Horror logo

Friday the 13th (1980) - A Movie Review

'Friday the 13th' is a notorious cult horror classic.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I don’t know if we’re going to last all week at Camp Crystal Lake.

Friday the 13th opened in theaters in 1980. Setting up for summer camp, counselors realize that there is a mysterious situation afoot. Disappearing one by one, they need to get to the bottom of everything before the next person is killed.

Friday the 13th is a notorious cult horror classic. I’m not sure how I have never watched this film until now. The first film of the series is very different compared to the rest of the franchise. The first film compiles new themes to the horror genre.

Based on what I have seen of most of the Friday the 13th films, they’re mostly about how each can up the gore factor over character development. In my opinion, I feel that the cast established their characters and dynamics in the first film of the series. Nothing felt forced, and the dialogue was natural.

Unfortunately, getting threatening letters in the mail following her appearance in the film, Adrienne King made an excellent final girl. In some ways, Friday the 13th made a strong impact on women’s audiences. Alice is hard-working, competent, and is willing to fight. She does not mess around. This film has more character than the other installments.

Famously expressing her dislike for the film, Betsy Palmer leaves a startling impact on the film. Don’t mess with Mrs. Vorhees or you will regret it. Palmer’s chilling deliveries were terrific. King and Palmer worked through their scenes which were not easy.

Camera angles play as characters of their own. That was an impressive feature. The ominous camera angles captured the perspective which is a crucial aspect of this film. A hand also goes out to the editors for their construction. Filmmakers focused highly on subtle details to drive the story. The counselors are not alone.

The special effects team was at work, coming up with crafty (and violent) kills. I won’t forget to mention bloody, too. The makeup effects are enough to make your stomach turn. Friday the 13th is known for its graphic kills.

As the first director to begin the Friday the 13th series, Sean S. Cunningham worked out a mix of a character film along with violent horror. I think Cunningham was unsure of what to do at some point when there was not a murder going on.

There were some scenes that went on for an extended period, such as watching a character making coffee. While some deem it as useless, I thought it was a good direction in watching significant emotion unfold.

Music is chilling. The soundtrack is another trademark of the film. As is romance. Friday the 13th contains sexual content, but it is not as graphic like in the rest of the franchise.

When the film first aired in theaters, audiences did not see a famous jump scare coming. They were so unaware that they were actually getting up to leave when they were startled back into their seats.

I enjoyed Friday the 13th. I know the first film has been under debate among fans over whether it was good or not, but I liked it more than I thought I would. The rest of the films overdid the premiere, though it has created a huge fanbase for people to talk and share their theories.

You have to watch Friday the 13th during October. I’m not sure if I will watch the rest of the series since I have watched most of the clips. The Friday the 13th franchise has made a mark on horror films over the last decades.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.