Horror logo

CRAZY

The presence we feel is there…revenge

By Holly Allison-KayPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Not again. The presence. I can feel the chill. The breeze of an entity passing past me. Taunting me. Again. This story begins many years ago. A tiny community constructed next to the large, ominous at times, lake in the woods. No one knew the series of spirit connection to the structure that had been relocated to this very spot so long ago. This structure itself attached to a famously known haunted church from miles down the road. These spirits are not happy and long to be home again.

A restaurant, that will bring the crowds! Sounded wonderful. A nautical theme, very appropriate. And years go by, until one day an idea blossoms, a dance hall attached to this restaurant, in the middle of the forest, next to the lake, people will come from all over…and they did just that. So where is the horror to this story? Come along if you dare!

Little tweaks and Reno's begin, what harm is there in this? After a very long day I am snuggled within my blankets, in my comfy bed, hearing the wind blow and waves crashing outside my window. Do you ever feel like you are not alone, that someone is there, in the shadows. Is it the wind? My window is tightly closed yet the faint breeze passes past my face, startling me, sitting up, second guessing myself. Come on, nobody is here. Lie down, go to sleep, big day tomorrow. I start to doze off. I hear music. This is crazy, everything downstairs is shut off. I am too scared to venture down. The old staircase, fine in the daytime, spooky as hell at night. Music stops. My imagination? Am I dreaming? I drift off once again.

Morning sun beaming through my window. It’s a beautiful day. The water glistens and ripples. I may swim later. There is work to do. I enter the dance hall, looking over my shoulder at the turned off music equipment, it is turned off, hmm. What is in the middle of the dance floor? Shattered glass. An old glass ashtray. This is a non smoking building. I don’t even think I have any ashtrays around anymore. What the hell! I sweep it up. Someone is pranking me. But I feel it, in the shadows, the presence. I work on.

End of day. The water looks so inviting. I stroll down, toes in, feels good. I wade into the clear water, I can see the bottom, it’s a great swim day when you can see bottom. Refreshing, feel good kind of moment. I decide to float. My mind wanders off, watching the clouds pass by. I’ve always been a good floater. Oh my god, my head is pulled under, I flail, I panic, something has a hold of my hair, I’m going to drown, this is it! And it Stops! I gasp for breath, moving towards the shore, exhausted, breathless, what just happened. I am alive!

Do I drift off in thought, is it my mind playing tricks on me, am I crazy…that’s it, I must be crazy…

My days pass by, filled with hard work, sweat, no more swims.

I’m exhausted, I head for bed. My blankets wrap around me, hugging me, reassuring me, I am not crazy. I drift off. Lift, bang, lift, bang. My antique dresser, lifting and dropping, shaking the floor. I am terrified. I can’t move. Four times it lifts and drops. Why is this happening. Why do they hate me. I can’t do this anymore. I need help!

I will figure this out. I need to know what changed, who is here, how can I get them to leave. It’s either them or me. I feel so much braver in the daytime.

The dancehall, this building moved from an old church site, dancing was forbidden there. Is this it, is this why they are so angry? I moved their home from next to the church cemetery, the final resting spots of the loved ones. Is this it? They are needing to go home, back to their resting spot?

I will not back down. This is my home, my business, my future, not walking away!

Days turn into months and months turn into a year. My project is complete. Small incidents happen along the way, but I dismiss them, I was tired, I was imagining, it wasn’t real.

Grand opening! There's a line up! I am ready. Sound check, light check, let’s do this! Everyone is having a great time. My vision has come alive. No stopping me now. This is it, my future looks so bright. The end of night. Money count, this was a profitable one. I feel more alive than I have ever felt. So many positive words from others, success!

I crawl into bed, over the moon with excitement. I still feel presence but not tonight, no way, this is my night. I drift off…

Smoke! I smell smoke! Am I dreaming? It’s hot, really hot. I’m not dreaming. I can’t move. Something is on top of me, pinning me down. I can’t breathe, the smoke, it’s thick. It’s going black. I hear sirens. I’m going to die. They, it, whatever this is, is killing me. They have won.

The pumper trucks suck the lake water, spraying the burning building, this lake where I almost died months ago is now supposed to save me, oh I don’t think so, these “spirits” are much too strong and angry for that to happen!

I am gone. You know how they say you can hear and see from the other side, it’s true, I watch but I am at peace.

Fire investigators don’t have a reason for the fire, shocking I know! I love that sarcasm still exists on the other side. So here I am, figuring it all out, seeing the hurt, angry, happy, content, and now I get it. I messed with them. I took away all they knew. They took away all that I knew. I am not seeking revenge, I will not be one of “them”.

Don’t underestimate the power from the other side. Trust your gut instincts and respect the dead. I learned the hard way. Regrets? Many…

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Holly Allison-Kay

Proud mom of triplets, married to my knight in shining armour, loving life and literature!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.