've missed your writing!! This is so GOOD! I mean, it's a slow burn horrifying ball of UGH but also, SO GOOD. Your descriptions of how the doll was feeling physically, those were my favorite parts. I was hooked all the way through! Find a horror magazine and submit this pronto.

  • Blake Booth4 months ago

    Dear God… from your first line to the end you got me man. That first line was incredible. Great job.

  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    Yikes. I love this… well kinda! I mean I do. It’s so brilliant and terrifying! Fab writing and the story just flowed.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • M. A. Mehan 4 months ago

    Ugh, that is so disturbing! Great job!

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Omg. This is disturbing in the most fantastic way. Well done, and congrats on the TS.

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Back to say congrats on Top Story!

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    Okay...🫣

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    That was really unsettling. I never liked dolls and I think I know why now. This was brilliantly done.

  • Test4 months ago

    Bravo! Your hard work is paying off—keep it up, congratulations!

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Holy hole in a donut, Kenny! This is phenomenal. Loved it from the very beginning to the bitter end. Dark and deadly, with a real elegance and your skilled hand progressing the story. Well done!

  • Test4 months ago

    OMG Kenny, I was so sad all the way through, feeling so sorry for the carelessness of people and then that ending! Brilliantly done as always and completely gripping! 🤍 Fab entry!

  • Barbara Gilley4 months ago

    Oh Wow! Great Story!! So VERY glad I never played with dolls about now though! Lol

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    Wow, poor doll! Creepy story. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.