Horror logo

Broken Mirror

The room around me seemed off, different somehow. It wasn't until I looked in the mirror again that I realized what it was....

By Emily JohnsonPublished about a year ago 6 min read
1
The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own.

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. I froze, staring at the glass as a creeping feeling of unease washed over me. The figure staring back at me had the same features as me, but the expression was different. It was twisted into a malevolent grin, eyes dark and piercing. It felt like it was mocking me, taunting me.

I stumbled back, my heart racing as I struggled to catch my breath. It was as if the mirror had become a portal to another world, one where I existed but not as myself. I couldn't look away from the twisted reflection, the darkness within its eyes almost seemed to be pulling me in.

Shaken, I stepped away from the mirror, feeling the weight of its gaze still upon me. It wasn't until later that night, when I was getting ready for bed, that I noticed something strange. The room around me seemed off, different somehow. It wasn't until I looked in the mirror again that I realized what it was.

The reflection in the mirror was different. The room was the same, but there were small details that were off. The curtains were a different color, the bedspread pattern was different. I felt a chill run down my spine as I realized what was happening. The mirror was showing me an alternate reality, bleeding into my own.

I tried to ignore it, but the differences only grew more pronounced. The books on my shelves were different, the pictures on the walls changed. Even my own reflection in the mirror began to shift, as if merging with the twisted version I had seen before.

It was then that I began to hear whispers in the night, voices that seemed to come from nowhere. They were faint at first, but they grew louder with each passing day. I could feel the presence of something in the room with me, something malevolent and dangerous.

The mirror became a source of terror for me, a constant reminder of the alternate reality that was slowly bleeding into my own. I tried to cover it up, to hide it away, but it was as if it had a life of its own. It refused to be ignored, and its presence only grew stronger.

I began to see things, things that weren't there. Shadows moving in the corner of my eye, strange shapes lurking just out of sight. I knew that the mirror was the cause, that it was somehow summoning these things into my world.

I tried to resist, to fight against the creeping darkness, but it was like trying to hold back the tide. The more I tried to push it away, the more it grew in strength.

And then one night, I woke up to find myself standing in front of the mirror, staring into its depths. I had no memory of how I had gotten there, but it was like I was in a trance. The whispers were louder now, more insistent. They were urging me to do something, something terrible.

I tried to break free, to turn away from the mirror, but I couldn't. It was like I was trapped, caught in its gaze. And then I saw something move in the reflection, something that shouldn't have been there.

It was a hand, reaching out from the darkness beyond the mirror. It was like a portal had opened, a gateway to some otherworldly realm. And then I felt a presence behind me, something cold and malevolent.

I tried to scream, to run, but it was too late. The darkness consumed me, pulling me into its depths. And then everything went black.

When I woke up, I was in a different world entirely. It was like nothing I had ever seen before, a twisted version of my own reality. The sky was black, the air thick with the stench of decay. And all around me, there were creatures that shouldn't exist, twisted versions of animals and people, with teeth like razors and eyes that glowed in the dark.

I stumbled through the desolate landscape, searching for a way out. But every turn I took led me deeper into the darkness. And then, in the distance, I saw something that gave me hope.

It was a mirror, just like the one that had brought me here. But this one was different, its surface pristine and untouched by the darkness. It seemed to glow in the darkness, a beacon of hope in a world of despair.

I approached it slowly, afraid that it might be a trap. But as I got closer, I realized that it was my only hope. I reached out and touched the glass, feeling a surge of energy as the darkness around me began to recede.

And then, in the reflection, I saw something that made my blood run cold. It was me, but not me. It was the twisted version of myself that I had seen in the haunted mirror, grinning at me with dark amusement.

I tried to turn away, but it was like the mirror had a hold on me. The twisted version of myself began to move, stepping out of the reflection and into the world beyond. And then, with a wicked smile, it lunged at me.

I tried to fight back, to resist the darkness that was consuming me. But it was like trying to hold back a hurricane. The twisted version of myself was too strong, too powerful.

And then, just as all hope seemed lost, I felt a surge of energy. It was like a beacon of light, pushing back against the darkness. I realized that it was coming from the pristine mirror, the one that had brought me here.

With a desperate effort, I turned towards the mirror, using every ounce of strength I had to reach out and touch its surface. And then, with a blinding flash of light, I was pulled back into my own world.

I stumbled backwards, gasping for breath as the world around me came back into focus. The room was the same, the mirror still there. But there was a difference now. The darkness was gone, replaced by a sense of calm.

I looked into the mirror, half afraid of what I might see. But there was only my own reflection staring back at me, the twisted version of myself gone.

I never spoke of what had happened, afraid that others would think me mad. But the haunted mirror remained in my room, a constant reminder of the darkness that lay just beyond our world. And I knew that I could never look into it again, that the alternate reality it revealed was a place best left alone.

psychological
1

About the Creator

Emily Johnson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mohamed Jakkathabout a year ago

    I hope that the protagonist finds a way to escape from the twisted reality that they have been transported to and return to their own world. Thank you for sharing this captivating and chilling story. The imagery and suspense you created had me on the edge of my seat. Your writing style is incredibly engaging, and I can't wait to read more of your work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.