Horror logo

Eating my experiences (19)

A zombie story

By L.D. Malachite Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
doodle by yours truly- lydia bug

TOME 20

Lilly seemed reluctant to take my hand as I stood on the first landing outside the window she had found. "It's okay, you can always get off at the very next floor if this is to much for you" I plead, wanting nothing more than to keep her safe at my side. She had the ebb of a fairy in old media, back when we could get to it easily.

She took my hand with the flutter of an eyelash across her cheekbones, her red hair smooth and brushed out by fingers before I was known of. It baffled me that I felt as though I could die for someone so unknown to me, yet it was there. The four of us sidled down the ladders as a surprisingly smooth and effortless pace, occasionally passing a window filled with horrors.

One window peeked into the world of a wild torture scene, a woman operating on a zombie to "see how much she could do to him without him dying" an act that made me shudder as he was now little more than a skeleton, unable to move beyond his screams and plea of mercy. A zombie begging for death was something I had never imagined could disturb me more than the concept of them gaining intelligence. The realization that they will soon be, if they were not already as sentient as we were, proved to be a troublesome thought.

I looked away long enough to see Lilly, chewing on her lip again, but this time when she saw me, she let out a huge smile, reaching her freckle dotted cheeks. "You were right, it's easier with friends." She giggled, her seemingly usual peppy self. She was so oddly reassuring, as though I had known and loved her for years, yet I could not place her face.

"I'm glad." I say, and I am, because I want her to stay forever. I wanted to take her face within my hands and plant kisses across her nose and cheeks, wanted to bring her within my arms, tell her all would be well and mean it. She made everything better. We were now descending the ladder to the second floor, leaving me breathless, in need to the fresh air of freedom, in need of the safety the hills would bring.

My foot landed on the second floor fire escape with a satisfying sturdiness, before my weak ankle rolled with a painful crunch. I allowed myself a swift coddling of my fresh wound before Lilly takes place of the sun in the sky, offering me a hand up, and brushing my hair behind my ear. I am mesmiraized by her, she seems to encompass all that I have ever wanted.

We finish our decent without fail beyond my heitened anxiety, and my ankle pulsating with pain as we walk. "Lilly, come with us! We will go to the hills, it's much safer out there." I spat out the words with a quickness only known by despiration and lust.

"Of course I'll go will you, Itty Bitty." She laughs as she says it in her soft voice, I know I've been called this before yet I don't care who predates Lilly, she is quickly wiggling into my world, encompassing all. I can feel her in my thoughts, and I long to feel her in my body. The four of us walked briskly towards the Pacific Ave. crowd, hoping to disappear within it.

We rapidly found ourselves at the outskirt of town, ready to fade into the hills, were safety waited. Breb had been meowing since we left the building, causing Alex to walk along behind me playing with her and feeding her treats. She seemed scared of her surroundings as we walked , but I knew she was always good at adapting, and would be fine. Hearing her small cooing sounds filled me with a sense of deep comfort.

TO BE CONTINUED....

fiction
1

About the Creator

L.D. Malachite

L.D.Malachite is an author from California who specializes in Horror, and psychological explorations on trauma.

All stories published here are first drafts which will be later published as books.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.