Horror logo

Can You Hear ME

Part 1

By William L. Truax IIIPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like

The thumping was never ending, it was only the beginning.

I sat in the chair in the corner of my office one morning, I had to be at work at nine o’clock all though I had arrived on time, my boss was apparently angry about something and let me have it. I was sure that I was not late, nor did I know if I did anything wrong the day prior, but still, the hounding was relentless, and I felt like I was the only one who was receiving the wrong end of the horns.

Though the day of work went by in a flash and I did not receive anymore lip from my boss, it seemed a bit dull and out of lace to me. Here I sat in my corner office, overlooking the foreground of heads bobbing up and down while I type away like a madman on a rampage trying to get more time and calls for my employees, when suddenly it stuck.

Thump.

The sound began right then and there. I at first thought it was something I hit on my desk, and it did not repeat itself for some time, but still, what was it? I checked my surroundings and noted that nothing was out of place on my desk, the picture of my wife and child sat there in the right corner, my poke ball I got from Burger King years back was there on the left. While the monitor was set on an upward incline so that I could read it in the fluorescent light that was dangling above me, I could not for the life of me figure out what nor where that sound came from that penetrated my ears.

The harness on the computer with lock and chain was still intact, as well as the keyboard and mouse. They too were all in the correct position.

Trying not to focus on the sound, which later I gave into the idea that one of the workers hit something, I dug myself deeper into the unknown of management duties. Filing paper after paper, talking with different people about their performance and loss of days and/or time off requests. I gathered my belongings at about seven and turned off the lights as I left being the last one out.

Tis true, I remember clicking the button on the wall. It was silver on top of a pink wallpaper or paint, that to which I could not cipher. The floor was of a bright red and blue, meanwhile, the ceiling was painted as though we were in the Sistine Chapple. There upon the roof were paintings and sketches from all the employees that had ever worked for Hornet and Sons.

It was here, here when once more as the light was turned off that I heard the sound again.

What was it? Who was it? Was I not alone in the building? In the room?

The smell of rancid cheese filled the air. I placed my shirt and tie over my mouth. Since I thought I was the last one there, I would untuck it and make myself feel more homely. The breathing was rough and yet shallow as it was, the smell was still able to penetrate through the guard.

I tucked myself in and with the tie being used as a mask, I turned and walked out, hoping to leave behind a world that I would not have to worry about for another twelve hours or so.

In the hallway, that rancid smell permeated and though moving at a general fast pace did not lessen the stench, it made it worse. Were they, the maintenance crew cleaning something? Was there something left behind in the kitchen there, in the fridge? I went to investigate the harsh smell that was setting fire to my nostrils.

The hallway was blue and green, orange on the doors that were able to be opened by everyone, red for the managers, pink for higher leveled people. I was a red and orange. My tag that was handing from my white button up shirt indicated as much for those who did not know me personally. There was only the new people who did not, but knowing the color scheme was half the battle. You would eventually know who each person was, not only by reading the tag, but by seeing them daily.

I entered the kitchen that was on the right of the hallway. It was a wide-open door with a French window in the front of the room. The kitchen itself was set up a little different than the one I have at home, there were painted orange colors all over the place to indicate to everyone where they could go and what they as individuals could do. The fridge for example was painted from the original white/cream color to a more bazar aqua marine color as well as the cushion on the couch facing the window. It was a seat that everyone who ate lunch in here wanted to sit and stare out of. Besides those two, the remaining cabinets and drawers were all left alone. This did confuse a lot of newbies, but those who have worked here were to pass on the knowledge of such things and which drawer and which sink to place items in…

Not finding the location right away was a little disheartening, but persistence would eventually override the emotions of not searching.

Thump…thump…

Where was that coming from? Was it me? But how?

I searched all over, now not only was a smell present, but the thumping was increasing.

Suddenly, the smell dispersed, and I was left standing in the center of the kitchen, doors open, cabinets flung wide. Where was this hideous odor coming from and why did it vanish so suddenly? What were the secrets to its coming and going?

Alone I stand, alone I was and will be till this mystery is solved. I felt like Fred from Scooby-Doo, starting the Mystery Mobile and heading for an unknown outcome full of twists and turns, enough to make someone’s head spin. Yet there I was, exposed to the elements, searching for something that had deceased about a minute prior.

