Horror logo

Haunted Third Bridge needs a Revisit! Colorado

Trying to discover the answers of the Legend of Third Bridge

By Chance JamesPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Ominous sky over Third Bridge near Aurora, CO has been a local mystery for decades.

The Legend of Third Bridge

Aurora, CO - Somewhere out that road that leads East.

Third Bridge needs a Revisit.

"Do you hear That..?"

That's all we could say as the sounds of ancient drums as they filled the air through the darkness at Third Bridge. What was THAT sound..?" A lown gurgling growl-like distortion from the side of the road. It was all too real, and I was there to witness the terrifying events of that night.

We were out of there..! Tires spinning the dirt and pebbles, laughing, crying, looking back to an unknown silhouette in the road through the little moonlight there was mixed with the dust and red tail lights of the late model roadster looked like the real thing.

Thinking back to that night as a high school senior looking to scare the girls on a quest to reach the myth of the passed down story of the spirits of Third Bridge, now has let me have years to absorb what I believe actually happened.

But as time slowly crept into years and now decades... my thoughts and memories of that night have faded much like the unknown musical mystery, dust, and images that added to the excitement... Now, others are talking!

Read the Original Third Bridge Story HERE <<<

Country Roads lead out to Third Bridge

Awhile back I dug into modern findings online of new incidences and visitors who have taken the same journey to reach Third Bridge. I was intrigued.

I have been there many years ago and recently (now in my 40s) shared some of my timid High School experiences of visiting Third Bridge one night with a good friend.

I heard the Native Drums, I felt the cool moist air. I saw the strange.

Of course, I thought we were the only ones who experienced this, because our stories were hard to believe. A couple of goofy high school jocks trying to rile up a scare isn't the best source for a ghost story, so It wasn't until some drunken late-night online research did I discover that some others who have visited the area have shared similar experiences.

No Way...! Cooooool..!

Some have shared more in-depth sightings including a ghost horse and peculiar figures on the road. Some say cars are visible and then disappear as you drive up and down the rolling hills of the now paved country road. I've also wondered about this myself.

Thump, thump, thump, thump....

The eerie trees near Third Bridge, CO

What do you hear? The Native drums growing louder and louder are the most prevalent stories. And for these, I argue for the possibility, that this was indeed a spiritual message for the open minded.

Maybe it's the souls of the ancient cultures that lived in these parts. On horseback, celebrating the thrill of the hunt or a post battle chant. But as the cool wind hit my face, it felt more as a display of the essence of territory. The drums let us know they are still here.

Power of the Spirit

Native Drums can be heard at night near haunted Third Bridge, CO

Stumbling around the computer keyboard, I discovered more - additional researching has clued me into new possibilities?

Could it just be a signal of the modern world we live in? Are there oil wells pumping the sounds at night? Is it just the sound of a rotating wheel pump catching the breeze just right changing its volume..? Could it be the phenomenon of ground temperature in prime conditions cause the sound to travel further, pulsing with the thickness of the pockets of air?

Does colliding air temps create distant movement of ghost like movements in the cool air, fooling the already imaginative eyes? Ready to see the make believe..?

Is it Just a Man Made Tall Tale..?

Oil Pumps could be the Blame - enough to sound like Native Drums?

Now, I also understand that there is confusion as to what road Third Bridge runs over. Most say the eastern dirt roads of County Line Rd, but in my now aging memory, I recall it was off the bridge on Quincy Rd., just a couple miles North. A visit back to the area will help refresh my memories.

I still live near the same area - Less than ten miles from either destination, and in all these years I have only drove over these bridges on rare occasion in the daylight hours, never stopping to explore, but always sharing of the times I was there.

Looking deeper and Google mapping the area, I found that a historical Graveyard lies just Northeast of Third Bridge on Quincy Rd. I wonder to myself, 'could this play any role in the late night occurrences that scare so many high-school explorers looking for a fun scare.'

My own interest is drawing me back. I will start with a visit to these areas by day. See what the environment is like, and share what I discover... As dirt turns into pavement and new communities stretch to the reaches of the East, what will 25 years later bring...?

Thump, thump, thump, thump.... Do you hear that..?

"The Legend of Third Bridge" - Aurora, Colorado

Which one is Third Bridge is up for discussion - A revisit will help determine

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Chance James

Chance travels the world around, bringing out the light in life. With a Positive Influence in the journey ahead, the people around feel the influence only Chance can give..!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.