Horror logo

Horror Writing Prompts Pt. 1

Are you looking to have a horrific time?

By CyCyPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
3

Purgatory

"Where is he?" "Where am I?" You seemed to be going in circles now. He was just with you moments ago before the accident. But when you woke up, he was not there. You tried searching for him over and over again. You were confused and hurt. And now, someone was hunting you too.

I See You

"I can see you," he says. I try to ignore it, as I go about my day. "I know you're there," he repeats for the third time this week as I hear his footsteps approach closer. I squeeze my eyes shut and draw in a large breath. This is all in my head. Maybe the solitude has finally broken me. Maybe my sanity can only last for so long. "I see you," he whispers as he gently touches my hand. His grey eyes meet mine as he smiles. I keep my mouth shut. This is all in my head. There is no way this is happening. I have been dead for years.

Be Careful Of What You Wish For

You have been praying for this. You wanted him to change. So, one day, he came home differently. He was everything that you ever prayed for...down to the last detail. Except he kept asking you to go see the same "doctor" that he saw to get his problems fixed.

The Monster On Your Bed

You don't know how long you have been hiding under there. Your limbs are numb. You're hungry. And you're scared that if you made a sound, the monster on your bed will find you.

The Marked One

"It's here." A whisper said. But no one else was around in the underground parking lot but you. Suddenly, the lights began flickering, and the air felt too hot to breathe. It was then you knew...that whatever it was, it was finally coming after you.

The Date

You and your online boyfriend have been speaking to each other for over a year now. Today, you both decided to take the next step and meet each other in person (you both have seen that TV show. Love conquers all...after all). You had everything prepared: the dinner, the music, and the movie you were supposed to watch together. But hours passed and still no show. Frustrated, you decided to give up and go to bed. Until you saw the text from him: "Great dinner and nice pajamas. Mind letting me in?"

The Mirror

You tried not to think about it. You even went as far as never looking in the mirror because you would see her whenever you did. Until one day, you accidentally glanced at a mirror. However, you didn't see her this time...you didn't see your reflection either.

The Dream

Your dreams have been weird lately. You started dreaming about a life that did not belong to you. It was like seeing through someone else's eyes. But you were all right with it since that life did not seem so bad. You were loved and you were doing well in school (unlike in real life). But this dream was different from the others. You were scared. You were hurt, and you could feel the cold pavement on your cheek. You cried for help but no one else could hear you, but that red-eyed man who held you down. "You're next," he said. Somehow, you knew, he was not talking to the dream version of you

The Undead

You liked her and she liked you back. You decided to stay the night. Because why not? Suddenly, you woke up with dirt in your eyes as she stood six feet above the ground with a shovel in her hands.

Note from me:

Hi! Thank you for checking out my article and I hope these prompts have inspired you to pick up your writing utensils (and hopefully, you'll get down to writing...no more social media for you! Or I don't know, do what you want. Xoxo).

You can also connect with me on Twitter & TikTok @cyrls_corner and follow my main series: Soul Exchange House of Trials at https://cyrlscorner.com/short-stories/. Sign up for my Newsletter as well to get the latest updates on my posts. Click here.

I would truly appreciate your support whether it would be subscribing, sharing this page with your friends, or leaving me a tip (so I can get even more caffeinated and pump out more stories).

Anyhow, have a fabulous and “horrific” time writing (I'll exit myself now)!

fiction
3

About the Creator

CyCy

The Chaotic Creator | Writer, Poet, & Blogger | Multi-Genre | Beta-Reader

Fiverr: @cyrls_corner

Twitter: @cyrls_corner

Website: cyrlscorner.com

Sign up for my Newsletter & get updates on my latest posts by clicking here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • N.J. Gallegos 2 years ago

    Oooooooooo The Undead. Me likey that one!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.