Horror logo

HORROR Story

Hotel Rogers Stay

By Sirin MoniPublished 7 months ago 6 min read
Like

It was five o'clock in the afternoon when the car reached the steep road of Darjeeling and stopped near the mall. It was raining intermittently all over the road. But half an hour after the end of the journey, the rain came. Siliguri's son Suresh has a habit of walking on these streets. He promised that no matter how bad the weather, he would get us to the hotel by five o'clock. Parking the car on one side of the muddy road, he said, 'You go inside the hotel and ask their men to come and take the luggage, sir. I am.We, I mean me, Ranjana, Parth and Jayashree, walked up the slope together to the reception of Hotel Rogers Stay. Pushing the glass door and entering, the body was warmed by the warmth inside.

Manager Mr. Breganza is from Calcutta. middle aged From his own house with a one-faced smile

He came out and threw a 'good evening' in Khankhyan's neck. Parth said 'If you can please tell your man to collect our luggage from the car?'

— "Oh yes, he must have gone by this time."

As we spoke, two Nepalese boys appeared with our three suitcases and two haber sacks, Suresh behind. He has come to collect the car rental. I took money out of my pocket and said, brother, count it once.

As he counted the money, he said to me in a low voice, Sir, how many days do you plan to stay here?

I was a little annoyed by his question. I said, why tell? We are three days.

"No sir, I mean if you need it before then let me know. This is my phone number.” Saying this, he quickly handed me a small card and stormed out.

I gradually forgot about Suresh in the joy of reaching Darjeeling. This Rogers Stay hotel is built by cutting four steps on the mountain. The first stage has a large reception and lobby. There are ten rooms in total on the two steps above it. I couldn't understand what was above. There are two rooms in our flat. In front, a single-pane glass-wrapped balcony. There are c

ha

irs and tables—perfect for chatting. Long time no see Jayshree. It is known that he entered the bathroom in their house to search. We also came to our house and packed things quickly. When I entered the bathroom, I saw that it was there, but the light was less than that. Only one window, it's closed. A heavy sweet smell wafted around. I thought room freshener was given.

But I am sure this smell is not the smell of any commercial room freshener. It smells like a kind of mountain lily flower. close the window No other loopholes were observed. I came back home.

The front porch lights are on. Ranjana sat down with the menu card for us. Perth is busy taking pictures.

Mysterious lobby

The above two steps take ten rooms in total.

After a while, we sank into piping hot chicken pakoras, momos and steaming coffee. Outside the rain increased. People are walking with umbrellas. A little uphill on the right is the mall. Looking at the action outside, you can't guess the quiet inside of this hotel. Time seems to stand still here. I saw the photo at the reception and found out that Roger Kent was one of the tea gardeners The house was built by the manager in 1904, a year before the partition of Bengal. He left his job and started this hotel business because the company did not work with Kent. People from England used to come here. Sahib did not spare his savings. He was decorating the hotel little by little day after day

"Buzle, the whole house looks very interesting to me," said Parth.

Jayashree Nesha Heritage. He said, 'There is an attic above the house, have you noticed, it means what is called Chilekotha in Bengali.

Sahebi's house has this kind of attic and there are many stories surrounding it.

Jayshree's last words caught my ear.

— 'Tell the story?'

— 'The story is different, as it happens and what!'

Ranjana took a cup of coffee and took a sip almost silently.

Even if the mobile phone is charged, there is no signal. Perth can't live without a phone. At the moment he is disappointed.

Will you go? Let's visit the house once?' I said to Partha. Even though Jayashree wanted to go, he said he would hang out with Ranjana. Parth and I crossed the balcony and went down the stairs. Turn right to reception. We went left.

This is the back side of the house. Quite a bit of light-darkness. In fact, the darkness of the reception is seen next to the light. I am walking through a single lane corridor.Several hand-painted paintings hang on expensive wooden panels on either side of the wall.

Earlier in Perth, the light of his mobile phone fell on a picture and it was easy to recognize it was a picture of Rogers Stay on the hill, with the tower above.

Glancing at the picture, I noticed one thing. Even in the half-darkness, the Chilekotha is quite visible. I couldn't help but praise the artist for his skill in drawing, but there was also another thorn in my mind.

Heavy curtains hang where dark corridors end. A foul smell all around.

Tell me what is behind it? Parth threw the question at me.

"Let's not remove the curtain!"

When the two of them put their hands together and moved the curtain, a cloud of dust flew. In the light of two mobile torches, it seemed like a rundown restaurant. How terribly burned all around. Tables, chairs, bar counters, walls, carpets are stripped and their skeletons stand. Chandeliers, electric wires, plasters are hanging from the ceiling.Parth and I both fell silent. A cold wind is blowing in the room and with it a sweet smell enters the nose. The smell of mountain flowers!

"Let's go to Perth", I said back. I came a little further to the stairs and saw that Perth was not there. I ran back to the door of the restaurant. I saw how Parth was standing with a useless look. At that moment, he had to be dragged by the hand.

Upstairs, neither of them talked about the incident.

Parthar fever came before eating at night.

By hearing the sound, it is understood that the rain outside is no longer a drizzle, but a drizzle. Partha is laid on the bed and a blanket and a sheet are placed on him. I went and got a thermometer from the reception a while back. Fever around 103 degrees. Jayashree is trying to reach Dr. Ranjit Chowdhury on his mobile phone. Ranjit is our neighbor, he has made a name for himself as a doctor. That is our hope for treatment.Even after trying five times, the line was not available. We have been trying from our own phones one by one. Once I went to the outer corridor and stood. When I came to the stairs with the phone in my mind. A sudden glance turned to the bottom, where the stairs ended. It was pitch dark there. The chest heaved. The old picture of Rogers Stay flashed on the eyes, where the light was burning in Chilekotha. I quickly returned home.

On entering the house, there was a faint hum. I understand that Peter's fever is increasing. Jayashree took water in a small tiffin bowl and wet a handkerchief and pressed it on Parthar's forehead. There is silence in the room. Suddenly the lamp went out. Load shedding! And just then I clearly saw the shadow of a man move past the glass window of the bathroom. Thinking of running to the bathroom, the electricity went off, and at that moment, Jayashree's phone rang.

movie reviewCONTENT WARNINGbook reviews
Like

About the Creator

Sirin Moni

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Luther7 months ago

    I loved it ❤️ Hope my stories gets to this point 😪😪 What type of stories do you guys like🤗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.