Horror logo

Eating my experiences (12)

A zombie story for those who find the zombie boring

By L.D. Malachite Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1

TOME 13

The three of us walk for a short while, forgetting ourselves in the need to catch up, Zach had spent his days amidst the mercenaries, gaining limited information. He had only aspirations to make it to the next day as he was treated fairly well here, despite his awareness of how quickly it could change.

We find a staircase which Zach informed us would likely be guarded, he enjoyed long walks around the building so if there was anything he knew, it was the layout of things. We allow ourselves to walk a while longer, finding an out of order elevator, which we agreed would be a last resort. We make our way to an empty room on the second floor where we jiggle the window open, stepping into the cool outside air on a fire escape.

The fire escape is in a sorry state, obviously not having the advantage of a maintenance man of a same caliber as the interior. The wind rocked the narrow passage of the ladder as we timidly back down the first ladder, only to find we would need to duck into the window of the first floor. There was a group of mildly belligerent armed people sidling down the alley towards us.

I am the first one to duck into the window with a roll, followed by Zach, then Alex. "The first floor isn't actually the ground floor" Zach began "So we're gonna have to find some way to go down one more floor to the lobby." He was right, and I shuddered as I thought of the elevator shaft, aware that would likely be our best chance.

"The...elevator shaft, does it go to the basement? Is there a basement?" I am rushing, pleading with Zach as my stomach turned nervously.

"Yeeah, there's a basement, not much goes on there 'cause it creeps people out haha, so yeah it's probably a good bet. If there's windows, I never thought to check, ya know?" He seemed relaxed, an easing temerance I am happy to see.

"Wait, IF there's windows, okay, but if there's not, what? We are about to risk our lives crawling down that shaft, I think we need s backup plan" Alex interjected his logic in a time we desperately needed it.

"Yeah, you're right, but the thing is, we don't have time, right? There are lots of places to hide, but that doesn't matter if they up the guard, we won't be able to get out. We're just lucky they're on low alert at the moment." I am nauseous as ever and desperate to get away from this place, so I begin walking away from my two dearest friends, in search of the elevator. Alex allows me the luxury of dropping the subject as we approach the elevator and begin prying the doors apart.

Zach runs off only to return a moment later with a chair, presumably taken from an apartment, which he uses to prop open the doors exclaiming proudly "just in case" my heart is filled with joy to be able to see his cute little dorky face again.

"You're too cute" I say with a wistful smile, the whisper of a blush gracing my nose and cheeks.

"Moving on already, I see! You always were one to move on before the body is cold," Gabe's voice chuckled quizzaciously with a chuckle threatening in the back of his long dead throat. I shake my head to clear it as I begin my two story decent to the basement, followed by Zach, then Alex, reluctantly.

fiction
1

About the Creator

L.D. Malachite

L.D.Malachite is an author from California who specializes in Horror, and psychological explorations on trauma.

All stories published here are first drafts which will be later published as books.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.