Horror logo

How Can This Even Happen

My experience with the paranormal

By Horror OnlinePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
How Can This Even Happen
Photo by Steinar Engeland on Unsplash

Thank goodness! That knocking sound could only be heard at night, and then my boyfriend was at home. I wasn't afraid during the day. But nothing would be the same after this day in 1992.

Christian was at work, and the day was calm up to that point. I had already cleaned the whole apartment, and there was only the laundry left to do.

I sat on the couch and folded the towels. My favorite talk show was on, and I thought, perfect. Folding laundry was more fun when watching TV. We had a large living room cupboard opposite the couch. Two doors were missing in the middle, and our TV just fit perfectly into the open space. Next to it stood a sideboard that we used for our video recorder and our video cassettes. We didn't have a lot of storage and stacked our plates in it too. From the corner of my eye, I saw something moving on the sideboard.

Of course, I looked over, but everything was quiet.

I turned back to watch TV and there it was again. Something was moving. I was sure about it.

This time I didn't turn right back toward the TV. I watched the sideboard closely. What I then experienced took my breath away. Our plates slipped out of the commode. One after the other was lifted and skidded out of the sideboard. Each one landed the right way on the floor.

I was so scared and could not move. The food in the oven was burning, but I couldn't bring myself to turn off the oven or take the food out. I had to walk right by the sideboard to get into the kitchen. No way I would have gone by that thing.

I sat well-behaved on our couch and waited for my boyfriend. A few hours later, I heard the key in the lock from the front door. He was finally home, and with one jump over the side of the couch, I escaped the living room and ran right into his arms. I cried at first and was not able to tell him what was going on. When he finally calmed me down, we went together to the living room, where I told him everything. He was wondering why all the plates were on the floor.

He didn't know if I was crazy or just confused. He went to the sideboard to pick up the plates. I said to him. "Can you take the food out of the oven?" "We have to order something to eat, I guess.

I sat down next to the plates on the floor to pick them up. Then it happened. Every single plate I picked up broke. But not in several pieces. No, straight through. As if someone had cut the plate with a knife right in the middle.

My boyfriend saw everything and was horrified. We threw the plates away and used paper plates. We knew there was something wrong with the apartment, but we could afford another place. So we stayed.

It was now time to get to the bottom of the matter. I also knew who to ask, Michael, the previous tenant of the apartment. That wasn't difficult at all because it was Christian's uncle. So I waited until he came to visit again. At first, I didn't know how to start. Should I tell him what was going on in our apartment, or should I ask him if he had seen and heard things too. I just asked him. I asked him: "Tell me, have you ever experienced something that you couldn't explain in this apartment?"

He looked at me and said: "Yes, I did. But I didn't want to say anything. Christian sat down next to me, and his uncle started to tell.

"There were a few things that happened that scared me.

One evening when I was working on my motorcycle in the basement, I heard people talking and arguing. The voices came from the room where we stored the potatoes and other things. I listened and then wanted to see who was still in the basement. "

I followed the voices, and they got louder and louder. When I stood in front of the door, I hesitated to open it. But then I pushed the door handle down and gave it a push. The voices disappeared the moment I opened the door. "Nobody was in the room. That was shocking. I asked him if he knew who was making the noise. He nodded and said, "I think it's my father. He died a few years ago. When he was still alive, he played cards with his friends in the room." That explained a lot. But not everything. I was confused. I didn't think he'd hurt us, but you never know.

1

About the Creator

Horror Online

I am 46 years old and life since 2009 in the united states. I am originally from Germany. Horror and everything about it is my addiction. I also experienced a few paranormal events myself.

I think that is the reason I like it all so much.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.