I was ready to get out of there and that I was able to do without an issue this time. The two guards that stood at the entrance were happy to allow me to leave without checking my ID Card. I scanned it myself, work had finally installed a device that allowed self-scanning of badges this way there was a lot less time for the guards and employees alike.

A normal functioning day was difficult for coming and going. The guards would have to scan the badge themselves and see where the person stood as far as the color chart and making sure that they worked that day. Now, with the self-scanning badge, one could do that themselves and allow the guards to do other duties that were more relevant to their job description then stand around clocking one in and out after another.

Still, now for the two guards that stood before me were ushering me to use the scanner. I did as ask and was able to leave without delay. In the waling area for car pickup, I awaited an ’67 Camaro and pleased when it came back unharmed. I had spent a quarter million replacing and modifying it to be refurbished with original parts, which I had to get from the factory slash dealership that fought me every step of the way, they wanted the car themselves and charges me an arm and a leg for the parts, but once received I was able to rebuild my baby.

The vehicle was shut off before me and the valet handed me the keys to her and as soon as I turned her over, I was gone, gone like a round from a pistol, like the one I kept in the glove box. Though nothing to most, it was a nice simple Luger. I had only six rounds for it, but I would admit I never had to use it.

Rounding the corner of the parking garage, I came to a stop at the road and turned left heading for the grocery store where I needed to buy some Italian Bread and milk. Once I left there it was straight homeward bound. I arrived just as my wife was placing the Ziti on the table. It smelt great, her sauce was the best and I had no idea how she made it. Mine never turned out as good.

Dinner went smoothly, my daughter was talkative like normal and once I cleared the table and wiped it down, my wife asked me to sit by her.

“I have been hearing things today,” she began, her breathing was short, shallow breaths, not her usual deep stomach type, “I have been hearing thumps. Our daughter too has been hearing them and no one else around us is causing it.”

“I too,” I began, “have been hearing thumps on and off today. Mine were three total so far baby.”

“I have heard many, I do not know why or what is going on. I am growing more concerned by the second.”

“I am sure that they are nothing to worry about.”

“I hope you’re right.”

I then prop my feet up upon the ottoman that was part of our living room set and gathered more thoughts on the matter of the thumping and how now it is not only me, myself, but my wife and daughter. I sat there contemplating the idea that we are hearing something, these thumps as a heart going crazily loud, I then turned to my wife and spoke to her about it. She thought the same and gave it no more thought, no more matter.

Then, as things were beginning to mellow out, my daughter busts into the room with a statement that would haunt me forever…

“Mom,” she began, her eyes were different, not the big brown eyes that I am used to, big brown like her mothers, but they were instead a red and orange tone, her mouth quivered then she stuck out her tongue and it was a pale blue, her nails as she raised her arms and hands to her chest were pink, “DIE!”

Thump…thump…thump…

She pointed her grotesque looking fore finger toward her mother, pa pale light I saw shot out from it and penetrated my wife’s heart and she crippled herself to the right. I immediately jumped from my seat and went to investigate. Upon touching my wife, I found her cold. Blue, she began to turn, and sat straight up then and there like nothing had happened. My daughter turned and went back to the dishes, again as if nothing had happened and all was well.

This revelation was startling to say the least. What was that light? Why would my daughter say such things then disappear like nothing had happened? What is going on?

“Are you alright honey?”

“Fine.” Just a short reply was all she gave, turning her attention to the cushion of the couch, the things that she loved more than me (really, she did not, but that idea was always implied), a simple touch and I found myself on the floor and the couch gone. It just vanished.

“Do you hear that my love?” she asked me in a voice that was not her own.

“Hear what baby?”

“You will hear it eventually.”

Startled to say the least, my wife’s voice was sounding more like something from a Stephen King novel than my own imagination could ever come up with. It was dark, foreboding and frightening, just those few words that she spoke sent chills down my spine and made me want to run for the hills.

*** This is the end of Part 1, for more episodes send me a tip and I will happily write more. Thank you for your Support.

monster
Like

About the Creator

William L. Truax III

Disabled Veteran, Father of 2.

I am a teller of tales and dreams, visions, haunting melodies, subtidal invocations of the mind and song.

Many of the Tales here interact with each other in some way and all within the same Universe.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.