Horror logo

Broken Mirror

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own.

By Majic InsiderPublished about a year ago 3 min read

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own.

I stared at the face in the mirror, my eyes widening in shock. It was the face of a man, but it wasn't my face. The man in the mirror was older than me, with a long, white beard and piercing blue eyes. He stared back at me with a look of hatred and malice.

I took a step back, my heart pounding in my chest. What was going on? Was I going crazy? I blinked, trying to clear my vision, but the man in the mirror was still there.

I reached out and touched the mirror, but my hand went right through it. I gasped and stepped back again. The man in the mirror laughed, a cold, cruel laugh.

"You can't escape me," he said. "I'm in your head now."

I shook my head, trying to deny what was happening. "No," I said. "You're not real."

"Oh, I'm real," he said. "And I'm going to make your life a living hell."

I backed away from the mirror, my heart pounding in my chest. I didn't know what to do. I was scared.

The man in the mirror laughed again. "Run," he said. "Run away as fast as you can. But I'll find you. And when I do, I'm going to make you pay."

I turned and ran out of the room, the man in the mirror's laughter echoing in my ears. I didn't know where I was going, but I had to get away.

I ran down the hall, my heart pounding in my chest. I could hear the man in the mirror following me, his footsteps getting closer and closer.

I ran into my bedroom and slammed the door shut. I locked it and leaned against it, my breath coming in ragged gasps.

I could hear the man in the mirror trying to break down the door. I knew it wouldn't hold for long.

I had to do something. I had to find a way to stop him.

I looked around my room, searching for something, anything, that could help me. My eyes landed on the mirror on my dresser.

The mirror.

I ran to the mirror and picked it up. I held it in front of me, facing the door.

The man in the mirror was still there, his face twisted in rage.

"I see you," I said. "I see you."

The man in the mirror's eyes widened in surprise. He tried to speak, but no words came out.

I took a deep breath and smashed the mirror against the door. The glass shattered, and the man in the mirror disappeared.

I stood there for a moment, stunned. Had I really just done that? Had I really just defeated the man in the mirror?

I took a step forward, and the glass crunched under my feet. I looked down and saw that the mirror was gone, shattered into a million pieces.

I smiled. I had done it. I had defeated the man in the mirror.

But I knew that he would be back. He would be back, and I had to be ready for him.

I picked up the mirror pieces and put them in a bag. I would take them to the store and get them replaced.

I went back to the door and checked to make sure it was locked. Then I went back to bed.

I lay there for a long time, unable to sleep. I kept thinking about the man in the mirror. I knew he would be back, and I had to be ready for him.

The next day, I went to the store and got the mirror replaced. I put it in my room and went back to bed.

That night, I had a dream. I was back in my room, and the man in the mirror was there. He was smiling at me, but his eyes were filled with hate.

I woke up in a cold sweat. I knew the man in the mirror was real. And I knew he was coming for me.

I got out of bed and went to my room. I looked at the mirror, and I saw the man in the mirror. He was standing in the middle of my room, smiling at me.

I screamed and ran out of the room. I locked the door and leaned against it, my breath coming in ragged gasps.

I knew the man in the mirror was still there. He was waiting for me.

I had to do something. I had to find a way to stop him.

fiction

About the Creator

Majic Insider

From practical tips on building your online presence to thought-provoking essays on social issues, we cover a wide range of topics that are relevant and interesting to our readers. We value authenticity, originality, and creativity.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Majic InsiderWritten by Majic Insider

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.