Horror logo

Freaky - A Movie Review

Based on the concept, I doubted that I was even going to like 'Freaky'. Turns out, I was wrong.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Switching bodies with a serial killer was not what I had in mind today.

After switching bodies, Freaky found its way into theaters in 2020. A high school girl switches bodies with a sadistic serial killer. During the craziest day ever, Millie and her friends must figure out a way to switch back before midnight.

Based on the concept, I doubted that I was even going to like Freaky. Turns out, I was wrong. Freaky is a hilarious film that has a lot of gory moments which I was not expecting. Be happy with your body or else you’ll get caught in a life you don’t want.

Without Vince Vaughn, Freaky would not be what it is. I’m not a fan of most of the media that Vaughn has been in, but here, he is given a chance to test his acting abilities. His performance impressed me.

I will never get over Vaughn dancing like a cheerleader, acting like a schoolgirl, and his hilarious reactions to everything. Now I would like to see more films that don't put him in the usual crass stereotype.

Vaughn and Kathryn Newton take the time to study one another’s quirks and personalities to make a believable body swap. As for Newton, she did a wonderful job, both as Millie and her portrayal of the serial killer after the body swap.

Though most of her serial killer performance consisted of demonic stares and being intimidating. Newton outdid herself. I believed that these characters switched bodies. That’s the ultimate effect for any film that has to pull off a realistic body swap.

Celeste O’Connor and Misha Osherovich were fantastic as Millie’s friends. I especially got a crack out of Osherovich’s one-liners. Millie, Nyla, and Josh’s friendship is important to the story. Even in the most peculiar of situations, friends will always be here for you. The trio worked stupendously together during a chaotic chase sequence. It is my favorite scene in the film.

The cast got into the goofy atmosphere of what the film is all about. Other credits include Emily Holder, Nicholas Stargel, Kelly Lamer Wilson, Dana Drori, Uriah Shelton, and many more who ran away screaming from the chaos. The lunch lady deserves more recognition in her signature running away in terror moment.

The only issue that I had with the film was Millie’s love interest, Booker (Shelton). His character could have had better development. Booker is unhelpful in situations, and he does not help Millie.

When watching Freaky, you have to know that there’s a lot of gore and humor that will turn most audiences away. At times, jokes went on a little too long when we already got the point.

As for the gore, there are several bloody murders. The special effects incorporated creative tricks. Filmmakers did not hold back when it came to gory sequences.

As the same director who directed Happy Death Day, Christopher Landon likes to stay true to morals. Although we have seen body swap stories in media before, he managed to find new storylines to put in Freaky. His attention to special effects was a notable feature. As well as his direction to both Vaughn and Newton.

You should never wish to be somebody else. We have to love ourselves for who we are. If you want to make a change, do it yourself, and not let other people make changes.

Freaky is a fun watch. I wish I could have seen this film in theaters. There are some sequences that fall on filler, but you will have a blast watching it, especially during the Halloween season.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.