Horror logo

Corrupted

A Nurse's Horror Story (Part One)

By Leah WrightPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Corrupted
Photo by Wade Johnston on Unsplash

I have to see her.

I need to.

I did this all for her.

Lily let out a sigh. The day was already turning into an exhausting one, and it was only the morning. Cries and howls from patients echoed down the hallway. She couldn’t help but stare out the window. The summer sun shone brightly amidst a vibrant blue sea. She enjoyed these days, where warm gentle breezes were allowed into the ward, carrying the faint fragrance of lavender. The only time that the ward felt pleasant. What I wouldn’t do to be out there, dancing in the sun. She smiled at the thought. Tonight I will be.

I can still see him.

The way he moved.

So unnatural… I must see her!

“Janet, how much longer must we reside here?” Lily giggled, as they gathered the medicine for distribution.

“He must be quite charming for you to be this excited,” Janet smiled.

“It’s been so long since anything like this has happened,” Lily sighed happily, “I just hope–” The inpatient door swung open in the distance. Angry shouts filled the hallway. The two ladies exchanged glances.

“Another newbie,” Janet exasperated, and the two walked towards the commotion. A group of nurses rush past towards a man laying on a stretcher. His body convulsed and pushed against the restraints, as he desperately cried out to be free. Typical inpatient. She turned to look away when her eyes met the patients. His eyes were piercingly blue, a gentle gray around the pupil. She knew these eyes… she could never forget them.

No… The world went silent, the summer breezes turning to ice. Her heart stood completely still before the world went black.

I see you.

Oh this was all for you…

All for you.

Lily’s head throbbed. A gentle rain tapped against the window.

“Oh you’re awake!” Janet, and a few other nurses chimed. How long have I been asleep?

“Is it time to go home yet?” she murmured. Janet pursed her lips.

“I’m sorry honey,” she reached for Lily’s hand, “You’ve been out for two days. That wall kinda did a number on ya.” Her heart sank. Two days… She turned to face the window.

“Has anyone heard anything?” Lily asked. Janet shook her head.

She sighed, “Let me rest.” She watched as the rain slowly ran down the window. All because of you. The door shut softly, before her eyes mimicked the weather outside.

Where are you?

I saw you!

You must come to me… you can’t resist.

There was a small cake that resided in the lounge. “Welcome back Lily!” was written in icing. She had been gone only a week. She laughed at the generosity of the nurses around her. They act as if I died. She grabbed a slice, sitting by the window. Janet rushed over to her.

“Ugh, our new patient is something!” she sighed in annoyance, "so brooding and cold..."

“Why is he here?”

“According to the court records he was found guilty of first degree murder, but pardoned by reason of insanity. His brother was the victim.

Lily sat in silence for a moment.

“He insists that he speaks with you. Will sit in silence with anyone else–”

“I can’t do it Janet,” Lily stated, coldly, a feeling of tension rushing over her.

“I’m not asking you to. I’ll get Dr. Clark to take a look at him.” Janet looked to her friend, “Rest assured, I’m keeping you two as far apart as I can–in the meantime, I’ll meet you back at the medical bay once you’re finished here. I’ll need your recommendation on a particular medication.” She smiled, and as fast as she came she was gone. She never sits still, does she? Lily let out a small giggle and continued to eat her cake. A couple moments passed her by when a strange, dark haired nurse approached her.

“This is for you,” she whispered, handing her a note. Lily looked at her in confusion, before taking it.

“From who?” she inquired, turning it over in her hand.

“Our newest arrival.” The woman said sternly, then walked away. Lily’s body went cold. She stared at the letter, apprehensive about reading it at all. What do you want from me? She opened the parchment. Scribbled frantic letters covered the page, but the message was short.

I need to speak with you.

About old things,

And good times.

fictionpsychological
1

About the Creator

Leah Wright

It's never too late to begin

Support my journey by subscribing, we will learn much along the way!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Nicholas Edward Earthlingabout a year ago

    You write beautifully. But I found the story a bit confusing - becoming clearer on re-reading. BTW, you left out an apostrophe of possession and had a full-stop where you should have had a comma. (But those are fairly minor things).

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.