Horror logo

No One

Nightmare Turned Short Story

By Teya HooperPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

“No fair!” he yelled as he shoved me playfully.

“I told you we shouldn’t play.” I said, laughing at his annoyed face. You’d think with us being together three years now he’d learn that playing against a button masher never works in his favor.

“I want a rematch!” he demanded. Snickering, I placed the controller down and stood up.

“Best not.” I giggled, walking away towards the kitchen.

“What sounds good for dinner?” I yelled back to the living room.

“Loser doesn’t pick, remember?” he growled back, clearly still pouting about his loss.

I chuckled to myself. He’s competitive, but I am too, so I get it.

“I’ll let it slide this time.” Laughing, I continued, “So what do ya want, ya sore loser?”

No response this time.

“Oh come on,” I mumbled to myself.

“Hellllooooo?!” I sang out. “You’ve got five seconds then I’m picking!”

Still nothing.

“Five!”

Nothing.

“Four!”

Silence.

“Three!”

I started walking towards the living room.

“Two!”

I took a step in.

“One! That’s it!” I yelled triumphantly.

But I was talking to no one. The room was empty.

My eyes wandered around the room and confusion made its way through my veins before nervousness settled in.

He was just here….

Our couch was vacant, his controller lazily flung on the floor.

That’s odd. He’s usually not so careless with his gadgets.

A blood-curdling scream broke the silence.

I jumped out of my skin.

It was coming… from the kitchen?

Was he pranking me?...

I carefully made my way back from where I came. My green painted toenails crossed from carpet to tile.

“This isn’t funny!” I called out as I rounded fully into our kitchen.

I froze.

He was suspended in the air, lips turning blue and eyes rolling back. You would think someone was holding him up, but…

No one was….

He dropped and hit the ground hard. Almost like someone had thrown him…?

But no one could have…

I ran over to him and fell to the ground, tears already forming in my eyes.

I placed my fingers to his neck…

Do you know what it's like to feel no pulse?

I felt my heart beat against my chest, threatening to break my ribs. I swallowed my tears and slipped my fingers into his cold hand.

I traced the little scar on his wrist with my finger. We both had had troubled pasts. He chose to attempt to end it all, but fate had other plans. I’m glad they did...

Depression can be hell.

But it was looking like a slice of heaven compared to my now lifeless love.

“You could be with him.”

A shiver went down my spine as the words were whispered in my ear. Every hair stood up.

“Wha... what?” I stuttered.

I could feel an icy breath on my neck, billowing any shred of certainty I had left. The voice broke through again.

“You won’t last without him. You know you won’t.”

My body started to become numb. I could feel it in my toes and slowly making its way up. My chest hurt. Shallow breaths were all that were escaping. I couldn’t speak.

“You are just as weak as him.” A maniacal laugh followed the venom the voice spoke.

I clenched my fists. Rage was taking over any shred of terror I had. How dare this voice speak so ill of him? His poor lifeless body wasn’t here to defend his past.

“Speak negatively on me but don’t you DARE breathe a second of it on him!” I screamed, whirling around ready to face whatever force was behind me.

But I faced nothing.

No one was there...

“You can’t see me. But you’ll forever hear me.”

The voice slithered in one ear and out the other.

I crumpled to the floor, ears burning from the toxins of that horrid voice. I tried to cover my ears, digging my hands into the sides of my head, begging for this to stop.

But no one was there.

Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.