Horror logo

Chilopoda

Thanks, I hate it.

By Brandon HowePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I can feel it. It's... Looking at me...

Waiting. Lurking in the unfathomable darkness, biding its time until I inevitably let my guard down. Only then, will it strike- But I know it's there.

My mind races. How could this happen? What have I done to justify such unspeakable torment? Why has my creator forsaken me so?

Let me tell you something about these abominations: These hideous monstrosities- These... Eldritch horrors- exist solely to remind us that there is no god. They defy all reason and logic, and feed on misery. They are beings of pure, distilled malevolence- Madness and hatred given corporeal form.

They don't die. Don't even bother trying. Nothing works: Smashing them is inconsequential, except for those unfortunate and foolhardy enough to be so bold. Drowning doesn't work either, nor does fire. Capture simply isn't an option.

They always come back, and they always remember.

It is pitch-black in my chamber. Not a single ray of light pierces the Stygian gloom, yet I am acutely aware of every twitch, every movement the abomination makes. To turn on the light would expose me to the incomprehensible horror that is the visage of this heinous entity, and would surely drive me to insanity. So I endure, my breathing shallow and measured so as not to set it off.

I fight desperately to stay awake, but the void of slumber calls to me. My eyelids grow heavy... So, so heavy... NO! I must remain vigilant! It can't harm me if I keep alert, but I must'nt move, lest it perceive me as fleeing, and I become its latest prey.

I contemplate my life, and what I've done with it up until now. So many regrets, so many loves half-loved, and I'm still not caught up on Breaking Bad. What a pitiful waste. Oh cruel fate, what I would give to see one more sunrise, to hold my lover in my arms again.

I curse the heavens, that I should meet with such a loathesome doom. It isn't fair! Was I not a decent person? Do I not have some intrinsic value? Am I not deserving of a second chance to make good on my small corner of existence?

At length, I come to realize that the first glimmer of light is now peeking over the horizon. My prayers have been answered! Huzzah!

As the glow of the morning sun begins to fill my room, I behold the ghoulish creature's silhouette as it skitters back to the hellish pocket dimension from whence it came; through a crack in the wall. For the first time in what feels like eternity, I breath a sigh of relief, for I have lived to see another dawn.

I fucking hate house centipedes.

monster
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.