Horror logo

Grimoire of Adair Jones

Entry 4

By Kureha DurantPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

02/06

Thank you my past self for choosing only afternoon lectures on Monday. Well, the best-case scenario would be not having any classes on Monday, but it’s better than having an 8 am lecture. After all my classes were done, I tried to get some study done in the library with my friends, but as usual, it wasn’t the most productive study session. Even when I got back home, I barely made any progress on my assignments. Well, I guess I could have gotten a lot more done if I didn’t watch Netflix after dinner. But also, I kept getting side-tracked while I was working on my assignment.

Whenever I read an article on a historical event, I keep wondering how that event could have affected the community of witches. Maybe I’m getting too obsessive with this topic. But I can’t stop myself from wondering about it. The more Mindy teaches me about witchcraft, the more questions I have about their craft and their community. I’m becoming more and more keen on joining them and going to the hidden village.

But right now, I really should be focusing on my courses. Witchcraft sounds interesting, but I can’t sacrifice my degree. It’s too expensive to be ignoring it over something that was brought up by a random person I met near the creek.

Oh, Zeki mentioned something really weird today. He was wondering if Armas was okay. I told him that I didn’t notice anything out of the ordinary because, well, I genuinely haven’t noticed anything out of ordinary. But Zeki does tend to notice small details. I should keep an eye on Armas. Or talk to him. Both is probably the best option.

I just talked about focusing on my studies and I’m already getting side-tracked. Well, I guess it’s natural to be worried after hearing what Zeki said. But I should be able to focus on my study a bit more since my manager at work told me that she’s happy to reduce my shift during the exam week. Well since most journalism students work there, I guess they were expecting this to happen.

To be honest, I’m not sure if I want to continue with the Journalism degree. At first, I was interested in journalism because I thought it was a work where they take a complex event or a piece of information and make it accessible to other people. I also liked piecing information together and just anything to do with writing in general so I thought I would really like working in the industry. But, when I started to make connections and get more experience within the industry, I slowly started to realise that they pretty much make money off click-bait-competition. I don’t know if I’m just disappointed because the industry wasn’t what I imagined it to be. Or maybe I don’t want to work in an industry like that for the rest of my life. I wonder if I should drop out.

Well, I guess becoming a journalist isn’t the only job I can get out of a journalism degree. Maybe I should look into different career options. I guess becoming an editor would be one solution. Proof-reader is also another job I could potentially get from it. Proof-reader sounds like a boring job, but they also need to check if the characters in the story are travelling at a reasonable speed based on the information already told in the story. Or making sure that the structure of the building mentioned in the story matches up with where the character is standing. It’s a job with a lot of responsibility but it’s to do with writing and I would need to piece information together. I guess I should just stay in the degree since I’ve already gone through the first year. Language is one of my strength after all.

When I first started uni, I was surprised by how many people dropped out after their first year of the degree. But I think I understand it now. A lot of the industries people wanted to work in turned out to be completely different from the way we all imaged them to be, doubted their career path and ended up dropping out. Well, I’m sure that’s not the only reason why everyone drops out though.

Well in my case, I decided there’s no point in dropping out so I probably should cut this dramatic rant and study. But I don’t have any motivation to even pick up a textbook right now do so I might journal for a bit more. Apparently, it’s a good practice even if you write complete nonsense since it subconsciously helps you with looking at your emotions from a more objective point of view or something like that. I don’t know but one of the lecturers said a lot of successful people journal, so I’ll call it productive procrastination.

If I do join the witchcraft community, I wonder if I’m going to be able to balance out my studies, part-time job and witchcraft? Did I already write a question like that in my past entry? When I start practicing witchcraft, I hope there’s a spell that can improve my memory. Or maybe that’s too good to be true. Or maybe it has some kind of a really bad side effect? I feel like if witchcraft could do anything, it could have been a huge part of people’s lives today. But maybe that’s why people were so scared of it at first. Because witchcraft was so powerful, they were scared of how quickly their lives would change.

The memory re-call Mindy used would be useful for research. Most people in the world are less conservative now. Or at least it’s not impossible to live a life that’s not considered “normal”. But I guess the researchers would be sceptic about including magic spells in their works if they can’t find any clear connection between the processes of the spell and how the result of the spells are manifested.

Today was pretty quiet so I’m running out of things to write. I’ll go back to studying now.

___________________________________________

Author's Note: I made a quiz on Quotev where you can find out which of the five witchcraft from this story you will be the best at. Feel free to check it out!

Link to the quiz: https://www.quotev.com/quiz/13410137/Do-you-have-the-potential-for-witchcraft

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Kureha Durant

Currently posting short stories from my daily writing challenge. Concept arts and aesthetic edits of each story available on my other platforms

https://linktr.ee/KurehaDurant

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.