Horror logo

Fix You

A nightmare of a hospital

By Teya HooperPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

"Can you hear me?"

My ear twitched. Was the voice real?

"That's it, you're waking now."

I force my eyes open, a fluttering gooey mess.

"Take it easy. There you are. Not too fast now."

I tried to sit up but was gently pushed back.

"My....eyes..." I mumble.

"It will take some time but they will come back. No worrying darlin'."

I want to protest, ask more questions, but the exhaustion.

And her voice. It's eerily calming. So I give in.

My body relaxes against the sheets and my head nestles into the pillow.

Everything feels so comfy. Too comfy actually.

I awaken. Not even recalling falling asleep. It takes a minute and then I remember.

My sight. It's back!

"Thank God," I mutter under my breath.

"Hmmm?"

I freeze. Definitely thought I was alone.

Then again, I really hadn't taken in my surroundings yet.

Blinking a few times and clearing away the rest of the goo, I scan the room.

Pure white. Blinding white. And so organized. Bottles and gloves all put away neatly. Not a speck of dust anywhere.

Hell even the wires and machines looked perfectly placed.

Everything belonged.

"I've got to stand out in this pristine of a room," I whispered to myself.

"If you're trying to talk to me, you gotta speak up man!" a voice replied.

Shit. I forgot I wasn't alone. I looked towards the voice.

There is a curtain dividing the middle.

The other side must be where the voice came from.

The curtain flew back, causing a jump from me. How'd it move?

"Ya hear me?" she sassed.

"Oh, erm, sorry..." I stumbled over my words. "I... well... I mean, I thought I was alone and I was sort of just talking out loud and..."

"Stop," she interrupted. "I'm kidding."

Since I was avoiding eye contact, I finally looked at her face.

A soft smile greeted me.

"What's ya name?" she asked.

"Lauri," I replied. "Yours?"

"Roxy."

She had a strong accent that I couldn't place. There was also a sense of familiarity about her. Do I know her?

"So what ya in for?"

She broke my thoughts.

"Oh, erm, knee problems." I patted my left knee gently, signaling the cast.

I hate telling people my history with pain. It's exhausting.

"You?" I asked.

Her eyes grew wide.

"That's crazy! Mine's my right!" she laughed, pulling back her sheet and showing her similar injury.

"Curious," I said, smiling sheepishly. Why do I feel so uncomfortable?

We both went rather silent after the award exchange. Resorting to small chuckles over the television.

After a while, I started dozing off.

I bolt upright, a thrashing sound causing me to wake. Becoming hyper alert to my surroundings, I look towards Roxy, thinking maybe she fell.

She didn't.

Her whole body is convulsing. Violent shaking taking over from her head to her toes.

I freeze, a scream not even able to escape from my mouth.

A nurse comes in and I become a little more calm, knowing she could help.

She caught my eyes, a serious look coming across her face.

"You may want to look away, darlin'."

The tone she used causing my stomach to sink.

Obeying, I look the other way, becoming more and more terrified.

Roxy's scream pierced the air and ripped through the silence.

I couldn't help it any more. I look back.

The (nurse?!) was holding a massive needle. I follow the needle with my gaze until I got to the point... which was penetrating Roxy's eye.

A scream finally escaped.

The nurse slid the needle out then smiled at me.

"Better run now, darlin'."

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.