Horror logo

Death To Childhood Bliss

Nearly 13

By Nyx NoxPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Thank you Thomas Stix for the beautiful cover photo.

When he was nearly thirteen, my brother broke his arm. It would end up being his demise.

The sun radiated heat on that June afternoon. My mother sat basking in its rays with a glass of lemonade she diligently sipped from. The clinking of the glass as the metal straw collided with it had been the only confirmation she was awake. My younger sister and I ran on the spiky, green grass listening to its noise as our red capes fluttered in the wind. I was the strong Superman while she acted as Supergirl. As we saved the citizens from a building on fire, we could hear laughter erupt.

We watched as our older brother, Jacob, flailed his arms. He tried to catch the laughing gulls sitting idly near the pond. Continuing to sneer and laugh, his determination to capture one grew. My sister's face had lifted to mine.

"He's still after them?" She asked innocently.

I was about to nod in agreement when I heard the back door close.

"Lex Luther!" I screamed, pointing at my father.

We both screamed as my father started running towards us funnily. The grass tickled the bottoms of our feet.

"On the count of three, we turn!" I yelled at Alice. She nodded in agreeance. "1... 2... 3!"

We turned and ran towards him! His eyes widened as he turned around and screamed for backup. It was then that our sunbathing mother jumped from her chair. She grabbed Alice up in one fatal swoop from behind and started tickling her. Bursts of laughter rang as Alice cried for help. As I turned to look at my teary-eyed sister, my Dad grabbed me in his arms and did the same. I struggled as his attack was fatal. Then a thud sounded.

He stopped as he stared at my mother's eyes. Her eyes conveyed fear as she glanced at the old oak tree. Gently, she set my sister to the ground and ran towards Jacob as she called his name. He placed me on the ground and ran after her.

"Call 911!" She screeched as she ran to Jacob.

She kneeled by his head and whispered reassuringly. Using long strokes, she lightly combed through his golden hair. My father shook as he dialed the phone and ushered my sister and me inside. As he explained the situation on the phone, my sister and I sat staring at each other.

"What's going on?" She asked with her big, innocent, blue eyes peering through mine.

"I don't know."

"Stay inside." My Dad said in a hardened tone.

We stayed at the counter as he rushed back to my mother. An entirety passed as we looked out the window. Flashing lights appeared in front of our house. Just as fast as they had arrived, they left. He ran back, grabbed the keys, and pushed us to the car.

"Where are we going, Daddy?" My little sister asked.

"To Mommy and Jacob." He said chokingly.

The drive was short. Our Dad rapidly unbuckled our seats and pulled us into an enormous building. It looked like a building from Superman. Greeted by a lady in white, my sister and I listened as she softly spoke to my distracted Dad. Although we did not understand her words, her voice soothed us. After she finished her sentence, my Dad tightly gripped our hands. I waved bye to the lady as Father pulled us away.

"Mom!" We yelled. My sister and I ran towards her racing each other. She grasped us in her arms as tears trickled down her face.

"Ooh! Look over there." Mom pointed. "Is that Superman and Supergirl?"

Alice and I couldn't believe our eyes. We raced toward the toys and began our adventure.

fiction

About the Creator

Nyx Nox

Creepy crawly, heart-thumping stories are typical for this horror writer. They thrive on the darkness found in this world and beyond. Whether realism or supernatural, a story for you can be found. Which one will you pick?

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Nyx NoxWritten by Nyx Nox

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.