Horror logo

Shattered Reflections

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own

By Majic InsiderPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. It was a distorted, twisted version of me, with eyes that seemed to glow red and a sneer that promised pain and suffering. I stumbled back in shock, wondering what kind of sorcery could create such an abomination.

But as I looked closer, I realized that the reflection was not just a figment of my imagination. It was a doorway, a portal to another world, one that existed just beyond the reach of my own. And as I gazed into the mirror, I felt a pull, a force that drew me inexorably towards that other world.

At first, I resisted, trying to pull away from the mirror's grasp. But the more I struggled, the stronger the pull became, until it felt like my very soul was being ripped from my body. I closed my eyes and braced for impact, expecting to be hurled headlong into the other world.

But when I opened my eyes, I found that I was still in my own bedroom, staring at the twisted reflection in the mirror. For a moment, I breathed a sigh of relief, thinking that the danger had passed. But then I realized that the world around me had changed.

The walls were covered in a thick layer of slime, and the air was filled with the stench of decay. The furniture was all gone, replaced by twisted, misshapen versions of itself. And as I looked out the window, I saw that the world outside had changed as well. The sky was blood red, and the trees were gnarled and twisted, like the hands of a witch.

I stumbled back in shock, realizing that the alternate reality had started to bleed into my own world. And as I looked back into the mirror, I saw that the twisted reflection was still there, still beckoning me to cross over.

For a moment, I hesitated, wondering if it was worth the risk. But then I realized that I had no choice. If I stayed in this world, I would be consumed by the darkness that was creeping in. But if I crossed over, I might be able to find a way to stop it.

I steeled myself for the journey ahead, took a deep breath, and stepped forward into the mirror.

As I crossed over into the alternate reality, I felt a sense of disorientation, as if I had been plunged into a dream. But as I looked around, I realized that this world was no dream. It was a nightmare, a place of twisted horrors and malevolent power.

I walked through the twisted landscape, my heart pounding in my chest, wondering what kind of horrors lay ahead. But as I walked, I began to notice something strange. The world around me seemed to be changing, becoming less twisted and more...normal.

At first, I thought it was just my imagination, but as I looked closer, I realized that it was true. The trees were straightening, the sky was clearing, and the air was becoming fresh and clean.

And then, I saw her. A woman, standing in the middle of a clearing, surrounded by a warm, comforting light. As I approached her, I felt a sense of calm wash over me, as if I had finally found my way home.

The woman told me that I had been chosen to be the one to lead them out of the darkness, to bring light back to this world. She told me that I was the only one who could stop the darkness from consuming everything we held dear.

At first, I was hesitant to believe her, but as I looked around at the twisted landscape, I realized that there was something different about this world. It was a place of darkness, a realm where the shadows held dominion.

The woman led me deeper into the clearing, where I saw a group of people gathered around a large, glowing crystal. They were chanting in a language I didn't understand, their voices rising and falling in a haunting melody.

As I approached, the crystal began to pulse with a bright, white light, and I felt a surge of energy flow through me. I knew then that this was the source of the darkness that had been creeping into my world, and that I had to destroy it if I was to save my world and theirs.

I raised my hands, feeling the power coursing through me, and aimed it at the crystal. With a burst of energy, I fired a beam of light at the crystal, shattering it into a million pieces.

As the crystal shattered, the world around us began to change. The twisted landscape began to straighten, and the sky cleared, revealing a bright, blue sky. The air filled with the sweet scent of flowers, and the trees began to blossom, bursting into life.

The woman and the others around me began to cheer, tears streaming down their faces as they realized that their world had been saved. And as I looked back at the mirror, I saw that the twisted reflection was gone, replaced by my own.

I stumbled back, feeling the weight of the experience settling on me. I had just saved an entire world from darkness, and in doing so, had saved my own. It was a surreal experience, one that would stay with me for the rest of my life.

But even as I basked in the glory of my victory, I knew that the darkness was never truly gone. It lingered at the edges of my consciousness, a reminder of the horrors that lurked just beyond our world.

As I left the alternate reality and returned to my own, I knew that I would never forget the lessons I had learned. I knew that I had to remain vigilant, always on guard against the darkness that threatened to engulf us.

And so, I lived my life, always aware of the horrors that lay just beyond the veil of our reality. But I also knew that, no matter what, I would never give up, never stop fighting to keep the darkness at bay, for the sake of our world, and all those that lay beyond it.

psychologicalhalloweenfiction
Like

About the Creator

Majic Insider

From practical tips on building your online presence to thought-provoking essays on social issues, we cover a wide range of topics that are relevant and interesting to our readers. We value authenticity, originality, and creativity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.