Horror logo

Hello My Old Friend

Inspired by Paul Simon's Sounds of Silence

By Mark GagnonPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
8
Hello My Old Friend
Photo by Carolina Pimenta on Unsplash

Hello Darkness,

It still amazes me how our relationship has developed over the years. When we first met, you terrified me. I was just a child and didn’t understand how you could exist everywhere I went, and everyplace I looked. You slept under my bed. You hid in closets patiently waiting for me to open the door. When I closed my eyes, I saw you. When I awoke from a bad dream, you wrapped yourself around me. I tried to convince my parents that you were bad and they needed to protect me from you. Instead of offering me solace, they sent me back to my room, where you waited for me uncomplainingly.

As I grew older, I learned to tolerate your omnipresence. We still were not friends. At least I didn’t feel that we were, but I learned to accept the fact that you were always going to be in my life. I’m not sure why I feared you? Maybe what I feared wasn’t you, but the things you might be hiding from my eyes. All the creatures that scurry on the ground and fly through the sky uninhabited by your all-encompassing cloak of blackness.

Time continued its march forward, and I progressed with it. My life was no longer that of a timid young boy. I developed into a brash teenager ready to take on the world. My knowledge increased and with it came an understanding of your relationship with the light of day. The constant tug-of-war between the two of you for dominance over the earth must be exhausting, but you never relent. I admire you for your unwavering persistence.

Using your cloak of anonymity, I felt free to join my peers as we experimented with all the pleasures life offered. Daytime was for rules and proper behavior. Under your tutelage, I was able to find my true self. I knew I could trust you to never reveal the extent of my eccentricities. Our sacred pact remains to this day.

Then came the war. It started because people would talk at each other without listening to one another. Each side indifferently preached their truths without considering the other’s point of view. Neither side would admit they may be wrong. The only way for them to resolve their differences was to destroy the opposition.

Once again, you were there to protect me as I fought for my side. I buried myself deep into your darkness and breathlessly waited for my enemy to approach. There was no struggle for survival, no battle for dominance. They had no chance as I sprung from your blackness and cut them to shreds. The scene repeated during each engagement with the carnage increasing as my proficiency with weapons grew.

In the beginning, the metallic smell of freshly spilled blood and the sight of internal organs strewn on the ground made me retch in disgust. Your compassionate side rushed to my aid and cloaked the scene in obscurity. People continued to hear only their point of view and I continued to kill. My revulsion for the sight of blood transformed into a lust for it. The smell, the sight, yes, even the taste of blood drove me forward, finally transforming me into what I am today.

The war has finally ended, but we remain. Time will continue its journey as will we, my dear friend. There will be more people talking without listening and their silence will grow like a cancer into more wars. My thirst will continue to be quenched as long as you are there by my side. Should the unthinkable happen and a stake is driven through my heart, I will rest easy knowing that you will have me wrapped tightly in your arms.

Your friend for eternity,

Vlad the Impaler (aka Count Dracula)

psychological
8

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock8 months ago

    Bloody fine writing, Mark!

  • Tina D'Angelo8 months ago

    I'm so glad to have found this one here! Mark, you terrify me. Stop telling people you aren't into poetry. This was about as poetic as they come. "I vant to shake your hand."

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    wow! this was stunning, Mark and avery creative spin on one of my favourite songs and books!

  • Ooooo, I loved the blood and the guts part! I didn't expect this story to be gory so I was pleasantly surprised! The ending was brilliant!

  • Test10 months ago

    Very clever, Mark. I enjoyed this a lot. You are great at putting the little surprise twists at the end. My only suggestion would be to have it as more of an homage to night, rather than anthropomorphism of night, and allow sneak peaks at the darkness (in his thought process) that was already within him. Well done as is, though!!💙Anneliese

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    I loved this one Mark, you kept me guessing through out right until the end! I liked the formatting and narrative license you took with this story, it felt clever and original! Great work!

  • Sherry Lowell-Lewis10 months ago

    I would say I saw it coming, and I did. But not at first. Even while the war was waged, I put it (him) in a modern setting--20th-21st century. It finally dawned on me (there was enough light to see!) and I got it. Clever. There is more to his unfortunate life, but this simple essay is clever and offers insights.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.