Horror logo

Getting Angry

No One Will Listen

By Evan BondPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Getting Angry
Photo by vu anh on Unsplash

I've been screaming for help for the past few minutes but no one in the house seems to care. You see, I'm trapped in my bedroom. The door knob seems to be stuck. No matter how hard I try, it just won't budge. It doesn't even feel as if the knob turns under the weight of my hand.

I've tried banging on the walls but no sound seems to come. I wonder if I'm going crazy. Why won't anyone come up here and let me out? Maybe something terrible has happened to the rest of them?

The window! Of course, why didn't I think of it sooner. Rushing over, I try to lift it open but it, too, is stuck. I try to signal a neighbor walking by with her dog. She glances up at the window but quickly looks down. I could swear she saw me but why did she pretend not to?

The sound of creaking stairs fill my ears and I hear talking, though I don't recognize the voices. Again, I begin to yell for help. They pay no attention and I can hear them enter a different room and continue talking.

Am I being held captive? Is this some sort of sick prank? That has to be it. My buddy Shay is a big prankster. He probably locked me in my room and now has friends over, telling them to pretend to not hear my yells. That crazy guy is always playing around.

"Alright, man," I call out. "You got me. Joke's over."

There's no response.

"Come on, man, this isn't funny. I've got shit to do today."

Again, there's no reply. I can hear the muffled voices in the other room. Pressing my ear to the wall, I can tell there's three of them, though I can't make out what they're saying.

Wait a minute, there's nothing in this room. That doesn't make any sense. This was my room. My furniture should be here. How could it not? Was it part of the prank? Did Shay remove all of my furniture from my room? That would be impossible.

The voices have left the other room and heading for mine now. Thank God! They will let me out and this will all be over. I watch in suspense as the knob shifts and the door finally swings open.

"Here's the second bedroom," a female voice states as the door opens completely.

"Hello, thank God you opened the do-" I'm cut off by the second woman holding hands with a man.

"Oh, honey, this would be the perfect nursery."

"Nursery? No, no, no. This is my room. What the hell is going on? Where's Sh-"

Again I'm cut off.

"It would be perfect."

I now notice the woman standing in front of the couple is a real estate agent. The couple smiles back and I could see her pregnant belly. They're trying to buy this house? But I'm in it still! I'm right here. Why are they pretending they can't see me?

"You've got to be fucking kidding me! Why are you guys ignoring me. Hello?"

I get right in their faces but they don't react at all. "What the fuck?" I ask.

The three of them turn and head out of the door. The real estate agent moves to close the door, threatening to trap me inside. "I don't think so," I yell, leaping towards the doorway. No body moves, no one flinches.

I have no idea how it happened but I landed in the hallway behind them. We should have crashed into each other. There should have been pain but instead there's nothing. The man exclaims he felt a cool breeze but nothing more.

They carry on to the next room and continue to talk but I'm not waiting around to see what other terrible thing is going to happen next. I'm getting the hell out of this house.

I run downstairs and head for the front door. My hands slip off the knob and it doesn't budge. Again and again I try with the same result. I try to cry but I don't feel any tears. In fact, I don't feel anything at all. There's no hot, there's no cold. I can't even feel the metal knob in my hand. Am I going insane?

Moving to the kitchen, I see a glass on the counter. I try to pick it up but again nothing happens. "Fuck!" I scream. This can't be happening to me. I try to push the glass with my finger and it wobbles only slightly. I try to push the glass for over five minutes and finally it moves an inch.

Whatever has happened to me might be finally wearing off. When the couple and the real estate agent come downstairs, I move back into the room. Waving my hands, I call out for them to look but they still don't see me.

I'm getting angry now. This isn't funny nor amusing. These people are going to know I'm here one way or another. Heading back into the kitchen, I smack the glass with all of my force and it sails across the room, smashing against the wall.

They heard that. Oh, they heard that indeed. If they don't acknowledge me now, they're about to hear a whole hell of a lot more!

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Evan Bond

I tell people I'm a horror/suspense writer so that I can justify my Google searches.

You can find more info about me and my books on my website www.EvanBondAuthor.com or find me on social media. See below:

https://dot.cards/evanbondauthor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.