Horror logo

Escapist

A short story

By Kaylea DPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

They thought I was crazy. That's what they said. The nerve! I had every right to do what I did. My only companion now, is here, and that is, you, this pen, this paper, this little flashlight that I use to guide my strokes.

I am alone now. No one wanted to follow me into these depths. I had to drag my companions here, flailing and screaming and all! But the depths, they aren't so scary. What is so menacing about darkness such as this? The void of nothingness beyond the light of my flashlight does not hold nightmares or monsters, it holds adventure, it holds wonder! It can hide that of which should not be seen, and those of which who do not wish to be found.

I am here now, and I will not be seen, I am with all the rest, they surround me. They are my brothers now. They are my sisters now. We are here together, forever. I made sure no one will find my place of rest, I made sure no one will creep in on us while we sleep, because this is our home. Of course, once this light dies, I will be left alone with myself and my own thoughts, because my brothers and sisters will no longer be illuminated by the reality of this world, therefore, they will no longer exist. Well, to me anyway, To themselves, they will still be here, they will still be well, but they will be alone, as will I.

When the light goes out, it will only be me in this world, and that is what I wish. No. I will not just turn off the light. I must wait it out, I must outlive it! I must outlive this world! That is the only key to immortality! To outlive the world is such a task, only one with a great mind can achieve such a thing. The others, those above, those around me, they failed. All of them. Most won't even attempt such a thing! Can you believe that? They are afraid! Afraid off the dark! Afraid of what might lurk there. There is nothing, I assure you! I searched every crevice of this place before I entered, before I pulled my brothers and sisters here. There is nothing, we are safe, we are eternal!

Well, I am. They are not. They are long gone, they couldn't handle such a task, I did what I had to do. Only one of us could come out on top, only one of us could gain such a privilege. I feel nothing but sorrow for my brothers and sisters who share this darkness with me, but I must not linger on the past. I must focus on what is ahead, enlightenment. I have already overcome the world in a verbal sense. I can no longer hear the bitter shrieks and shouts, there is no sound, not since the last of my sisters dropped.

It is silent, and I can hear God. He speaks to me, he tells me things, great things. Things to come. I cannot wait until I can see him with my own eyes, to be able to reach out and touch him. I am tired of feeling nothing but cold stone, and I am tired of inhaling the rot of this world. God however, has advised me against hastening my voyage into eternity. It will come when it decides to envelop me.

Oh! The flicker! The flicker of a dying light! Soon there will be nothing but me and myself in this world. Soon I will be free at last! Free from the sight of this ugly world! Free from the rabble of those demons that roam above. Down here, below their feet, I am at peace, and soon I will be free! Thank you God! Thank you God! Thank you God!

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.