Horror logo

Dear Diary

Short Story

By KelPublished 6 months ago 7 min read
Top Story - November 2023
33
Dear Diary
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Dear Diary,

October 31st

Man, Halloween night was something else this year! I decided to spend it at that old, spooky farmhouse on the outskirts of town. You know, the one with all the crazy stories? Well, I got way more than I bargained for.

The weather was just perfect for a horror movie – wind howling, rain pouring down, and the whole shebang. I lit some candles to set the mood, and their flickering shadows on the walls added to the eerie vibe. I was in for a wild ride.

I found this ancient journal in the attic, and it was full of creepy tales about the house. As I was reading it, I heard this freaky music from outside, like a mournful violin. It sent shivers down my spine, but curiosity got the best of me, and I had to check it out.

I ventured into the forest behind the house, and it was all muddy and pitch dark. The trees looked like they were reaching out to grab me, and the music kept getting louder. I thought, "This is it, I'm in a horror movie!"

I finally stumbled upon the source of the music – a rundown, overgrown graveyard hidden deep in the woods. There was a hooded figure there, playing that spooky tune. I couldn't see their face at first, but when they looked up, I swear I saw something straight out of a horror flick – sunken eyes and a creepy, skeletal grin.

I screamed like a little kid and fell over a gravestone. The figure started floating towards me, and I booked it back to the farmhouse. The music, man, it followed me, and the place felt like it came alive with whispers and shadows.

I locked myself in and prayed for daylight to rescue me from this freak show. I don't know what that figure was, but it was no joke. I can still hear that eerie music outside, and I'm afraid it'll stick with me forever.

Dear Diary, if I survive this night, I'm never going near that forest again. Halloween turned into a real-life horror story, and I'm not sure I can handle it.

Yours in terror,

Tyler

November 1st

I barely got any sleep last night. My mind was racing with all the crazy stuff that happened on Halloween. I woke up feeling groggy and disoriented, like I had lived through a waking nightmare.

The rain had finally stopped, and the sun was shining through the dusty windows, which made everything look less spooky. I decided to go back to the forest in the daylight to see if I could find any clues about what went down last night.

As I walked through the woods, everything looked so different in the daylight. The gnarled trees were just trees, and the muddy ground was just mud. I thought maybe I had let my imagination run wild in the dark, and there was a rational explanation for everything.

When I reached the hidden graveyard, it was nothing like what I saw last night. No creepy figure, no mournful music, just a bunch of old, weathered tombstones. I even spotted some fresh flowers left on one of them, which was a bit odd. It was like someone had come here to pay their respects recently.

Confused and relieved at the same time, I decided to head back to the farmhouse. Maybe I had just imagined the whole thing. But as I turned to leave, I heard something that made my heart stop – the faintest, eerie whisper of that violin music, echoing through the trees. My blood ran cold.

I spun around to see if anyone was playing a prank on me, but there was no one there. The music seemed to come from all around, like the forest itself was playing a cruel trick on me. Panicking, I dashed back to the house, wondering if I was losing my mind.

The rest of the day was a blur. I locked myself in the house, refusing to go outside. I tried to distract myself with some TV, but every creak and rustle in the house made me jump out of my skin. I couldn't shake the feeling that I was being watched.

I still can't make sense of what happened. Was it all in my head? Was there some prankster out there with a violin, messing with my head? Or was there something truly supernatural going on? I don't have the answers, but one thing's for sure – I'm not going back to that forest anytime soon.

Dear Diary, I don't know what's going on, but I'm scared, and I'm not sure how much more of this I can take. Halloween may be over, but the horror is far from done.

Yours in anxiety,

Tyler

November 2nd

I barely slept again last night. The haunting melody of that violin still echoes in my head, and I can't shake the feeling that I'm being watched. This is taking a toll on my nerves.

I've decided to confide in my best friend, Sarah, about the strange occurrences at the farmhouse. Maybe she can help me make sense of all this or, at the very least, provide some much-needed comfort.

I called her this morning, and she agreed to come over. She said she'd spend the night with me to keep me company and investigate this spooky mystery together. I was relieved to have some support and not face this alone.

Sarah arrived in the afternoon, and we spent some time talking about the weird events. She thought it was a perfect Halloween prank and suggested we go check out the graveyard together to debunk the whole thing.

As we approached the hidden graveyard, everything seemed normal, just like it had been when I visited in the daylight. There was no mysterious music, no hooded figure, and no sense of impending dread. It was almost disappointing – as if I had been expecting some grand revelation.

We explored the graveyard, reading the inscriptions on the tombstones, and noticed a particular one that stood out. It was newer than the others, and there was a recent date etched into the stone – the date of Halloween night.

Sarah's eyes widened, and she whispered, "This is it. This is where that music was coming from." We couldn't believe our eyes. Someone had been at this very spot on Halloween night, playing the violin.

But who could it have been? And why? We had more questions than answers. We decided to dig deeper into the mystery and maybe find some clues about who had been in the graveyard that night.

We spent the rest of the day researching the farmhouse's history and the surrounding area, but we couldn't find anything that explained the strange events. It was as if the farmhouse had secrets it wasn't willing to give up.

As night fell, we returned to the farmhouse, still puzzled and unnerved. Sarah tried to reassure me, saying it was probably a one-time thing, and that whoever had been in the graveyard wouldn't bother us again. But deep down, I had my doubts.

We locked ourselves in for the night, determined to get some rest and put this whole thing behind us. But the uncertainty and fear lingered, and the night was long and restless.

Dear Diary, I'm grateful for Sarah's support, but the mystery deepens, and I'm not sure if I'll ever find out the truth behind the eerie music. The horror of Halloween seems to have extended beyond that night, and I can't shake the feeling that it's not over.

Yours

Tyler

pop culturepsychologicalfiction
33

About the Creator

Kel

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Test6 months ago

    The story skillfully weaves between reality and the paranormal, leaving us craving more answers and anticipating the chilling unknown. Excellent storytelling!

  • Ace Melee6 months ago

    Exemplary story! Diary stories are fun to read online, including scary ones.

  • Mui Ki6 months ago

    Great article, I hope to read more from you

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉

  • Gerald Holmes6 months ago

    Congrats on a superb Top Story. I loved the format and that you left it open at the end. Great job!

  • Nithukanth6 months ago

    Nice

  • really nice. congratulations on the top story

  • Colt Henderson6 months ago

    Great story. Congratulations on the top story!

  • Margaret Brennan6 months ago

    first: congratulations on TS. you deserve it. now::::: EXCELLENT story and storytelling. Pulled me in completely.

  • Salman siddique6 months ago

    congrats bro, nicely written!

  • JBaz6 months ago

    Back to say Congratulations

  • Pore Camara6 months ago

    I was hooked to the ever end… hopefully the entries continue

  • JBaz6 months ago

    Great technique with the diary reviewing the same day over and over. Congratulations

  • Oooo, this was so suspenseful and creepy! Will there be a part 2 to this?

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Fabulous Halloween horror story!!! Loved it!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.